SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Safari Jane Jacket (Safari Jane Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 398 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
CT USA
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 200
Favored by: 89 people
patterns reviewed: 190
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/13 0:53 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lynmarie said...
Love your coat, thanks for advising on the arm width, will definately measure up my pattern before cutting, hope mine turns out looking as great as yours !
6/8/13 7:45 AM
cleverkitty said...
Amazing coat and the fabric looks beautiful I love this color :)
6/8/13 9:25 AM
Knitz said...
Another great Anne/StyleArc collaboration. Excellent write up on your blog!
6/8/13 10:34 AM
Dee2 said...
Love your coat--the color & fabric are beautiful! As usual, wonderful construction & attention to detail.
6/8/13 1:25 PM
21wale said...
Great looking jacket! I love that you found a "just a hood" pattern to add to it.
6/8/13 3:47 PM
Lhan said...
Great coat. So nice to see people sewing raincoats, as they are one of those 'last frontier' kind of garments that are usually in the too hard basket. I have bought some rainwear fabric and am contemplating making one. Like you I found no patterns that are longer than bottom length, and will have to lengthen the ones I have. I loved the details you put in your blog link, thank you - it is beautifully sewn and full of major details. The hood is much better than most - thanks for the information on this. Can you just tell me if you used a special needle and thread, and if you used any seam sealant? I am unsure whether these are needed. Thanks!
6/8/13 8:07 PM
clothingengineer said...
Lhan - it depends on the type of fabric you use. My fabric could pass for a regular nylon fabric so I didn't do anything out of the ordinary when constructing it. I used Gutermann poly thread and a microtex sharp 65/9 needle. No seam sealer. I'm not sure how it would tolerate a torrential downpour, but for the average rainy day it is fine. Now, if you're sewing out of something like Ultrex or another rainwear fabric that has a polyurethane backing you probably need to plan on using a walking foot or Teflon foot, a small microtex sharp needle, and clamping rather than pinning to prevent needle holes. (Basically, treat it like leather or vinyl.) Regular Gutermann or Mettler thread is fine. I haven't ever used seam sealer so I can't advise you on that. I strongly recommend contacting The Green Pepper or Seattle Fabrics for supplies - they specialize in outdoor gear fabrics and notions and really know their stuff.
6/9/13 9:33 PM
Annie P said...
Great jacket. Thanks for all the details on your blog post.
6/9/13 11:57 PM
Levone said...
Pretty coat! Love all of the details!
6/10/13 1:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Self Drafted Pattern Savage Coco Patterns

photo
by: SavageCoco

Review
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Buy Now