SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8870 (Misses Dress)

14 more reviews
Viewed 417 times 
Reviewed by:Couturemum
photo

 
 
About Couturemumstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/1/13
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/13 2:18 AM
Last Updated:6/27/13 2:23 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara R said...
Love this dress, and just added it to my wish list. You might have to resort to hand blind stitching the facing to the dress. I agree it's probably the nature of the slippery fabric. But I would definitely try the fusible web idea first.
6/28/13 11:05 AM
becca a said...
Lovely dress! Congratulations on you first vogue. I agree with nicegirl, facings rarely behave. I usually try to avoid them either by turning under the edge of the neckline, binding the neckline, or cutting a full lining for the top. Don't blame yourself for the nature of facings.
6/28/13 9:49 AM
thi3 said...
Looks very lovely on you!
6/28/13 8:47 AM
N_Vogue said...
Very pretty dress.
6/28/13 4:28 AM
wildberrymom said...
Very pretty! I am not a personal fan of the uneven hemlines but this one is very nice on you. For some reason I see this with a buckle belt of some kind--even white.
6/28/13 2:41 AM
Couturemum said...
Thank you all so much for your lovely comments and thoughtful suggestions. I did indeed tack the facing at the sleeve seam, at the waist and I even tucked a couple of stitches into the pleats, but I suspect that being such light slippery fabric isn't helping matters. I never thought of using fusible web, thanks, will definitely look into that! I haven't managed to find a belt that I liked, I wanted gold or something bright so I think I just might have to make one : )
6/27/13 11:05 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Very pretty dress! Congrats on your first review and your first Vogue!
6/27/13 7:01 PM
nicegirl said...
Very pretty! I loathe facings because of the flipping out problem. I assume the facing is already tacked to the raglan sleeve seam and the waist seam? If you have scraps of fabric you can test out whether fusible web (like Wonder Under or Stitch Witchery) will be too obvious. If it doesn't show or make the fabric noticeably stiff, you can fuse the facing into place.
6/27/13 2:28 PM
norie creates said...
Very pretty and feminine dress!
6/27/13 2:25 PM
Heatherrique said...
Terrific looking dress!
6/27/13 1:05 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress.
6/27/13 12:52 PM
slmstyle said...
Pretty dress! Congrats on your first pattern review as well as on your first Vogue pattern!
6/27/13 10:47 AM
grays08 said...
Very beautiful, and I think the first one of these from this pattern that I've seen that looks like the pattern envelope. I have this one but haven't made it up yet so I appreciate your review. = )
6/27/13 10:10 AM
caper81 said...
How beautiful!! Very classy and elegant on you! I love the fabric :) I'm curious to see this dress belted, but it looks great as is. And yes, congrats on your first review! Oh, P.S., did the pattern instruct you to under-stitch the bodice/neck facing? If not, I think it might help :)
6/27/13 9:36 AM
evelynhughes said...
Well done and congrats on your first vogue!
6/27/13 7:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1328

photo
by: rivergum

Review
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

More Info
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info
No Pattern Used 2013-3

photo
by: katlew03

Review