SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2013-128 (128)

1 more reviews
Viewed 218 times 
Reviewed by:mnitts
photo

 
 
About mnittsstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/2/11
Reviews written: 75
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/13 11:25 AM
Last Updated:6/27/13 11:40 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
Thanks for this review. I also bought this issue of Burda thinking there were several things I might make. You may just have to develop the "Burda pattern tracing eye" which allows you to see only the lines you need for the current tracing. The dress is beautiful and 100 times cuter than the dress on the model in the magazine.
7/18/13 8:43 AM
olgarosita said...
Seeing your dress, I may reconsider that pattern, as it didn't draw my attention in the mag pictures. I also think you shouldn't give up on Burda, there are some very nice pattens in some isues. Use the most transparent tracing paper that you can find, and tracing will be easier.
6/29/13 4:56 AM
Levone said...
Pretty dress!
6/28/13 1:38 PM
wildberrymom said...
Very pretty--love the pink! There is a reason why I have not become a huge fan of Burda patterns.
6/28/13 3:09 AM
greengrapes88 said...
This is so cute! Thanks for sharing.
6/27/13 10:11 PM
highroad said...
I'm so glad to see this dress made up! This is one of the pieces I especially liked from the June issue of Burda. I love your choice of fabrics and the way you let the underdress peek out from under the top layer. But I do want to say . . . sorry, you've probably heard this enough already . . . you might want to give Burda magazine another chance. I quickly go over the lines for my size on the pattern sheet with a marking pen to darken them, then lay tracing paper over and use the metal tip of my measuring tape to add seam allowances where needed. Just a thought . . .
6/27/13 6:54 PM
Heatherrique said...
You make this dress so wonderful in pink!
6/27/13 3:39 PM
nicegirl said...
This is really adorable! I love your choice of the two fabrics. I have this one on my list as well.
6/27/13 2:23 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Your dress turned out really cute! I love my Burda Magazines! The yellow/canary tracing paper on rolls from GS Direct is awesome for seeing all of the lines. (I have no financial interest in GS Direct)
6/27/13 2:17 PM
grays08 said...
This is cute! I'm sorry you don't like the Burda tracing - I promise it's MUCH improved over say Burda's from the 70s - those things were CRAZY and a lot worse, hard to imagine I know. Their patterns are so well drafted that I suck it up and do it and am never disappointed, but I hear you.
6/27/13 1:55 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Loved your blog post on this one and had to laugh. It's a great vacation dress but I feel exactly the same about tracing Burda magazine patterns. If I see one I want to make I usually buy the download! Those things remind me of my old Spirograph drawings, which most of you are probably too young to remember!
6/27/13 12:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Butterick 5857

photo
by: grays08

Review
No Pattern Used Bubble Pocket Shorts

photo
by: jennielee2...

Review
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

More Info