Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5989 (McCall's 5989) thumbsup - Type:Sleepwear    printable version
Viewed 72 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:FairLadyOfCardigan
photo
About FairLadyOfCardigan
DC USA
Member since: 12/15/08
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/14/13 0:44 AM
Last Updated:11/14/13 0:48 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 5989 by FairLadyOfCardigan

Pattern Photo:McCall's 5989
McCall's Pattern Info

More Info provided by FairLadyOfCardigan

Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
See other patterns in this category: Sleepwear    
Available for sale on PR: $12.76 (See envelope) Click to Buy
  • Tip: Setting Sleeves with Ease
  • Current Tags What is a Tag:
    Fabric:Flannel  [See other projects in this fabric]
    Related Links  
    Click on to add a link
    Pattern Description:
    Misses' Robe, Belt, Top, Nightgown, Shorts and Pants (I made the robe.)

    Pattern Sizing:
    4 - 22

    Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
    Yes, it did.

    Were the instructions easy to follow?
    This pattern is labeled easy--and it is easy to sew--but the instructions leave some things to the imagination. The trickiest piece to sew, the collar at the shoulder seam, is, ironically, the vaguest part of the instructions.

    What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
    I wanted a robe that wasn't the boxy, unisex norm so I was drawn to the ruffles on the sleeves and at the hem.

    I didn't care for the collar construction. Also, this robe seems boxier than I expected (could be my imagination). I DEFINITELY disliked the collar construction.

    Fabric Used:
    Cotton flannel.

    Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
    I didn't make any alterations to this pattern. The fact that it's a robe and doesn't require a perfect fit makes it very forgiving.

    If I made it again, I think I would add a little length to the ruffles so they'd be fuller. I might also add pockets. This robe is definitely missing pockets.

    Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
    I might. I'm very torn on this pattern. I'd recommend it to others, but I'd warn them about the collar.

    Conclusion:
    This is a skill-builder with the set in sleeves, ruffles, and gathers at the sleeve cap. It's also a very cute pattern. Just (maybe) be prepared for a little frustration with the collar construction.
    Buy this pattern for $12.76  List Price: $15.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
     
    thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
    Merchants on PR
    Budo Bear Designs
    Asian Designs
    Web site
    Patterns from the Past
    vintage sewing patterns
    Deals!
    Elliott Berman Textiles
    Fabrics for Greater Ideas
    Deals!
    << Previous      Next >>
    2 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
    caper81 said...
    I love the ruffles too:) Cute robe.
    11/14/13 7:28 AM
    Chempac said...
    Even though you were frustrated with the collar I think it turned out really well. Super cute!
    11/18/13 8:02 PM
    Login
    Online Sewing Classes
    Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
    Fee: $19.99
    (Regular $49.00)
    Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

    Online Sewing Classes
    The Contemporary Couture Jacket
    Fee: $49.00
    (Regular $49.00)
    The Contemporary Couture Jacket

    Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2007-3 3/4 sleeve tee
    photo
    Review by emailtk on 9/30/08
    Read Review

    Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
    Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

    Details
    Price: $11.50
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
    Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

    Details
    Price: $7.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Vogue Patterns 1235 Misses' Dress
    photo
    Review by redsilvia on 7/8/11
    Read Review

    DVD - Will this fabric work for you?
    DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

    Details
    Price: $19.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Beginner Sewing Lab 103 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
    Beginner Sewing Lab 103  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

    Details
    Price: $14.99
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Kwik Sew 3561 Pattern
    Kwik Sew 3561 Pattern

    Details
    Price: $11.49
    Add to Bag Add to Bag

    Simplicity 1783 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
    Simplicity 1783 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

    Details
    Price: $17.95
    Add to Bag Add to Bag


    Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
    Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us