Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
StyleArc: Safari Jane Jacket (Safari Jane Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 382 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
CT USA
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 185
Favored by: 79 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/13 0:53 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lynmarie said...
Love your coat, thanks for advising on the arm width, will definately measure up my pattern before cutting, hope mine turns out looking as great as yours !
6/8/13 7:45 AM
cleverkitty said...
Amazing coat and the fabric looks beautiful I love this color :)
6/8/13 9:25 AM
Knitz said...
Another great Anne/StyleArc collaboration. Excellent write up on your blog!
6/8/13 10:34 AM
Dee2 said...
Love your coat--the color & fabric are beautiful! As usual, wonderful construction & attention to detail.
6/8/13 1:25 PM
21wale said...
Great looking jacket! I love that you found a "just a hood" pattern to add to it.
6/8/13 3:47 PM
Lhan said...
Great coat. So nice to see people sewing raincoats, as they are one of those 'last frontier' kind of garments that are usually in the too hard basket. I have bought some rainwear fabric and am contemplating making one. Like you I found no patterns that are longer than bottom length, and will have to lengthen the ones I have. I loved the details you put in your blog link, thank you - it is beautifully sewn and full of major details. The hood is much better than most - thanks for the information on this. Can you just tell me if you used a special needle and thread, and if you used any seam sealant? I am unsure whether these are needed. Thanks!
6/8/13 8:07 PM
clothingengineer said...
Lhan - it depends on the type of fabric you use. My fabric could pass for a regular nylon fabric so I didn't do anything out of the ordinary when constructing it. I used Gutermann poly thread and a microtex sharp 65/9 needle. No seam sealer. I'm not sure how it would tolerate a torrential downpour, but for the average rainy day it is fine. Now, if you're sewing out of something like Ultrex or another rainwear fabric that has a polyurethane backing you probably need to plan on using a walking foot or Teflon foot, a small microtex sharp needle, and clamping rather than pinning to prevent needle holes. (Basically, treat it like leather or vinyl.) Regular Gutermann or Mettler thread is fine. I haven't ever used seam sealer so I can't advise you on that. I strongly recommend contacting The Green Pepper or Seattle Fabrics for supplies - they specialize in outdoor gear fabrics and notions and really know their stuff.
6/9/13 9:33 PM
Annie P said...
Great jacket. Thanks for all the details on your blog post.
6/9/13 11:57 PM
Levone said...
Pretty coat! Love all of the details!
6/10/13 1:28 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Kwik Sew 3921
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 4/17/12
Read Review

Miranda Day Bag
Miranda Day Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used No Pattern used
photo
Review by Handmadeby... on 1/7/09
Read Review

Butterick 5722 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5722 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6027 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6027 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us