Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5914 (Misses Skirts) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 161 times 55 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:demoiselle
photo
About demoiselle
Member since: 6/21/11
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/13 11:26 AM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Texahoma said...
Beautiful! I have this pattern, but have not made it yet. Your skirt makes me want to start it right away. I have found that washing in very hot water with a good detergent and oxiclean will remove all traces of cat pee. Of course not all fabrics are washable. More important is why kitty did it, hope kitty doesn't do this again for your sake.
6/21/13 11:42 AM
demoiselle said...
Texahoma: Thanks for the message about my cat. He had the misfortune of getting FORLs as a youngin'--it's a condition that makes cats' teeth decay extremely fast. However, even though he was in pain (and peed on things to express it), the vets wouldn't just pull his teeth until they'd reached a certain level of awful (I pleaded because I knew he was hurting). He was so much happier after they finally ok'd removing all his teeth. Nowadays, he has very occasional relapses into peeing on piles of fabric when he's angry at us--maybe once a year. I keep an eye on him, because if he does it more than that I'll know it's a health issue.

Thank you so much for the positive feedback on the skirt! I'm posting my few projects here to build up my confidence about wearing them in public, so hearing from you means a lot.

Definitely make this skirt if A-Lines flatter you--it's really easy (I mean, it was my return after over a decade of not sewing, and I never learned more than basic serging and sewing machine operation; I never even learned how to fit things myself). I wish I had another version of this skirt to show, because I think it will look vastly different according to what fabric you choose. But then, there is a whole gallery of reviews to prove that. ;-)
6/21/13 11:52 AM

21wale said...
Great looking skirt!
6/21/13 1:50 PM
Jodi B. said...
Very pretty! I hope you're able to save it from your cat.
6/22/13 0:47 AM
demoiselle said...
Thanks! This polyester one is fine, it was the wool second version that got wadded. :-( I'll make a third sometime soon, I suppose!
6/22/13 7:57 AM
Texahoma said...
I'm so sorry your poor kitty was in pain, glad he is better. There is always a reason when they don't use their litter boxes. With mine it is usually when I come back from a trip and they are mad. They have not done it in several years thank goodness.
6/22/13 3:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sewing Workshop Hibiscus Shirt Hibiscus Shirt
photo
Review by Peggy L on 2/19/11
Read Review

Burda 6971 Pattern
Burda 6971 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Brussels Skirt
Brussels Skirt

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2187
photo
Review by norie crea... on 4/21/12
Read Review

Sis Boom Rebecca Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rebecca Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $27.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us