SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1353 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Dress)

19 more reviews
Viewed 633 times 
Reviewed by:sunnysewer
photo

 
 
About sunnysewerstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/3/09
Reviews written: 93
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/13 11:50 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
I disagree and think the chunkier shoulders balance the skirt nicely. The pleated skirt is lovely and I love this style of neckline. I think I have this same poplin fabric. It's a tough one to match with a pattern since it has some crispness. That said, I really like your dress. The details all give a nice illusion of an hourglass silhouette so everyone who wears it can look like Marilyn Monroe!
7/2/13 12:08 PM
a life in stitches said...
Great dress - I think the proportions are right for you.
7/2/13 12:33 PM
CissieW said...
Sorry that you're not happy with your dress. But I think it looks very nice on you. I agree about the skirt being the best part!
7/2/13 1:58 PM
Re Becca said...
I like the shoulders and neckline with the skirt. I think its perfect for a light weight cotton lawn, can't imagine it in dupioni. I agree about those bust darts, seriously, who do they think we are? I hope it grows on you, I think its very flattering and I just love the color on you.
7/2/13 2:47 PM
frozensouth said...
This is absolutely amazing. I was desperate for someone to make it and photograph it so we can see the pleats. I love it. The wide shoulder straps are just right. I am so sad that you say it's difficult to fit as I am a beginner. I already have this pattern but I won't attempt it until I have a few others under my belt. Congratulations. Just beautiful
7/2/13 3:07 PM
mnitts said...
Currently in Portugal Beth having a fab time but couldn't resist commenting to say I absolutely love this dress for its beautiful feminine shape and details. I think you look stunning in it. Wish I had got it in my last vogue sale lot but dare not now!
7/2/13 3:39 PM
aaltje said...
I think the dress is beautiful, I love the colour, the design, but I also do understand your "shoulder problem". It is not visible on the dress form, the proportions are right, but it looks a bit different on you. Not bad though, not at all, I think it is a very pretty dress on you - your dress makes me want the pattern, that's how much I like it. It is a pity that it just didn't turn out as expected, I know the feeling ;)
7/2/13 4:26 PM
cleverkitty said...
yes I agree with aaltje the dress in it's self looks fine but on your small frame the width of the shoulder straps could have been less Your sewing is just beautiful I love the details you provided Excellent Review as always :)
7/2/13 7:27 PM
Aafke said...
What a great dress! I ordered this pattern and now I can't wait for it to get here. I think the shoulder straps look fine and the dress looks very good on you.
7/3/13 2:13 AM
frozensouth said...
I just had another look at this. Definitely nothing wrong with your shoulder straps. You definitely need different shoes with it but I'm sure you worked that out for yourself!
7/3/13 4:41 AM
NC Carol said...
Great review. Thanks for opining on the fabrics suggested. This helps me cuz I have a similar New Look pattern and was wondering about fabrics for it.
7/3/13 9:05 AM
staymay said...
Thanks so much for doing this review. I've had this pattern for a little while and just was too intimidated to try it ithout seeing someone else's end result first. I think your dress is beautiful! Sounded like a lot of work. I agree with MNBarb. The dress has a nice hourglass look. Nice job!
7/3/13 10:33 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
I always enjoy reading your reviews and you make such lovely dresses. I think your fabric is great! The color is beautiful and really shows off the pleating.
7/3/13 12:00 PM
Hilary said...
love your dress! The color is so pretty-I like yours far better than the pattern photo :o)
7/4/13 11:41 PM
Seweemama said...
I love the dress and think it looks wonderful on you!!
7/5/13 10:27 AM
JayG said...
I love the look! I am making it in a daring fabric of some shantung weight unknown fabric. I'm making it for a well proprtioned friend so I hope the fit works. I have her bra on my dress model so i"ll try and fit it like you have suggested.
12/31/13 5:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

McCall's 6399

photo
by: Bonnie O

Review
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Buy Now
JSM-Pant 1

JSM-Pant 1

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-114

photo
by: grays08

Review