SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> PatternReview> 100 (Summer Street Dress)

13 more reviews
Viewed 464 times 
Reviewed by:LBowman
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LBowmanstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 9/23/08
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/13 3:24 AM
Last Updated:6/5/13 3:26 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $9.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $9.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LBowman said... (6/5/13 10:34 PM) Reply
Deepika - so, lengthen the bodice, put it all together, then try it on and see where I need to take it in at the sides? That could work. I'll give it another shot.
NC Carol said... (6/5/13 10:19 AM) Reply
Great fabric for this dress! I don't need a FBA but I am long-waisted and feel your pain on lengthening bodices. I love the empire waist style but always have to change it to lower the seam. Thanks for the educational review!
Deepika said... (6/5/13 9:57 AM) Reply
Ok, I can see it now. If you bring the seam down a little and take it in from the sides, that would work. I love the fabric you chose and I really think with a little bit of tweaking you can get so much use from this pattern.
LBowman said... (6/5/13 3:28 AM) Reply
I thought I'd set the permissions on flickr to "public", sorry! It's fixed now. You can see the problem - the bodice is too short on me, even with the FBA. But if I drop the seam a couple of inches, then it's too baggy, because I had to widen it 1.5" in the FBA. I still haven't figured out how to do an FBA on an empire waist, in short!
Deepika said... (6/4/13 3:24 PM) Reply
Thanks for your honest review. I would love to see a photo of your dress, but it says permission denied.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1036

photo
by: TJSEWS

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Pattern Details
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Pattern Details
Simplicity 6751-1966

photo
by: sewnaomi

Review