Online Sewing Class: Put it on the Bias
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5914 (Misses Skirts)

59 more reviews
Viewed 218 times 
Reviewed by:demoiselle
photo

 
 
About demoisellestar
Member since: 6/21/11
Reviews: 11 (patterns: 9)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/13 11:26 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Texahoma said... (6/22/13 3:53 PM) Reply
I'm so sorry your poor kitty was in pain, glad he is better. There is always a reason when they don't use their litter boxes. With mine it is usually when I come back from a trip and they are mad. They have not done it in several years thank goodness.
demoiselle said... (6/22/13 7:57 AM) Reply
Thanks! This polyester one is fine, it was the wool second version that got wadded. :-( I'll make a third sometime soon, I suppose!
Jodi B. said... (6/22/13 0:47 AM) Reply
Very pretty! I hope you're able to save it from your cat.
21wale said... (6/21/13 1:50 PM) Reply
Great looking skirt!
demoiselle said... (6/21/13 11:52 AM) Reply
Texahoma: Thanks for the message about my cat. He had the misfortune of getting FORLs as a youngin'--it's a condition that makes cats' teeth decay extremely fast. However, even though he was in pain (and peed on things to express it), the vets wouldn't just pull his teeth until they'd reached a certain level of awful (I pleaded because I knew he was hurting). He was so much happier after they finally ok'd removing all his teeth. Nowadays, he has very occasional relapses into peeing on piles of fabric when he's angry at us--maybe once a year. I keep an eye on him, because if he does it more than that I'll know it's a health issue.

Thank you so much for the positive feedback on the skirt! I'm posting my few projects here to build up my confidence about wearing them in public, so hearing from you means a lot.

Definitely make this skirt if A-Lines flatter you--it's really easy (I mean, it was my return after over a decade of not sewing, and I never learned more than basic serging and sewing machine operation; I never even learned how to fit things myself). I wish I had another version of this skirt to show, because I think it will look vastly different according to what fabric you choose. But then, there is a whole gallery of reviews to prove that. ;-)

Texahoma said... (6/21/13 11:42 AM) Reply
Beautiful! I have this pattern, but have not made it yet. Your skirt makes me want to start it right away. I have found that washing in very hot water with a good detergent and oxiclean will remove all traces of cat pee. Of course not all fabrics are washable. More important is why kitty did it, hope kitty doesn't do this again for your sake.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8854

photo
by: HelenM01

Review
Simplicity 2584

photo
by: loladior

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Pattern Details