Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8870 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 383 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Couturemum
photo
About Couturemumstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/1/13
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/13 2:18 AM
Last Updated:6/27/13 2:23 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
evelynhughes said...
Well done and congrats on your first vogue!
6/27/13 7:09 AM
caper81 said...
How beautiful!! Very classy and elegant on you! I love the fabric :) I'm curious to see this dress belted, but it looks great as is. And yes, congrats on your first review! Oh, P.S., did the pattern instruct you to under-stitch the bodice/neck facing? If not, I think it might help :)
6/27/13 9:36 AM
grays08 said...
Very beautiful, and I think the first one of these from this pattern that I've seen that looks like the pattern envelope. I have this one but haven't made it up yet so I appreciate your review. = )
6/27/13 10:10 AM
slmstyle said...
Pretty dress! Congrats on your first pattern review as well as on your first Vogue pattern!
6/27/13 10:47 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress.
6/27/13 12:52 PM
Heatherrique said...
Terrific looking dress!
6/27/13 1:05 PM
norie creates said...
Very pretty and feminine dress!
6/27/13 2:25 PM
nicegirl said...
Very pretty! I loathe facings because of the flipping out problem. I assume the facing is already tacked to the raglan sleeve seam and the waist seam? If you have scraps of fabric you can test out whether fusible web (like Wonder Under or Stitch Witchery) will be too obvious. If it doesn't show or make the fabric noticeably stiff, you can fuse the facing into place.
6/27/13 2:28 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Very pretty dress! Congrats on your first review and your first Vogue!
6/27/13 7:01 PM
Couturemum said...
Thank you all so much for your lovely comments and thoughtful suggestions. I did indeed tack the facing at the sleeve seam, at the waist and I even tucked a couple of stitches into the pleats, but I suspect that being such light slippery fabric isn't helping matters. I never thought of using fusible web, thanks, will definitely look into that! I haven't managed to find a belt that I liked, I wanted gold or something bright so I think I just might have to make one : )
6/27/13 11:05 PM
wildberrymom said...
Very pretty! I am not a personal fan of the uneven hemlines but this one is very nice on you. For some reason I see this with a buckle belt of some kind--even white.
6/28/13 2:41 AM
N_Vogue said...
Very pretty dress.
6/28/13 4:28 AM
thi3 said...
Looks very lovely on you!
6/28/13 8:47 AM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! Congratulations on you first vogue. I agree with nicegirl, facings rarely behave. I usually try to avoid them either by turning under the edge of the neckline, binding the neckline, or cutting a full lining for the top. Don't blame yourself for the nature of facings.
6/28/13 9:49 AM
Barbara R said...
Love this dress, and just added it to my wish list. You might have to resort to hand blind stitching the facing to the dress. I agree it's probably the nature of the slippery fabric. But I would definitely try the fusible web idea first.
6/28/13 11:05 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

New Look 6563 Misses Blouses
photo
Review by solosmocke... on 6/7/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)
Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Downloadable 6014: jochen
photo
Review by Erinaceous on 7/16/11
Read Review

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8911 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8911 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us