SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> pressing cloth ( pressing cloth)

Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 114 times 
Reviewed by:renren

About renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews: 235 (patterns: 226)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/13 2:11 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past

vintage sewing patterns

Reconstructing History

Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics

Natural & Organic Fabrics

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
FARQUHAR said... (12/30/14 0:30 AM) Reply
Thank you so much for this review. I've been wondering what the best fabric was to use for pressing cloths & now I know! And thank you to Sew Whatever about the parchment paper tip. I usually use wax paper, but it sounds like this works better! :)
LiZ said... (6/14/13 4:18 PM) Reply
I have some silk organza here that I need to make into pressing cloths
gleta said... (6/10/13 1:10 AM) Reply
I made silk organza press cloths...3 sizes, differing dimensions... some years ago & they're still going strong. The fabric was quite expensive but definitely worth it. I too use baking paper for adhesives, writing on the corners which side the adhesive goes against.
Terri A said... (6/9/13 1:45 AM) Reply
Margaret said... (6/5/13 1:44 PM) Reply
Thanks for this review. I'm pretty sure I have some organza lying around that would be more useful as pressing cloths.
pdiddly said... (6/5/13 3:04 AM) Reply
I went on a sewing weekend where I was introduced to silk organza as a pressing cloth and never looked back - can see through it and it withstands heat of the iron really well. Great tip from Sew Whatever on the parchment paper tip too
renren said... (6/4/13 8:39 AM) Reply
Thanks! I always have parchment paper on hand for making pizza so this is a great tip.
Sew Whatever said... (6/4/13 7:04 AM) Reply
Thanks Renren. I use baking parchment when pressing things with adhesive. If it melts out from the edge of something, your iron is protected. then when it cools, the adhesive comes away from the parchment with no problem.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Pattern Work
Pattern Work

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Lutterloh supp 242 pattern 105 2001

by: ladyampton

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Pattern Details