SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1806 (Misses Top)

21 more reviews
Viewed 371 times 
Reviewed by:Danmar
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danmar
Member since: 11/3/11
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/13 5:58 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AuntieShel said...
Your top is adorable, I'm glad you are liking it better as you are wearing it. Your review is timely for me as I am planning on making this top. I think the back of your top looks exactly like the line drawing on the envelope back, but I can see how it is problematic in the wearing. So glad you pointed this out. Maybe taking the pleat out and using only the front cowl would help? As for your fabric puckering, I think that is a property of very tightly woven polys. Not sure how to fix--you could try using a longer stitch length and stretching as you sew, but this is just a guess.
7/4/13 8:12 PM
AuntieShel said...
Oh, one more thought, did you try a size 60 microtex sharp needle?
7/4/13 8:13 PM
Danmar said...
I used a 90/14 microtex, but did not try a longer stitch or stretching. I am getting more of this fabric and I am determined to make a nice seam!
7/4/13 9:26 PM
katlew03 said...
Your top turned out much better than mine. Still have not reviewed it because I really don't like it. I thought it was the fabric but maybe it is the pattern. Anyway, I think yours looks very nice.
7/5/13 0:04 AM
Rosews13 said...
I made this view too and it looked awful on me until I shaped it and removed the crazy collar and recut it on the bias. Still not that great. It looked like a giant trough that stuck out even though the fabric was soft. They have really pulled the top up towards the neck on the model. It is much wider in reality and with a V back it shifts around a lot. Just plain bad design.
7/5/13 2:17 AM
Renren said...
I think it does look cute as photographed but the real test is in the wearing, isn't it? When I look at the pattern, I see a top that's trying to be streamlined in some views and full and blousy in others, so maybe it's just not doing any single thing really well? I think I will stay away from this one but I do wish you luck in getting the outcome you want.
7/5/13 4:20 PM
aunrea said...
I think your top looks nice. I have used JoAnn's "Simply Silky Prints" before and had the same problem until I change the presser foot pressure and then I stopped having puckering. You might want to try that.
7/11/13 5:33 PM
Sauvage said...
The drape is very pretty--your fabric seems like a great choice for this pattern. One thing I've found helpful for slippery fabrics is using adhesive. (I used an expensive spray adhesive, but it's quite possible that a washable glue stick would work the same way!) It keeps things together more firmly than pins or clips.
9/2/13 10:56 AM
shazam410 said...
The top came out real cute. I think the collar looks real nice. I always use silk thread when sewing silk or silk types. You also have to adjust stitch length and french seams are always a nice touch and you won't have a pucker. Hope this helps.
5/11/14 1:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Simplicity Sew U

photo
by: House of P...

Review
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Other Tessuti Lily linen dress

photo
by: rivergum

Review