Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Fashion Sewing Group: 1945 (Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 2836 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 32 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/16/05 4:57 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Julia in NC said...
very professional looking and elegant
4/16/05 5:05 PM
Peggy L said...
Kay - beautiful jacket. You did a great job. How about a picture of the sleeve vents?
4/16/05 5:18 PM
els said...
Thanks for the review, your jackets is gorgeous tailor made. I use a lot of the same tailoring techniques as you described.
4/16/05 5:36 PM
Patti B said...
Lovely jacket. You and karmeng make a great sewing team -- betweeb the 2 reviews ALL is revealed!
4/16/05 5:47 PM
Eli said...
As you other jackets, this one is also awesome in craftsmanship and detail! If you don't minf, can you elaborate on the technique for the cap, I don't think I understood it and it seems to prodice superb results.
4/16/05 6:06 PM
jlg said...
Great job. The details are very well done. Thanks for the thorough review.
4/16/05 6:37 PM
lmg said...
What a beautiful jacket! Thank you very much for this detailed review. Both this review and the one by karmeng are much appreciated.
4/16/05 9:05 PM
Liana said...
Beautiful jacket, and what a helpful, detailed review you've written! Thanks for all the great tips, and the sleeve cap technique sounds marvelous.
4/16/05 10:09 PM
Lori V said...
great job
4/16/05 10:18 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this very detailed & informative review. The jacket is very elegant! Now I must read karmeng's review. (8^D)
4/17/05 0:00 AM
kathi s said...
Beautiful jacket- I envy your mastery of the pattern. Faced with several problems that might have cowed me, you worked your way through to a great conclusion
4/17/05 0:03 AM
Linda E. said...
Beautiful jacket love you details, very helpful review, sounds like it was a fun project to share.
4/17/05 5:53 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Kay...you've done such a great job on the tailoring, and in writing the review. Did you have to remark your pocket placement on one of your front pieces and forgot that you had raised them 1 1/2"? One pocket looks 1 1/2" higher than the other. Or is this an optical illusion?
4/17/05 6:17 AM
Raewyn Hayes said...
Thanks for the instructive and even handed review. I am wondering if perhaps the front lining piece is cut on such an odd angle so you can use a RTW technique as outlined in Threads #108 ("Where Lining Meets Facing" by Allison Page). However, if there are no instructions to reflect this technique, the shaping is of little use.
4/17/05 6:22 AM
blue mooney said...
some very good information in your review, thanks. Your jacket is beautiful, but I don't think you told us if it makes you "powerful" or not.
4/17/05 7:12 AM
JoleneF said...
Your jacket is stunning and you did a great review!
4/17/05 8:24 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Gorgeous! I know you'll get a lot of use out of this jacket.
4/17/05 8:51 AM
MickeyFan said...
Excellent review. Your jacket turned out beautifully! I had much the same experience as you. I had a good outcome but I kept wondering what the $20 pattern price was for.
4/17/05 10:32 AM
marjenann said...
Magnificent jacket!! The review was also very impressive!
4/17/05 11:16 AM
petra said...
I love this jacket, but reading your instructions I think that it is beyond my skills at the moment!. I am sure that you have lots of compliments when you wear it. Terrific job.
4/17/05 1:55 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Beautiful and yet powerful. I love the color. I bet it would make a lovely suit with pants or a skirt. It's very RTW and expensive looking.
4/17/05 2:06 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I wish you had reviewed this pattern about two years ago when I made it!!! Nonetheless, your jacket looks great and all of your modifications worked out well.
4/17/05 7:14 PM
CarolynGM said...
Thank you so much for sharing all your tailoring details with us. Your skill is evident in this gorgeous jacket.
4/17/05 8:34 PM
redhead said...
Great review and a wonderful jacket. You have given me some food for thought for my next 1945 project. Thanks!
4/18/05 8:51 AM
Tina Rathbone said...
Your work is stunning. This one's beyond my grasp, but what a timeless jacket you've made. I've saved this review in my "Favorites" in case I ever attempt a tailored jacket ... one of my sewing 'dreams.' :)
9/13/05 4:05 PM
AllNewtoMe said...
I'm new to sewing and this is very inspiring to me!
10/10/10 6:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 1756 Misses' Jacket
photo
Review by sewmytime on 10/4/13
Read Review

McCalls 6610 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6610 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3588 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3588 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2009-120
photo
Review by Kim12469 on 5/11/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Louey Boxers Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Louey Boxers Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us