Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2013-128 (128) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 208 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:mnitts
photo
About mnittsstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/2/11
Reviews written: 56
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/13 11:25 AM
Last Updated:6/27/13 11:40 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jstarr4250 said...
Loved your blog post on this one and had to laugh. It's a great vacation dress but I feel exactly the same about tracing Burda magazine patterns. If I see one I want to make I usually buy the download! Those things remind me of my old Spirograph drawings, which most of you are probably too young to remember!
6/27/13 12:45 PM
grays08 said...
This is cute! I'm sorry you don't like the Burda tracing - I promise it's MUCH improved over say Burda's from the 70s - those things were CRAZY and a lot worse, hard to imagine I know. Their patterns are so well drafted that I suck it up and do it and am never disappointed, but I hear you.
6/27/13 1:55 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Your dress turned out really cute! I love my Burda Magazines! The yellow/canary tracing paper on rolls from GS Direct is awesome for seeing all of the lines. (I have no financial interest in GS Direct)
6/27/13 2:17 PM
nicegirl said...
This is really adorable! I love your choice of the two fabrics. I have this one on my list as well.
6/27/13 2:23 PM
Heatherrique said...
You make this dress so wonderful in pink!
6/27/13 3:39 PM
highroad said...
I'm so glad to see this dress made up! This is one of the pieces I especially liked from the June issue of Burda. I love your choice of fabrics and the way you let the underdress peek out from under the top layer. But I do want to say . . . sorry, you've probably heard this enough already . . . you might want to give Burda magazine another chance. I quickly go over the lines for my size on the pattern sheet with a marking pen to darken them, then lay tracing paper over and use the metal tip of my measuring tape to add seam allowances where needed. Just a thought . . .
6/27/13 6:54 PM
greengrapes88 said...
This is so cute! Thanks for sharing.
6/27/13 10:11 PM
wildberrymom said...
Very pretty--love the pink! There is a reason why I have not become a huge fan of Burda patterns.
6/28/13 3:09 AM
Levone said...
Pretty dress!
6/28/13 1:38 PM
olgarosita said...
Seeing your dress, I may reconsider that pattern, as it didn't draw my attention in the mag pictures. I also think you shouldn't give up on Burda, there are some very nice pattens in some isues. Use the most transparent tracing paper that you can find, and tracing will be easier.
6/29/13 4:56 AM
MNBarb said...
Thanks for this review. I also bought this issue of Burda thinking there were several things I might make. You may just have to develop the "Burda pattern tracing eye" which allows you to see only the lines you need for the current tracing. The dress is beautiful and 100 times cuter than the dress on the model in the magazine.
7/18/13 8:43 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Burda 3197 Shirt
photo
Review by chesneykat on 4/18/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3903 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3903 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6692 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6692 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 93540-1000
photo
Review by AlexaNJ on 7/18/12
Read Review

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us