SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6126 (Misses Top)

1 more reviews
Viewed 322 times 
Reviewed by:Sheila457
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sheila457starstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/21/07
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 60 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/12/13 11:36 AM
Last Updated:6/14/13 10:39 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
slmstyle said...
Lovely top! I have had this pattern, and fabric for it, in my stash for a long time. I should make it up after seeing your beautiful version. I really like the idea of the elastic thread-might have to steal it :)
6/12/13 1:41 PM
Laurie Lou said...
I LOVE your top. You got the best pattern placement of all on it too! Super cute and I want that fabric!...to make an identical top. :) Looks great on you!
6/12/13 2:43 PM
wildberrymom said...
Very pretty top!
6/13/13 1:43 AM
jlg said...
Wow! This is really cool.
6/13/13 5:21 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great pattern to showcase this fabric.
6/13/13 5:32 AM
Diane333 said...
Really like your top. Are you able to show the inside of your 3 rows of elastic? I would like to make this top .
6/13/13 6:22 AM
MamaSewing said...
What a terrific top. I love the fabric color and print!
6/13/13 8:54 AM
Sheila457 said...
Thanks for the awesome compliments. @ Diane, I will try to take a pic tonight of the inside. I set the stitch width to 4.4 and the length 1.5.
6/13/13 9:04 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Wow, great use of that interesting fabric with a really cute result. Nice tunic and I'm thinking "great swimsuit cover-up"...
6/13/13 11:38 AM
Rosalaya said...
Such a grand pairing of fabric and pattern. Well done. Umm..... Just what is double serging?
6/13/13 5:48 PM
Sheila457 said...
Thank you. @Rosalaya, double serging is just serging the first time with the knife active and serging the second time without the knife. Basically strengthening the shoulder seam.. nothing more.
6/13/13 7:16 PM
Sheila457 said...
I was able to upload 2 pics of the underside of the kimono, wherein I used 1/4" elastic and serged all the seams. https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/17644693/wrongside%20flat.JPG https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/17644693/Slide1.JPG
6/14/13 10:32 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love your fabric, very cute!
6/14/13 10:55 AM
Levone said...
Beautiful top! Thanks for all of the detailed pictures.
6/14/13 1:10 PM
SmileyKat said...
Gorgeous fabric. I bet you have gotten many compliments on it when you wear it.
6/14/13 1:32 PM
norie creates said...
Wow! I love everything about this..the style and gorgeous fabric! Just beautiful!
6/14/13 6:42 PM
Rosalaya said...
Thanks Sheila, I'm learning new things every day. For shoulders I just lay down some twill tape or selvedge and overlock over that.
6/14/13 7:19 PM
Sheila457 said...
Thank you. Thanks Rosalaya, with the fabric so sheer, I didn't want to add more weight and double serging strengthen the shoulder seam w/o added weight.
6/14/13 8:17 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Very pretty top! Great fabric choice!
6/15/13 12:14 PM
DaisyA said...
wow and WOW! great fabric and great finishing makes a great top!!
6/15/13 6:01 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Gorgeous top and great fabric layout to use this beautiful fabric to its best advantage.
6/16/13 11:44 AM
Sheila457 said...
Thank You.
6/17/13 7:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 177593-1003

photo
by: montanachi...

Review
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Buy Now