SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5914 (Misses Skirts)

57 more reviews
Viewed 199 times 
Reviewed by:demoiselle
photo

 
 
About demoisellestar
Member since: 6/21/11
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/13 11:26 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Texahoma said...
I'm so sorry your poor kitty was in pain, glad he is better. There is always a reason when they don't use their litter boxes. With mine it is usually when I come back from a trip and they are mad. They have not done it in several years thank goodness.
6/22/13 3:53 PM
demoiselle said...
Thanks! This polyester one is fine, it was the wool second version that got wadded. :-( I'll make a third sometime soon, I suppose!
6/22/13 7:57 AM
Jodi B. said...
Very pretty! I hope you're able to save it from your cat.
6/22/13 0:47 AM
21wale said...
Great looking skirt!
6/21/13 1:50 PM
demoiselle said...
Texahoma: Thanks for the message about my cat. He had the misfortune of getting FORLs as a youngin'--it's a condition that makes cats' teeth decay extremely fast. However, even though he was in pain (and peed on things to express it), the vets wouldn't just pull his teeth until they'd reached a certain level of awful (I pleaded because I knew he was hurting). He was so much happier after they finally ok'd removing all his teeth. Nowadays, he has very occasional relapses into peeing on piles of fabric when he's angry at us--maybe once a year. I keep an eye on him, because if he does it more than that I'll know it's a health issue.

Thank you so much for the positive feedback on the skirt! I'm posting my few projects here to build up my confidence about wearing them in public, so hearing from you means a lot.

Definitely make this skirt if A-Lines flatter you--it's really easy (I mean, it was my return after over a decade of not sewing, and I never learned more than basic serging and sewing machine operation; I never even learned how to fit things myself). I wish I had another version of this skirt to show, because I think it will look vastly different according to what fabric you choose. But then, there is a whole gallery of reviews to prove that. ;-)
6/21/13 11:52 AM

Texahoma said...
Beautiful! I have this pattern, but have not made it yet. Your skirt makes me want to start it right away. I have found that washing in very hot water with a good detergent and oxiclean will remove all traces of cat pee. Of course not all fabrics are washable. More important is why kitty did it, hope kitty doesn't do this again for your sake.
6/21/13 11:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

brerrabbit.com LD-5-PTD-1

photo
by: RachelSton...

Review
Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now