Online Sewing Class: Altering Jackets
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> PatternReview> 100 (Summer Street Dress)

13 more reviews
Viewed 544 times 
Reviewed by:LBowman
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LBowmanstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 9/23/08
Reviews: 18 (patterns: 18)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/17/13 2:47 AM
Last Updated:6/19/13 8:35 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $9.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $9.95 Pattern Details

Other Projects by LBowman using this Pattern

photophoto

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
LBowman said... (7/9/13 8:40 AM) Reply
Xena the warrior dress form? :-) she was made at an afternoon workshop, of brown paper tape, molded to me, and I spray-painted her bronze.
Amelia Airhead said... (7/8/13 8:53 PM) Reply
Hello LBowman, I'm writing to pester you with a question about your dressform in the picture of your pink version of the Summer Challenge dress. The dressform isn't the run of the mill purchased dress form. Is this something you were able to purchase or is this something you made? Thanks for any information you may have.
DrawThroughTime said... (6/18/13 8:41 PM) Reply
I just discovered your reviews of this pattern. JEF, you and I all seem to be looking at some of the same issues. I think there are so many people of all ages, shapes and sizes wearing dresses like this...just look around! And they look usually nice... at minimum, a little dressier than a tee-shirt right?!, even if they are not a size 6 and below. And in the best scenario they can look very smart like Deepika's polkadot version. There are those of us who aren't used to the style on ourselves though, and I think it takes us a little getting used to the style even if we get the fit done fairly nicely! I like the one you've modeled with the leggings. Can't tell as much on the next one without a human body. Your first one is very similar to my first one. My second one will also be longer in the waist, but not as long as you've added to yours so we will see how it turns out. I added 2 3/4" and so far the muslin of the bodice looks good. I also tapered to the waist by using the original line from the bottom of the armhole to the shorter printed bottom corner, and with a ruler just extending the line at the same angle down to my new corner at the new length. It was subtle but still tapered in at the waist that way. When I tried on the muslin it fit, or I would have adjusted it further then too. If you want, join us on the Sew Along for Summer Street Dress. There you will find that JEF expressed that she wasn't really happy with her's till version 3 and 4! I'm also experimenting with another version with an FBA and like you find it to be a good pattern to experiment with some basic adjustments.
JEF said... (6/17/13 10:49 AM) Reply
I know just what you mean. I thought this pattern wasn't for me either (I'm too busty and the pattern is too youthful) BUT I decided I like it after trying it in various fabrics. FWIW, I think the other one you made (when you modeled it) is really nice and looks great with the black leggings. Maybe you would like this more shortened to a tunic length?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-127

photo
by: grays08

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 100492-1040

photo
by: petro

Review
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Pattern Details
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Pattern Details