SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1353 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Dress)

18 more reviews
Viewed 617 times 
Reviewed by:sunnysewer
photo

 
 
About sunnysewerstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/3/09
Reviews written: 89
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/13 11:50 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
I disagree and think the chunkier shoulders balance the skirt nicely. The pleated skirt is lovely and I love this style of neckline. I think I have this same poplin fabric. It's a tough one to match with a pattern since it has some crispness. That said, I really like your dress. The details all give a nice illusion of an hourglass silhouette so everyone who wears it can look like Marilyn Monroe!
7/2/13 12:08 PM
a life in stitches said...
Great dress - I think the proportions are right for you.
7/2/13 12:33 PM
CissieW said...
Sorry that you're not happy with your dress. But I think it looks very nice on you. I agree about the skirt being the best part!
7/2/13 1:58 PM
Re Becca said...
I like the shoulders and neckline with the skirt. I think its perfect for a light weight cotton lawn, can't imagine it in dupioni. I agree about those bust darts, seriously, who do they think we are? I hope it grows on you, I think its very flattering and I just love the color on you.
7/2/13 2:47 PM
frozensouth said...
This is absolutely amazing. I was desperate for someone to make it and photograph it so we can see the pleats. I love it. The wide shoulder straps are just right. I am so sad that you say it's difficult to fit as I am a beginner. I already have this pattern but I won't attempt it until I have a few others under my belt. Congratulations. Just beautiful
7/2/13 3:07 PM
mnitts said...
Currently in Portugal Beth having a fab time but couldn't resist commenting to say I absolutely love this dress for its beautiful feminine shape and details. I think you look stunning in it. Wish I had got it in my last vogue sale lot but dare not now!
7/2/13 3:39 PM
aaltje said...
I think the dress is beautiful, I love the colour, the design, but I also do understand your "shoulder problem". It is not visible on the dress form, the proportions are right, but it looks a bit different on you. Not bad though, not at all, I think it is a very pretty dress on you - your dress makes me want the pattern, that's how much I like it. It is a pity that it just didn't turn out as expected, I know the feeling ;)
7/2/13 4:26 PM
cleverkitty said...
yes I agree with aaltje the dress in it's self looks fine but on your small frame the width of the shoulder straps could have been less Your sewing is just beautiful I love the details you provided Excellent Review as always :)
7/2/13 7:27 PM
Aafke said...
What a great dress! I ordered this pattern and now I can't wait for it to get here. I think the shoulder straps look fine and the dress looks very good on you.
7/3/13 2:13 AM
frozensouth said...
I just had another look at this. Definitely nothing wrong with your shoulder straps. You definitely need different shoes with it but I'm sure you worked that out for yourself!
7/3/13 4:41 AM
NC Carol said...
Great review. Thanks for opining on the fabrics suggested. This helps me cuz I have a similar New Look pattern and was wondering about fabrics for it.
7/3/13 9:05 AM
staymay said...
Thanks so much for doing this review. I've had this pattern for a little while and just was too intimidated to try it ithout seeing someone else's end result first. I think your dress is beautiful! Sounded like a lot of work. I agree with MNBarb. The dress has a nice hourglass look. Nice job!
7/3/13 10:33 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
I always enjoy reading your reviews and you make such lovely dresses. I think your fabric is great! The color is beautiful and really shows off the pleating.
7/3/13 12:00 PM
Hilary said...
love your dress! The color is so pretty-I like yours far better than the pattern photo :o)
7/4/13 11:41 PM
Seweemama said...
I love the dress and think it looks wonderful on you!!
7/5/13 10:27 AM
JayG said...
I love the look! I am making it in a daring fabric of some shantung weight unknown fabric. I'm making it for a well proprtioned friend so I hope the fit works. I have her bra on my dress model so i"ll try and fit it like you have suggested.
12/31/13 5:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2005-110

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Simplicity 2413

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now