SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 4509 (Run Away Dress)

2 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 370 times 
Reviewed by:SquishSews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SquishSewsstar
Member since: 1/18/09
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/13 11:31 PM
Last Updated:6/22/13 11:09 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ashford said...
I had all the beginner problems you mentioned -binding, ties, and sleeves. I wrote to Silhouette Patterns and told them that more instruction was needed for beginners. I got a thank you as a reply. I do not think they will invest the time to make the changes. I could be wrong. I agree; the dress is very comfortable in the hot climate. I like your fabric choice and the pockets.
8/23/13 6:36 PM
oldpatterns said...
Interesting variation on the Butterick Walkaway dress from the 50's and it's 1960s variations. The same issues you have with is as a wearablitiy are present in the dress it is based on. Great sewing job.
7/9/13 8:18 AM
marec said...
This is such a helpful review-thanks for the clear analysis of the pattern. Cute details and terrific modifications to make this work for you.
6/23/13 12:00 PM
Sew Whatever said...
Good points on the way to wear it. I think you made a good choice having the ties at the back.
6/23/13 10:54 AM
SquishSews said...
Oooh, when I click edit review (I saw some typos; hangs head in shame) - the links and image options were available and working! You have pics now.... :-)
6/22/13 11:10 PM
SquishSews said...
I submitted a link to my flickr page, but I was testing Deepika's new image thing and couldn't make it work. For now, you can copy paste this URL http://www.flickr.com/photos/squishsews/sets/72157634254199003/
6/22/13 10:33 PM
JEF said...
:) Glad the binding method worked for you! Yep, we all want pics. I can't wait the see the extra 50s vibe you describe.
6/22/13 7:28 AM
Diane333 said...
I too would LOVE to see the picture.
6/22/13 7:00 AM
Pj3g said...
Very thorough review! Would love to see it!
6/22/13 6:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

PR Member's Pattern Haltertop Hussy

photo
by: meggipeg

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2010-126

photo
by: Nanax4

Review
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

More Info