Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 1806 (Misses Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 313 times 20 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Danmar
photo
Friend of PR
About Danmar
FL USA
Member since: 11/3/11
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/13 5:58 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AuntieShel said...
Your top is adorable, I'm glad you are liking it better as you are wearing it. Your review is timely for me as I am planning on making this top. I think the back of your top looks exactly like the line drawing on the envelope back, but I can see how it is problematic in the wearing. So glad you pointed this out. Maybe taking the pleat out and using only the front cowl would help? As for your fabric puckering, I think that is a property of very tightly woven polys. Not sure how to fix--you could try using a longer stitch length and stretching as you sew, but this is just a guess.
7/4/13 8:12 PM
AuntieShel said...
Oh, one more thought, did you try a size 60 microtex sharp needle?
7/4/13 8:13 PM
Danmar said...
I used a 90/14 microtex, but did not try a longer stitch or stretching. I am getting more of this fabric and I am determined to make a nice seam!
7/4/13 9:26 PM
katlew03 said...
Your top turned out much better than mine. Still have not reviewed it because I really don't like it. I thought it was the fabric but maybe it is the pattern. Anyway, I think yours looks very nice.
7/5/13 0:04 AM
Rosews13 said...
I made this view too and it looked awful on me until I shaped it and removed the crazy collar and recut it on the bias. Still not that great. It looked like a giant trough that stuck out even though the fabric was soft. They have really pulled the top up towards the neck on the model. It is much wider in reality and with a V back it shifts around a lot. Just plain bad design.
7/5/13 2:17 AM
Renren said...
I think it does look cute as photographed but the real test is in the wearing, isn't it? When I look at the pattern, I see a top that's trying to be streamlined in some views and full and blousy in others, so maybe it's just not doing any single thing really well? I think I will stay away from this one but I do wish you luck in getting the outcome you want.
7/5/13 4:20 PM
aunrea said...
I think your top looks nice. I have used JoAnn's "Simply Silky Prints" before and had the same problem until I change the presser foot pressure and then I stopped having puckering. You might want to try that.
7/11/13 5:33 PM
Sauvage said...
The drape is very pretty--your fabric seems like a great choice for this pattern. One thing I've found helpful for slippery fabrics is using adhesive. (I used an expensive spray adhesive, but it's quite possible that a washable glue stick would work the same way!) It keeps things together more firmly than pins or clips.
9/2/13 10:56 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Butterick 5756 Misses Skirt
photo
Review by mimi g. on 3/9/12
Read Review

McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1649 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1649 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 1812
photo
Review by Sblk211 on 8/10/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )
Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us