Online Sewing Class: Leather 101
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Advance Pattern Company> 7772 (Vintage Shirtwaist dress)

Viewed 133 times 
Reviewed by:KamiSue2
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KamiSue2star
USA
Member since: 1/12/11
Reviews: 73 (patterns: 73)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/13 2:16 AM
Last Updated:7/15/13 2:24 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewingcanary said... (12/1/13 9:58 PM) Reply
I was thinking “… wait until next year”, then you said you’d tried it on your older daughter. Looking back, I think growing was always factored into things. It sure was with shoes! This is definitely 50’s! You can always tell 50’s because of the big, full skirts. Economic times were better for many, things had recovered from WWII. Full circle skirts – “Poodle skirts” were TOTALLY IN. Full gathered skirts or pleats with acres folded in were common. Fabric was woven on narrow looms and they took oodles of yardage. A woman’s dress could easy take 5 yards or more. Hopefully you’ll be able to pass this down to the daughter for whom it was originally intended. It’s really cute. Happy stitching!
Cat n Bull said... (7/17/13 10:38 PM) Reply
Gosh that is ADORABLE! Love it!
WinterQueen said... (7/15/13 12:14 PM) Reply
Beautiful. Love the contrast
sunnysewing said... (7/15/13 10:07 AM) Reply
That is such an awesome dress! I love that you also have that drama in your house.. :) kids are so creative. Maybe she can grow into the dress? lol
Christas said... (7/15/13 9:14 AM) Reply
Oh, no! Poor Elena. I hope she gets a new dress, too. Of course, your six year old looks very pleased and happy with her new dress. This one looks like it has lovely "twirl factor" which was always very important to my girls when they were little.
sugarduck said... (7/15/13 9:01 AM) Reply
Adorable!! I've found vintage children's patterns to be on the large side, as well. I usually make one size down for my daughter and get a pretty good fit that way. I hope your younger daughter will get a special dress to make up for the disappointment of this one.
jilly cooper said... (7/15/13 4:29 AM) Reply
sweet dress, so sorry about the drama :)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns v8755

photo
by: boonetowne

Review
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Pattern Details
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
McCall's 6288

photo
by: turtleandi

Review