SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> J Stern Designs> 0041 (The Tee)

29 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 525 times 
Reviewed by:wildberrymom
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About wildberrymomstar
MI USA
Member since: 6/11/08
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/11/13 0:19 AM
Last Updated:6/12/13 6:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $15.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wendyrb said...
Thanks for your fully detailed review of the pattern and working with Jen. Lookin' good; you made a lot of headway for a "muslin" and you're well along to a TNT. Congrats. I'm signed up for the class. Have to get back to it.
6/11/13 2:39 AM
Sew Whatever said...
I've not seen this style before. I guess you'd need the seaming in order to keep your neckline and upper shoulders the right size but allow for a larger area for the bust. Sounds like a good idea. I suppose if you didn't have to adjust the back at all, you wouldn't need seaming there. Hmm. interesting concept.
6/11/13 6:08 AM
ArtAttack said...
Good basic tee and looks like a wearable muslin. I never could get the two front yoke pieces to behave and also ended up combining them. Glad you are willing to work the kinks out of it.
6/11/13 9:14 AM
sewme47 said...
I also made this tee for my daughters and then wanted one for myself, so I took the class, too. I'm so sorry you weren't happy with the results. Mine worked out better, but I wasn't trying to make any style changes. I closely followed Jennifer's instructions for FBA and shoulder adjustments which worked very well for my needs. I have a very large bust and very narrow, sloping shoulders. The seamed yoke gave me lots of places to fine tune the fit. As you said, it may take a few tries to get the kinks worked out. I really like your all-white version!
6/11/13 9:51 AM
liliv said...
I like these seams! The neckline finishing is lovely:)
6/11/13 4:42 PM
Terri A said...
You look adorable in that tee!!!
6/12/13 0:50 AM
Rosalaya said...
Mmm I see what you mean about all those seams. You've made a good job on the neck adjustments, I agree that a bit narrower may be better and I think that a fraction more width from the armhole down coud be beneficial. Well done, the white on white theme works well.
6/12/13 1:07 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I did not have good success with this pattern, some was operator error on my part. Perhaps the class would be helpful.
6/12/13 6:41 AM
wildberrymom said...
Rosalaya--a bit more width in the shoulder seam is on my list of adjustments for the next version. The seams allow for the FBA but in my case, I think it put too much length in the lower front--we'll see what #2 does. Thanks for all of the feedback and kind words from all of you.
6/12/13 8:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Butterick 5775

photo
by: style insp...

Review
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now