SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6747 (Misses' Top and Dresses)

11 more reviews
Viewed 694 times 
Reviewed by:ArtAttack
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ArtAttackstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/11
Reviews written: 155
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 85 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/13 10:54 PM
Last Updated:6/29/13 11:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
valerie sews said...
Sorry it didn't work for you. This is a cute pattern and the placket detail makes it. They can be a hassle though..
6/29/13 11:11 PM
atymonw said...
You look fabulous in that dress, placket or no:)
6/30/13 0:28 AM
SewWil said...
The end result is super cute. I love the orange contrast. I keep coming back to this pattern but the placket sends me running away. My only placket experience was over 30 years ago and my Mom saved the day by sewing the placket for me. Your review reminded me of that. Good for you for persisting.
6/30/13 3:04 AM
pdiddly said...
I agree you look fab in this
6/30/13 4:05 AM
Anne Cherry said...
The colours are wonderful, as is the shape. I hear you re plackets....fiddly fiddly fiddly!!
6/30/13 6:51 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Your dress is soooo cute! This pattern is really calling me name. Thanks for the heads up about the placket.
6/30/13 7:37 AM
MrsCharisma said...
It fits SO well! I think it looks just fine, that placket :)
6/30/13 7:44 AM
Re Becca said...
Hey, plackets are difficult! But th placket and those buttons really make a wonderful accent on this. It fit you perfectly and looks so comfy. I hope you can forget the problems and enjoy wearing it because it looks great.
6/30/13 8:03 AM
caper81 said...
Wow, I love the colour of this dress, and the orange contrast buttons and thread! I think it looks great on you! Sorry to hear the placket gave you so much grief. I've never sewn a placket, but if I do, I'll make sure I do some homework first . Yeah, sometimes patterns instructions are less than adequate :)
6/30/13 8:09 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
No one will notice the imperfections with such fun colors! Hope you can enjoy it - I think its cute.
6/30/13 8:18 AM
cleverkitty said...
THIS is SO cute and I agree the end results no mater how you got there will stay on PR!!!! You confirmed mother's law, DD new sewer brings me her clothes to fix I'm anxious to make them right for fear she will get discouraged. Mention placket to DH and he will immediately tugs his shirt right of center.... unfunny joke to me ;/
6/30/13 8:44 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
It looks both chic and cozy, which is hard to pull off, but you've scared me off on this one! I've had the pattern lying on the striped fabric I bought for it since seeing cocosloft's pretty version. I especially love the orange edging. Enjoy it- you'll forget the placket woes soon enough!
6/30/13 10:30 AM
grays08 said...
Very cute dress. Here I was scared of the enormous ease on this pattern (I had a vision of a bag), but it looks like if you size down maybe that's not an issue, just the infamous placket. I'm going to try this thing out and investigate the placket. Those are the kind of things that frustrated the he** out of me but always make me want to try. Thanks for reviewing this, because it's really cute, and I was SO scared about the ease on this one after looking at the pattern pieces.
6/30/13 10:57 AM
Barbara V said...
Very cute, especially with orange thread trim. The placket issue you encountered doesn't really show!! Just wear it and wear it!!!! Enjoy!
6/30/13 11:28 AM
ArtAttack said...
Thanks for all the comments. It's encouraging to know I'm not the only one who is plagued by plackets. I will watch for future reviews on this one and hope someone does a placket tutorial...hint, hint. ;)
6/30/13 12:05 PM
Jrhee said...
The placket looks fine to me! The dress is so darn cute on you! (There is a good tutorial on plackets in a Threads magazine late last year that breaks down the steps well. Not sure if it is the same kind, but it is here: http://www.threadsmagazine.com/item/25307/how-to-make-a-precision-placket/page/all
6/30/13 12:12 PM
Merche said...
We all have our sewing "black beasts" donŽt we? No matter how I improve my sewing, round shirt hems will always be mine. I like the final product, and I think youŽll wear this a lot!
6/30/13 12:19 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Oh it's really cute! I too haven't made a placket in years and afraid to try.
6/30/13 12:22 PM
CissieW said...
It looks so cute to me! I don't notice any placket issues and I'm betting no one else will either! I hear you about wishing your mother was around to help out! I miss mine all the time -- especially when I'm sewing!
6/30/13 4:06 PM
ak21 said...
simple but great. i love the contrast buttons!!
6/30/13 4:20 PM
carolynw said...
May have been troublesome but you look wonderful in this dress - hope you wear it a lot
6/30/13 6:43 PM
MichelleGP said...
Funny, I can't see anything wrong with your placket. I agree with everyone else, color, fit is great, looks really cute on you. If mine turned out like yours I would think"Success"!
6/30/13 10:18 PM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Plackets are on the "to avoid" list for so many of us. Glad Jrhee provided the link to a Threads how-to. Thanks. I love your purple and orange dress - it fits well and looks very comfy - enjoy it. (Your secret's safe with us, LOL)
7/1/13 0:29 AM
liliv said...
Great color combination and lovely outfit! I don't like sewing plackets either:)
7/1/13 2:36 AM
trinicity said...
great review!!!
7/1/13 3:35 PM
cocosloft said...
Cute dress! Ah...you know I bypassed the placket entirely. I was afraid to even try that skinny plavket in a knit. Kudos to you for trying and ending up with such a fun look.
7/1/13 5:36 PM
Annette1 said...
TH-E-E-E-R-E she is, MISS America -- looking FABULOUS, as always. This dress is DARLING, no two ways about it, and that INCLUDES the EEEEEEVIL placket. :o)
7/3/13 0:46 AM
MNBarb said...
This is so cute on you!
6/12/14 11:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

PerfectFuse Sheer White

PerfectFuse Sheer White

Buy Now
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now
Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2011-20

photo
by: Ejegmama

Review