Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5855 (Misses' Tunic and Belt) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 398 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR
About marecstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 65 people
patterns reviewed: 136
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/13 3:51 PM
Last Updated:6/3/13 3:57 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
annie11 said...
Nice save, Mary! I think it turned out beautifully, despite the oversized issues that you had to deal with. Can't wait to see your beach capsule! Have you posted plans for it on your blog yet?
6/3/13 4:06 PM
carolynw said...
Well I am still laughing at your descreptions on how you got some of this to work - slashing through an Oregon forest - have been there but never thought of that description. Your top looks very nice and I would leave it as is - perhaps the sewing gods were not around today because as I write I am bent and broken from trying to meld two patterns to make 1 tee shirt but I did win out with some really unconventional doings
6/3/13 4:45 PM
Barbara V said...
Oh my goodness, what gorgeous fabric so cool and breezy looking - perfect for beach and summer. So amazed to ready about the gigantic pattern pieces. You really altered it well for a good fit and great look on you!
6/3/13 4:53 PM
wendyrb said...
I love the sand and silver colors on you- glowy! The fabrics are perfect here. You've tamed the wild beast and now you can get endless creative variations. Cool your heels awhile and reconsider this one. Your personal voice comes through loud and clear. Reading this is like a little visit. Thanks.
6/3/13 6:23 PM
sfshaza said...
Mary, what a nice grouping of fabric. Too bad about all the ease you had to deal with, but the top looks great!
6/3/13 8:49 PM
wildberrymom said...
Well done with the save--very nice top!
6/4/13 0:20 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
You perseverance paid off - you have a very cool tunic for summer. Looks great.
6/4/13 0:24 AM
pdiddly said...
lovely looking tunic, despite the issues you had to deal with.
6/4/13 2:24 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice beach cover up! Glad you made it work for you!
6/4/13 5:25 AM
Rebecca D said...
All the work paid off - very flattering.
6/4/13 6:56 AM
VivianZ said...
I love your top, so breezy and comfortable looking. Your dicing and slicing paid off royally. I like this pattern, also, so thanks for a great review, very useful information to know. I have been looking for a top pattern to use kImono silk on (15 inches wide on the roll) and this might be it!
6/4/13 7:55 AM
liliv said...
I love your top! This very easy style is perfect for the summer! Now that you have done all the work you should sew it again, this style suits you! And the most important: these colors are made just for you!
6/4/13 2:42 PM
grey ann said...
Ooh, I have this pattern and am so glad I read this before cutting it out! Love the way you combined the three weaves - very boutique-ish! Looks great.
6/4/13 6:31 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Beautiful fabric combination - I love them all.
6/4/13 9:28 PM
CynthiaSue said...
gorgeous fabric!! Despite the issues, I bet it still is worth 10x any RTW you can buy in Nordstrom!!
6/5/13 1:56 AM
jenleeC said...
What beautiful fabrics! So glad you managed to make it work despite the excessive ease.
6/5/13 3:15 AM
Margaret said...
I'm glad you could make it work. Thanks for this review -- it's really hard to tell from the pattern photo how big this is! You got a nice fit and I really like your fabrics.
6/5/13 1:16 PM
QueenZ said...
That's a nice tunic, looking cool on you, thumbs up!
8/2/13 1:03 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Vogue Patterns 7608 Misses' Jeans
photo
Review by Renren on 6/30/13
Read Review

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Peplum Skirt Digital Pattern
Salme Peplum Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3463
photo
Review by Sue Parrot... on 5/8/13
Read Review

Vogue 8355 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8355 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1924 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1924 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us