Online Sewing Class: Clone Your Favorite Garment
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Safari Jane Jacket (Safari Jane Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 438 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews: 223 (patterns: 213)
Body Type:
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 141 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/13 0:53 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Levone said... (6/10/13 1:28 PM) Reply
Pretty coat! Love all of the details!
Annie P said... (6/9/13 11:57 PM) Reply
Great jacket. Thanks for all the details on your blog post.
clothingengineer said... (6/9/13 9:33 PM) Reply
Lhan - it depends on the type of fabric you use. My fabric could pass for a regular nylon fabric so I didn't do anything out of the ordinary when constructing it. I used Gutermann poly thread and a microtex sharp 65/9 needle. No seam sealer. I'm not sure how it would tolerate a torrential downpour, but for the average rainy day it is fine. Now, if you're sewing out of something like Ultrex or another rainwear fabric that has a polyurethane backing you probably need to plan on using a walking foot or Teflon foot, a small microtex sharp needle, and clamping rather than pinning to prevent needle holes. (Basically, treat it like leather or vinyl.) Regular Gutermann or Mettler thread is fine. I haven't ever used seam sealer so I can't advise you on that. I strongly recommend contacting The Green Pepper or Seattle Fabrics for supplies - they specialize in outdoor gear fabrics and notions and really know their stuff.
Lhan said... (6/8/13 8:07 PM) Reply
Great coat. So nice to see people sewing raincoats, as they are one of those 'last frontier' kind of garments that are usually in the too hard basket. I have bought some rainwear fabric and am contemplating making one. Like you I found no patterns that are longer than bottom length, and will have to lengthen the ones I have. I loved the details you put in your blog link, thank you - it is beautifully sewn and full of major details. The hood is much better than most - thanks for the information on this. Can you just tell me if you used a special needle and thread, and if you used any seam sealant? I am unsure whether these are needed. Thanks!
21wale said... (6/8/13 3:47 PM) Reply
Great looking jacket! I love that you found a "just a hood" pattern to add to it.
Dee2 said... (6/8/13 1:25 PM) Reply
Love your coat--the color & fabric are beautiful! As usual, wonderful construction & attention to detail.
Knitz said... (6/8/13 10:34 AM) Reply
Another great Anne/StyleArc collaboration. Excellent write up on your blog!
cleverkitty said... (6/8/13 9:25 AM) Reply
Amazing coat and the fabric looks beautiful I love this color :)
Lynmarie said... (6/8/13 7:45 AM) Reply
Love your coat, thanks for advising on the arm width, will definately measure up my pattern before cutting, hope mine turns out looking as great as yours !
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Pattern Details
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Pattern Details
Sew Chic LN1415

photo
by: velosewer

Review