SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> PatternReview> 100 (Summer Street Dress)

13 more reviews
Viewed 456 times 
Reviewed by:LBowman
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LBowmanstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 9/23/08
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/13 3:24 AM
Last Updated:6/5/13 3:26 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $9.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $9.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LBowman said...
Deepika - so, lengthen the bodice, put it all together, then try it on and see where I need to take it in at the sides? That could work. I'll give it another shot.
6/5/13 10:34 PM
NC Carol said...
Great fabric for this dress! I don't need a FBA but I am long-waisted and feel your pain on lengthening bodices. I love the empire waist style but always have to change it to lower the seam. Thanks for the educational review!
6/5/13 10:19 AM
Deepika said...
Ok, I can see it now. If you bring the seam down a little and take it in from the sides, that would work. I love the fabric you chose and I really think with a little bit of tweaking you can get so much use from this pattern.
6/5/13 9:57 AM
LBowman said...
I thought I'd set the permissions on flickr to "public", sorry! It's fixed now. You can see the problem - the bodice is too short on me, even with the FBA. But if I drop the seam a couple of inches, then it's too baggy, because I had to widen it 1.5" in the FBA. I still haven't figured out how to do an FBA on an empire waist, in short!
6/5/13 3:28 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks for your honest review. I would love to see a photo of your dress, but it says permission denied.
6/4/13 3:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns 8546

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review
Vogue Patterns 8626

photo
by: mnitts

Review
Newport Tote

Newport Tote

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now