SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5855 (Misses' Tunic and Belt)

2 more reviews
Viewed 418 times 
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marecstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 74 people
patterns reviewed: 156
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/13 3:51 PM
Last Updated:6/3/13 3:57 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QueenZ said...
That's a nice tunic, looking cool on you, thumbs up!
8/2/13 1:03 AM
Margaret said...
I'm glad you could make it work. Thanks for this review -- it's really hard to tell from the pattern photo how big this is! You got a nice fit and I really like your fabrics.
6/5/13 1:16 PM
jenleeC said...
What beautiful fabrics! So glad you managed to make it work despite the excessive ease.
6/5/13 3:15 AM
CynthiaSue said...
gorgeous fabric!! Despite the issues, I bet it still is worth 10x any RTW you can buy in Nordstrom!!
6/5/13 1:56 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Beautiful fabric combination - I love them all.
6/4/13 9:28 PM
grey ann said...
Ooh, I have this pattern and am so glad I read this before cutting it out! Love the way you combined the three weaves - very boutique-ish! Looks great.
6/4/13 6:31 PM
liliv said...
I love your top! This very easy style is perfect for the summer! Now that you have done all the work you should sew it again, this style suits you! And the most important: these colors are made just for you!
6/4/13 2:42 PM
VivianZ said...
I love your top, so breezy and comfortable looking. Your dicing and slicing paid off royally. I like this pattern, also, so thanks for a great review, very useful information to know. I have been looking for a top pattern to use kImono silk on (15 inches wide on the roll) and this might be it!
6/4/13 7:55 AM
Rebecca D said...
All the work paid off - very flattering.
6/4/13 6:56 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice beach cover up! Glad you made it work for you!
6/4/13 5:25 AM
pdiddly said...
lovely looking tunic, despite the issues you had to deal with.
6/4/13 2:24 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
You perseverance paid off - you have a very cool tunic for summer. Looks great.
6/4/13 0:24 AM
wildberrymom said...
Well done with the save--very nice top!
6/4/13 0:20 AM
sfshaza said...
Mary, what a nice grouping of fabric. Too bad about all the ease you had to deal with, but the top looks great!
6/3/13 8:49 PM
wendyrb said...
I love the sand and silver colors on you- glowy! The fabrics are perfect here. You've tamed the wild beast and now you can get endless creative variations. Cool your heels awhile and reconsider this one. Your personal voice comes through loud and clear. Reading this is like a little visit. Thanks.
6/3/13 6:23 PM
Barbara V said...
Oh my goodness, what gorgeous fabric so cool and breezy looking - perfect for beach and summer. So amazed to ready about the gigantic pattern pieces. You really altered it well for a good fit and great look on you!
6/3/13 4:53 PM
carolynw said...
Well I am still laughing at your descreptions on how you got some of this to work - slashing through an Oregon forest - have been there but never thought of that description. Your top looks very nice and I would leave it as is - perhaps the sewing gods were not around today because as I write I am bent and broken from trying to meld two patterns to make 1 tee shirt but I did win out with some really unconventional doings
6/3/13 4:45 PM
annie11 said...
Nice save, Mary! I think it turned out beautifully, despite the oversized issues that you had to deal with. Can't wait to see your beach capsule! Have you posted plans for it on your blog yet?
6/3/13 4:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Burda 7677

photo
by: Marge99

Review
Make Bra DL01

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

More Info