Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8916 (Misses' Jacket, Top, Dress and Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 416 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:frozensouth
photo
About frozensouthstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 1/24/10
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/13 5:26 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
brissmith said...
I love the fabric. Even white would look nice with it perhaps?
6/29/13 7:11 AM
frozensouth said...
Unfortunately there is some off-white in it so white on top would just make it look dirty
6/29/13 7:27 AM
msschiel said...
Love the fabric!
6/29/13 8:47 AM
caper81 said...
I love your skirt! Why apologize? :) It looks cute & summery, and fits you very nicely. I'm sure you'll come across a suitable top. Atta tackle that serger (I borrowed my mother's and have yet to even learn to use it!) :)
6/29/13 8:56 AM
Christas said...
Super cute and I love the fabric! A solid colored top in one of the colors of the skirt would look great for an outfit!
6/29/13 9:29 AM
cleverkitty said...
Really cute statement skirt not sure what you mean by by insane design? Has that Lilly Pulitzer element of color and print. The colors of the skirt offer so much to choose as a top backdrop I especially like it with black. Be patient with your sewing it's not something that your born with, I laugh when people apologize that they don't sew... like it's a gene your born with. Good Luck and keep sewing things happen when you don't give up :)
6/29/13 9:34 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Love the fabric! Don't apologize for it! The skirt fits you beautifully!
6/29/13 10:05 AM
frozensouth said...
Thank you all so much for your kind remarks and encouragement. It has spurred me on. I'm cutting out a top now!
6/29/13 10:25 AM
Morisot said...
I agree with everyone--love the fabric. And you've made it into a beautiful skirt. ( caper81 - I keep wondering about getting a serger too.)
6/29/13 10:53 AM
canei said...
Very nice! Love the fabric.
6/29/13 1:10 PM
CrazyRed said...
I love the print - looks fun, quirky and feminine. The skirt looks beautiful. Maybe you can try pairing it with a chambray top, a denim jacket or shirt, or coral tank? :)
6/29/13 1:28 PM
Legal.Dealer said...
I would go with a blue or aqua (whatever that gorgeous bit of color is) in a tank, and a black jacket. OR reverse!! It's the print that made look at your review, I love the print. Fits perfect, I hope you get a lot of wear out of your efforts!
6/29/13 1:40 PM
wineyjudy said...
I love the print too! Very nice skirt!
6/29/13 8:35 PM
SassySan said...
I love the fabric too! It is because of the fabric that I have now put the pattern on my wish list!!
6/29/13 11:39 PM
Hilary said...
I think you look great in this! But I have to say your review just made me laugh so hard!! Thanks for the smiles :o)
6/29/13 11:52 PM
susanbanks said...
Love the fabric. On sale at John Lewis means that you MUST buy it! How about branching out with view A (jacket, no pesky collar to fiddle with) in the background colour (is it navy or black?) with a contrast lining in the coral or turquoise colour?
6/30/13 1:42 AM
frozensouth said...
Oh you are all so kind! I am very touched. I will be out shopping later today and will take a scrap of fabric with me so that I can match it. I am now about half way through the top in a very bold printed linen which feels wonderful. Jacket after this, I promise. All this has made me realise that my sewing should be a bit more goal directed - i.e. by thoughts of what I will wear. Thank you all.
6/30/13 2:06 AM
JuliN said...
I love the fabric too.
6/30/13 7:05 AM
katlew03 said...
I don't have time to read many reviews, but your skirt caught my eye. Gorgeous print. Love the colors and the way the flowers are placed.
6/30/13 2:06 PM
SewOm said...
Your skirt is inspiring me. I have a similar fabric and I've been waiting for the right use for it. Maybe it would look good as good as your skirt.
7/8/13 2:14 PM
frozensouth said...
I think you should, yes! It's a really easy pattern and you'll be wearing it in a couple of days! All the best SewOM
7/8/13 3:51 PM
HRigg said...
Love the fabric. Must get back to John Lewis. How about the jacket in the same material if they still have it. Bit bright perhaps but would be distinctive! Carry on enjoying your sewing.
7/8/13 4:18 PM
frozensouth said...
Went to JL Ox again today. As disappointing as ever fabric wise. Such a pity - the staff are so fabulously friendly and helpful. Berwick Street and Goldhawk Road are so much more exciting though.
7/9/13 5:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Amy Butler AB033AT Anna Tunic
photo
Review by Sew Mother... on 4/15/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2812
photo
Review by zazzie on 3/23/10
Read Review

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1757 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1757 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3736 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3736 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us