Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1353 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 546 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:sunnysewer
photo
About sunnysewerstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/3/09
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 54 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/13 11:50 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $32.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
I disagree and think the chunkier shoulders balance the skirt nicely. The pleated skirt is lovely and I love this style of neckline. I think I have this same poplin fabric. It's a tough one to match with a pattern since it has some crispness. That said, I really like your dress. The details all give a nice illusion of an hourglass silhouette so everyone who wears it can look like Marilyn Monroe!
7/2/13 12:08 PM
a life in stitches said...
Great dress - I think the proportions are right for you.
7/2/13 12:33 PM
CissieW said...
Sorry that you're not happy with your dress. But I think it looks very nice on you. I agree about the skirt being the best part!
7/2/13 1:58 PM
Re Becca said...
I like the shoulders and neckline with the skirt. I think its perfect for a light weight cotton lawn, can't imagine it in dupioni. I agree about those bust darts, seriously, who do they think we are? I hope it grows on you, I think its very flattering and I just love the color on you.
7/2/13 2:47 PM
frozensouth said...
This is absolutely amazing. I was desperate for someone to make it and photograph it so we can see the pleats. I love it. The wide shoulder straps are just right. I am so sad that you say it's difficult to fit as I am a beginner. I already have this pattern but I won't attempt it until I have a few others under my belt. Congratulations. Just beautiful
7/2/13 3:07 PM
mnitts said...
Currently in Portugal Beth having a fab time but couldn't resist commenting to say I absolutely love this dress for its beautiful feminine shape and details. I think you look stunning in it. Wish I had got it in my last vogue sale lot but dare not now!
7/2/13 3:39 PM
aaltje said...
I think the dress is beautiful, I love the colour, the design, but I also do understand your "shoulder problem". It is not visible on the dress form, the proportions are right, but it looks a bit different on you. Not bad though, not at all, I think it is a very pretty dress on you - your dress makes me want the pattern, that's how much I like it. It is a pity that it just didn't turn out as expected, I know the feeling ;)
7/2/13 4:26 PM
cleverkitty said...
yes I agree with aaltje the dress in it's self looks fine but on your small frame the width of the shoulder straps could have been less Your sewing is just beautiful I love the details you provided Excellent Review as always :)
7/2/13 7:27 PM
Aafke said...
What a great dress! I ordered this pattern and now I can't wait for it to get here. I think the shoulder straps look fine and the dress looks very good on you.
7/3/13 2:13 AM
frozensouth said...
I just had another look at this. Definitely nothing wrong with your shoulder straps. You definitely need different shoes with it but I'm sure you worked that out for yourself!
7/3/13 4:41 AM
NC Carol said...
Great review. Thanks for opining on the fabrics suggested. This helps me cuz I have a similar New Look pattern and was wondering about fabrics for it.
7/3/13 9:05 AM
staymay said...
Thanks so much for doing this review. I've had this pattern for a little while and just was too intimidated to try it ithout seeing someone else's end result first. I think your dress is beautiful! Sounded like a lot of work. I agree with MNBarb. The dress has a nice hourglass look. Nice job!
7/3/13 10:33 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
I always enjoy reading your reviews and you make such lovely dresses. I think your fabric is great! The color is beautiful and really shows off the pleating.
7/3/13 12:00 PM
Hilary said...
love your dress! The color is so pretty-I like yours far better than the pattern photo :o)
7/4/13 11:41 PM
Seweemama said...
I love the dress and think it looks wonderful on you!!
7/5/13 10:27 AM
JayG said...
I love the look! I am making it in a daring fabric of some shantung weight unknown fabric. I'm making it for a well proprtioned friend so I hope the fit works. I have her bra on my dress model so i"ll try and fit it like you have suggested.
12/31/13 5:01 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Vogue Patterns 2945 MISSES' TOP
photo
Review by Jrhee on 6/5/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Ice Cream Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Ice Cream Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Moss Mini Skirt
Moss Mini Skirt

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6891
photo
Review by Karen31 on 1/20/10
Read Review

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

WhatNots
WhatNots

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1197 Pattern( Size )
Vogue 1197 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 2767 Pattern
Burda 2767 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us