SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Advance Pattern Company> 7772 (Vintage Shirtwaist dress)

Viewed 123 times 
Reviewed by:KamiSue2
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KamiSue2star
USA
Member since: 1/12/11
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/13 2:16 AM
Last Updated:7/15/13 2:24 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewingcanary said...
I was thinking “… wait until next year”, then you said you’d tried it on your older daughter. Looking back, I think growing was always factored into things. It sure was with shoes! This is definitely 50’s! You can always tell 50’s because of the big, full skirts. Economic times were better for many, things had recovered from WWII. Full circle skirts – “Poodle skirts” were TOTALLY IN. Full gathered skirts or pleats with acres folded in were common. Fabric was woven on narrow looms and they took oodles of yardage. A woman’s dress could easy take 5 yards or more. Hopefully you’ll be able to pass this down to the daughter for whom it was originally intended. It’s really cute. Happy stitching!
12/1/13 9:58 PM
Cat n Bull said...
Gosh that is ADORABLE! Love it!
7/17/13 10:38 PM
WinterQueen said...
Beautiful. Love the contrast
7/15/13 12:14 PM
sunnysewing said...
That is such an awesome dress! I love that you also have that drama in your house.. :) kids are so creative. Maybe she can grow into the dress? lol
7/15/13 10:07 AM
Christas said...
Oh, no! Poor Elena. I hope she gets a new dress, too. Of course, your six year old looks very pleased and happy with her new dress. This one looks like it has lovely "twirl factor" which was always very important to my girls when they were little.
7/15/13 9:14 AM
sugarduck said...
Adorable!! I've found vintage children's patterns to be on the large side, as well. I usually make one size down for my daughter and get a pretty good fit that way. I hope your younger daughter will get a special dress to make up for the disappointment of this one.
7/15/13 9:01 AM
jilly cooper said...
sweet dress, so sorry about the drama :)
7/15/13 4:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

More Info
Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

More Info