SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Colette Patterns> 1005 (Beignet)

51 more reviews
Viewed 211 times 
Reviewed by:sunnysewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sunnysewingstarstar
WI United States
Member since: 5/4/12
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/13 1:01 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sunnysewing said...
Ah, thanks KathleenS! I'm not sure where I picked it up. I'll have to try out some Sewaholic patterns. I would love just once to have something fit out of the envelope. I'm working on slopers though so I can hopefully get a better fit in the future from most patterns. so time consuming but it will be worth it. Thanks so much for the suggestion
7/7/13 11:04 AM
KathleenS said...
I'm sorry this pattern was so much trouble for you. I was lucky - the sizing seemed to work for me. By the way, I don't think Colette are designed for pear shapes - I think you're confusing them with Sewaholic. Colette design for a C-cup and I think I've seen them say that they design for the modern figure or something, but not pears. You'll see the difference if you compare the Colette and Sewaholic size charts' waist to hip ratios.
7/6/13 4:51 AM
sunnysewing said...
Thanks Renren! I'll have to check out that review. The metal ruler sounds like a superb idea. And thanks liliv - perseverance is not a usual quality of mine! lol ;-)
7/1/13 10:02 AM
Renren said...
Altercations for alterations--very funny wordplay! (lol) Yes, I frequently engage in altercations with sewing projects myself. Well, lovely color. I do know with some tightly woven polyesters I have realized the fewer seams, the better. It's like the fabric needs wide expanses of room to 'do its thing." I noticed SueT sewed some nylon microfiber pants and mentioned using a microtex needle as well as a metal ruler to help press out the seams. I wonder if these things might help (StyleArc lounge pant pattern reviewed this a.m.). Those buttons are great==placement looks perfect but that's a months worth of Sundays to get those done, and done so well.
7/1/13 9:58 AM
liliv said...
I love it! I would do the same with the fake buttons if I wanted to make this style of skirt:) But this way looks much better so your hard work paid off.
7/1/13 2:17 AM
sunnysewing said...
That is a great idea pammieh; I wish I would have thought of the same. At first it seems daunting with so many pieces but after the initial cutting, the sewing part does go fast... until the buttons lol!
6/30/13 3:39 PM
pammieh said...
Thanks for the tips - and I agree with your advice about the fake buttons - I have this pattern and am worried about all the button placement. I am going to use my sloper and adapt the pattern to my existing sloper.
6/30/13 2:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns V7917

photo
by: Baja Susan...

Review
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

More Info
PerfectFuse Sheer White

PerfectFuse Sheer White

More Info
McCall's 4769

photo
by: DKG

Review