Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 2447 (Men's Shirt, Vest, and Ties) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 125 times 28 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Manalto
photo
About Manaltostar
Member since: 5/29/08
Reviews written: 20
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/9/13 8:45 PM
Last Updated:6/9/13 8:52 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    
Available for sale on PR: $10.36 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $10.36  List Price: $12.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
arianamaniacs said...
Great looking shirt! Are you actually using muslin or linen? The muslins I've seen at JoAnns for example aren't that cozy or soft. Good call on ditching the hand-sewing, I hate that too. Especially in cases where it's not necessary
6/10/13 4:14 AM
Elke said...
Very nice shirt and it looks terrific on you! Thanks for a great review!
6/10/13 7:46 AM
Manalto said...
Dear arianamaniacs, I actually used muslin. It looks wrinkled like linen because I washed and didn't iron it for that photo. The other photo of the collar up close shows it starched and ironed. I didn't get the fabric at JoAnns, but bought a 100-yard bolt online for .50/yd. It was a gamble, but I lucked out. It's slightly more substantial than most muslins I've seen. I wouldn't say it's cozy and soft the way flannel is, but comfortable like an old-fashioned 100% cotton bed sheet.
6/10/13 12:15 PM
RLL said...
Nice looking shirt. I like natural muslin myself. I use this pattern all the time for my hubby's dress shirts. I agree about the pocket being too big and I ended up using one from another shirt....keep a copy in the pattern envelope now. I like the collar size but you could always cut it down some for your liking. You have quite a nice collection of old machines . Do you work on them as well as collect?
6/10/13 3:35 PM
Manalto said...
Dear RLL, I have only vintage machines; the newest one is a Viking 6570 from the 1970s and the oldest one is a Wheeler & Wilson from the 1870s. They all will sew. My go-to machines are the Necchi BU, Singer 401 and the Viking when a free-arm is called for. Not only are they aesthetically more pleasing to me than the modern plastic machines (except for the fugly Viking), but I feel more comfortable using a simpler machine that I can trouble-shoot, oil and adjust. None of them can embroider baskets of kittens or has a "Bobbin Low" alarm, but I seem to be coping.
6/11/13 4:44 AM
MNBarb said...
Ah, nothing like a well-sewn men's shirt. Your work is impressive and the soft fabric so inviting. There is such a shortage of men's patterns but you've taken one of the few and made a garment that looks like it's tailor-made. I also like those basic macines. No need for kittens at my house.
6/11/13 3:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8094
photo
Review by Fran G on 8/28/05
Read Review

McCalls 4675 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 4675 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $16.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1812 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1812 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1878
photo
Review by momsurfing on 5/19/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C
Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us