SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6126 (Misses Top)

1 more reviews
Viewed 326 times 
Reviewed by:Sheila457
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sheila457starstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/21/07
Reviews written: 112
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/12/13 11:36 AM
Last Updated:6/14/13 10:39 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sheila457 said...
Thank You.
6/17/13 7:26 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Gorgeous top and great fabric layout to use this beautiful fabric to its best advantage.
6/16/13 11:44 AM
DaisyA said...
wow and WOW! great fabric and great finishing makes a great top!!
6/15/13 6:01 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Very pretty top! Great fabric choice!
6/15/13 12:14 PM
Sheila457 said...
Thank you. Thanks Rosalaya, with the fabric so sheer, I didn't want to add more weight and double serging strengthen the shoulder seam w/o added weight.
6/14/13 8:17 PM
Rosalaya said...
Thanks Sheila, I'm learning new things every day. For shoulders I just lay down some twill tape or selvedge and overlock over that.
6/14/13 7:19 PM
norie creates said...
Wow! I love everything about this..the style and gorgeous fabric! Just beautiful!
6/14/13 6:42 PM
SmileyKat said...
Gorgeous fabric. I bet you have gotten many compliments on it when you wear it.
6/14/13 1:32 PM
Levone said...
Beautiful top! Thanks for all of the detailed pictures.
6/14/13 1:10 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Love your fabric, very cute!
6/14/13 10:55 AM
Sheila457 said...
I was able to upload 2 pics of the underside of the kimono, wherein I used 1/4" elastic and serged all the seams. https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/17644693/wrongside%20flat.JPG https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/17644693/Slide1.JPG
6/14/13 10:32 AM
Sheila457 said...
Thank you. @Rosalaya, double serging is just serging the first time with the knife active and serging the second time without the knife. Basically strengthening the shoulder seam.. nothing more.
6/13/13 7:16 PM
Rosalaya said...
Such a grand pairing of fabric and pattern. Well done. Umm..... Just what is double serging?
6/13/13 5:48 PM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Wow, great use of that interesting fabric with a really cute result. Nice tunic and I'm thinking "great swimsuit cover-up"...
6/13/13 11:38 AM
Sheila457 said...
Thanks for the awesome compliments. @ Diane, I will try to take a pic tonight of the inside. I set the stitch width to 4.4 and the length 1.5.
6/13/13 9:04 AM
MamaSewing said...
What a terrific top. I love the fabric color and print!
6/13/13 8:54 AM
Diane333 said...
Really like your top. Are you able to show the inside of your 3 rows of elastic? I would like to make this top .
6/13/13 6:22 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great pattern to showcase this fabric.
6/13/13 5:32 AM
jlg said...
Wow! This is really cool.
6/13/13 5:21 AM
wildberrymom said...
Very pretty top!
6/13/13 1:43 AM
Laurie Lou said...
I LOVE your top. You got the best pattern placement of all on it too! Super cute and I want that fabric!...to make an identical top. :) Looks great on you!
6/12/13 2:43 PM
slmstyle said...
Lovely top! I have had this pattern, and fabric for it, in my stash for a long time. I should make it up after seeing your beautiful version. I really like the idea of the elastic thread-might have to steal it :)
6/12/13 1:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Decades of Style 4007 (1940s New England Dress)

photo
by: Julia Bobb...

Review