SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> pressing cloth ( pressing cloth)

Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 114 times 
Reviewed by:renren
photo

 
 
About renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews: 228 (patterns: 219)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/13 2:11 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FARQUHAR said... (12/30/14 0:30 AM) Reply
Thank you so much for this review. I've been wondering what the best fabric was to use for pressing cloths & now I know! And thank you to Sew Whatever about the parchment paper tip. I usually use wax paper, but it sounds like this works better! :)
LiZ said... (6/14/13 4:18 PM) Reply
I have some silk organza here that I need to make into pressing cloths
gleta said... (6/10/13 1:10 AM) Reply
I made silk organza press cloths...3 sizes, differing dimensions... some years ago & they're still going strong. The fabric was quite expensive but definitely worth it. I too use baking paper for adhesives, writing on the corners which side the adhesive goes against.
Terri A said... (6/9/13 1:45 AM) Reply
Nice!
Margaret said... (6/5/13 1:44 PM) Reply
Thanks for this review. I'm pretty sure I have some organza lying around that would be more useful as pressing cloths.
pdiddly said... (6/5/13 3:04 AM) Reply
I went on a sewing weekend where I was introduced to silk organza as a pressing cloth and never looked back - can see through it and it withstands heat of the iron really well. Great tip from Sew Whatever on the parchment paper tip too
renren said... (6/4/13 8:39 AM) Reply
Thanks! I always have parchment paper on hand for making pizza so this is a great tip.
Sew Whatever said... (6/4/13 7:04 AM) Reply
Thanks Renren. I use baking parchment when pressing things with adhesive. If it melts out from the edge of something, your iron is protected. then when it cools, the adhesive comes away from the parchment with no problem.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1086

photo
by: julliams

Review
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Pattern Details
Simplicity 6686

photo
by: arianamani...

Review