SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7608 (Misses' Jeans)

22 more reviews
Review submitted in 2013 Jeans Contest Contest
Viewed 298 times 
Reviewed by:Renren
photo

 
 
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 228
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 219
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/13 6:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Whatever said...
I am glad you were able to get a good fit with this pattern. Love the colour.
6/30/13 7:10 PM
jloubier said...
Holy, wow!!! What a great job you did on those jeans. Your attention to every little detail really shows. Love the colour. I wish I could sew like that. Great job~ TFS :-)
6/30/13 7:29 PM
skae said...
love the color. I have this pattern. I think I'll give it a try. I need some new motorcycle pants. Great job, well done.
6/30/13 7:47 PM
crazygrad said...
what awesomeness!
6/30/13 8:33 PM
ArtAttack said...
Really cute jeans...great color for summer
6/30/13 8:51 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very impressive. Well done. I should have another look at this pattern myself.
7/1/13 0:03 AM
Margaret said...
These look great! Love the color! Nice work on all the topstitching and I am glad they fit well.
7/1/13 3:40 AM
wildberrymom said...
Love the color and the pocket bag fabric and the topstitching--especially on the legs. Helpful to see what you did with putting the design on the back pockets. It would be fun to see them on a body. Great job!
7/1/13 9:44 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous colour ,great topstitching, love these!
7/1/13 10:47 AM
persevering said...
Congratulations on your successful sewing of these pants and thank you for posting this review. Not only do these look great, but your review is greatly encouraging. I really admire how you keep working on a sewing project (I've enjoyed reading about your sewing for quite a while on this site) with ultimate success many times! And I'm really happy to read about your success with this pattern, since I have it in my stash. (Also learning from others who post here, I know I have to resist buying, and sew from what I have, and then buy more.
7/1/13 10:59 AM
persevering said...
Could you please be a bit more specific on why, having chosen size F, you then sewed size E? Thank you.
7/1/13 11:02 AM
Renren said...
Persevering, I'm going to modify the review to cover this decision making process a little better--probably not until tomorrow since I'm in the middle of something. Basically, the F muslin was a little too big in the usual places. Crotch curves were too long, there was bunching of fabric at the lower front crotch below the zipper, legs were too long, and there was a near fit in the circumferences of waist and thigh. However, my muslin was in muslin and I knew from experience that the denim with lycra would stretch a bit on wearing. My main concern was the bunching at lower front crotch and when I checked the measurements (measured the pattern) I realized I could "get away" with an E. Partly, too, I know that the Vogue SB patterns tend to be a little big on me even taking pattern/my measurements into account. So I have a) pattern runs a little large, b) too much fabric at lower crotch, and c) my denim has lycra and these 3 factors were the drivers to sizing down to an E. Hope that helps until I can modify the review to address your question in a more organized manner. Thanks for your comment, and thanks to everyone else for your comments. Believe me, if it hadn't been for this contest I might have waited a couple of years before I felt ready to tackle this project.
7/1/13 1:21 PM
sunnysewing said...
I really love the color of these, and you did such an amazing job on them. They look totally store bought! I also especially like the fabric inside the pockets - those details make me smile. I'm so glad they fit you well too!
7/1/13 7:36 PM
persevering said...
Renren, thank you very much for your great reply. Please do not spend more efforts to amend your review, you have already done so much. In fact, I had already commented 'very helpful' regarding your review. Now your review with your added response to me together give a lot more understanding how one can achieve a better fit with this pattern. Congratulations on your amazing pants and your very helpful review! And all your photographs are greatly appreciated too.
7/2/13 10:49 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW! These are just PERFECT in every single respect, and your photos are always such a joy to behold. I LOVE the detail on the back pockets. :o)
7/3/13 0:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Burda 2461

photo
by: TaylorMade...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now