Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
J Stern Designs: 0041 (The Tee) thumbsup - Type:Tops
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest    printable version
Viewed 510 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:wildberrymom
photo
Friend of PR
About wildberrymomstar
MI USA
Member since: 6/11/08
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/11/13 0:19 AM
Last Updated:6/12/13 6:06 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $15.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wendyrb said...
Thanks for your fully detailed review of the pattern and working with Jen. Lookin' good; you made a lot of headway for a "muslin" and you're well along to a TNT. Congrats. I'm signed up for the class. Have to get back to it.
6/11/13 2:39 AM
Sew Whatever said...
I've not seen this style before. I guess you'd need the seaming in order to keep your neckline and upper shoulders the right size but allow for a larger area for the bust. Sounds like a good idea. I suppose if you didn't have to adjust the back at all, you wouldn't need seaming there. Hmm. interesting concept.
6/11/13 6:08 AM
ArtAttack said...
Good basic tee and looks like a wearable muslin. I never could get the two front yoke pieces to behave and also ended up combining them. Glad you are willing to work the kinks out of it.
6/11/13 9:14 AM
sewme47 said...
I also made this tee for my daughters and then wanted one for myself, so I took the class, too. I'm so sorry you weren't happy with the results. Mine worked out better, but I wasn't trying to make any style changes. I closely followed Jennifer's instructions for FBA and shoulder adjustments which worked very well for my needs. I have a very large bust and very narrow, sloping shoulders. The seamed yoke gave me lots of places to fine tune the fit. As you said, it may take a few tries to get the kinks worked out. I really like your all-white version!
6/11/13 9:51 AM
liliv said...
I like these seams! The neckline finishing is lovely:)
6/11/13 4:42 PM
Terri A said...
You look adorable in that tee!!!
6/12/13 0:50 AM
Rosalaya said...
Mmm I see what you mean about all those seams. You've made a good job on the neck adjustments, I agree that a bit narrower may be better and I think that a fraction more width from the armhole down coud be beneficial. Well done, the white on white theme works well.
6/12/13 1:07 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I did not have good success with this pattern, some was operator error on my part. Perhaps the class would be helpful.
6/12/13 6:41 AM
wildberrymom said...
Rosalaya--a bit more width in the shoulder seam is on my list of adjustments for the next version. The seams allow for the FBA but in my case, I think it put too much length in the lower front--we'll see what #2 does. Thanks for all of the feedback and kind words from all of you.
6/12/13 8:39 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 1783
photo
Review by MrsCharism... on 12/22/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lucy Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lucy Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Ahsley Knit Ruffle Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Ahsley Knit Ruffle Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1805
photo
Review by moonthirty on 7/2/12
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8052 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Vogue 8052 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5895 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Butterick 5895 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us