Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7304 (misses coat and jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 492 times
Reviewed by:Graca
photo
About Gracastar
Member since: 7/25/11
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/7/13 6:39 PM
Last Updated:12/21/13 2:25 PM
Project Photo:Burda: 7304 by Graca

Pattern Photo:Burda 7304
Burda Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Difficult, but great for Advanced Sewers
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Brocade  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Coat with princess seamed bodice, gathered skirt with pockets, two piece raglan sleeve with shoulder pleats.

Pattern Sizing:
Multi-sized pattern sizes 8 to 18.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
No, not when it came to the sleeve pleats. I was totally confused at this stage but there are some additional instructions found online over at the Burda site.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
The pattern is great once I wrapped my head around that sleeve pleat. I wish that the fabric recommendation for fulled fabric was noted on the pattern envelope.

Fabric Used:
100% polyester fabric that I found in the home decor department. This pattern recommends that you use fulled fabric. Using a fabric that does not fray would make the construction of the collar and front facing a easy task. The front facing and collar are stitched together wrong sides together and then trimmed. On this coat because my fabric frayed terribly I used bias tape to finish the edges.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
None. I was actually considering lengthening the coat but I happy I left the length.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Maybe. I do like the short jacket. I would have to find the right fabric for it though. I would recommend this pattern to others. Despite all the work, it was a great challenge.

Conclusion:
More pictures Click Here.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
prttynpnk said...
This was well worth the wait to see it gorgeous!
6/7/13 7:31 PM
21wale said...
Lovely coat!
6/7/13 10:29 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Outstanding! I bet you'll get tons of compliments on this!
6/8/13 3:18 AM
wildberrymom said...
Wonderful coat!
6/9/13 3:02 AM
Graca said...
Thank you for all the compliments. It is a beautifully drafted pattern. It was a lot of work to put together but I'm really happy with how it turned out.
6/9/13 11:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Burda Burda Style Handbook Skirt
photo
Review by Ejegmama on 9/6/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic Ringer Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Ringer Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Mo. Star Quilt Co.
photo
Review by Melinda In... on 8/21/13
Read Review

The Whimsy Bag
The Whimsy Bag

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 201 Pattern
Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2692 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 2692 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4014 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 4014 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us