Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewaholic Patterns: 1203 (Thurlow Trousers) thumbsup - Type:Shorts    printable version
Viewed 691 times 34 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/13 2:51 PM
Last Updated:7/7/13 6:12 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Shorts    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $17.98 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $17.98     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sunnysewing said...
cute shorts!
7/4/13 2:57 PM
Karendee said...
Christa, you look just adorable in your perfectly made shorts. The style does look a bit dressier while still being casual attire. I think the details sets this pattern apart from a generic shorts look. Love the little print sash to match the facing and you did an amazing job on the welt pockets. Congratulations in getting down to your sewing studio to produce such a fine garment. Glad you are making Thurlow #2, now.
7/4/13 3:38 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW-WEE, Christa! You look like a MILLION BUCKS in these shorts, just as I KNEW you would. I REALLY like everything about them, from the length, to the bottom width at the leg, and all of those WONDERFUL details that really take these a step above the "average" shorts -- ha! And the little BELT you made to go with them sets them off BEAUTIFULLY. I can't wait to see the black denim pair. :o)
7/4/13 3:56 PM
sew2little said...
Great shorts, Christa! As usual for you, the fit and sewing are superb!
7/4/13 4:19 PM
Barbara V said...
SO NICE, Christa! First, it's SO NICE to see your review after your sewing hiatus and know that you are finding some sewing moments! Secondly, your shorts turned out SO NICE! They really fit well and the style details elevate them to a lovely fashionable garment. Finally, the way you have fashioned them is SO NICE! Cute belt and those shoes/sandals are perfect. Like Annette, I can't wait to see the black denim pair. :o)
7/4/13 4:21 PM
Levone said...
Great looking shorts! Hopefully I'll be able to start on this pattern (pants) over the long weekend.
7/4/13 6:46 PM
carolynw said...
You look absolutely wonderful in these shorts - great body - terrific job on the welts and what more can I say except I so envy you sewing a size 0 but it's good to know in case I want to make a pair for my DIL that the sizing is large on this pattern. Great review - thanks
7/4/13 7:19 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Love the way these shorts fit! Great job! I'll have to look into this pattern. I've never heard of Sewaholic, but I am impressed with your results.
7/4/13 9:18 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Cute shorts and great fit!
7/4/13 9:35 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Your shorts are wonderful! This is my favorite pant and shorts pattern to date. I love your tie belt too.
7/4/13 9:54 PM
Terri A said...
These are great! Very very nice make :)
7/4/13 11:46 PM
BettyMike said...
Okay, you've sold me on this pattern! You look great in these shorts! Thanks for the sizing tip!
7/5/13 0:09 AM
Dilliander said...
Great fit! Your smaller size and crotch length adjustment was perfect. You now have a stylish TNT pattern for shorts.
7/5/13 0:26 AM
Renata said...
I can see why you like the welts, they give the shorts a tailored look, and they certainly look good on you. Do you ever take a bad photo?
7/5/13 5:56 AM
cleverkitty said...
Love your shorts, I was wondering where you have been so glad you posted a review, my problem is posting reviews but I sure do love reading them especially yours :)
7/5/13 9:20 AM
grey ann said...
They fit you so well - look great! Wish you had a picture of the back waist extension. Not sure what you mean??
7/5/13 10:14 AM
Christas said...
Thank you so much for all the nice comments! Grey Ann, the back waist extension is just like you would see in a man's pair of slacks. It's that extra fabric that allows you to take in or let out the pants for more or less room. Sewaholic has incorporated that same concept into their pants pattern. I've now added photos of the pattern piece and instructions to my review to show what this looks like.
7/5/13 11:31 AM
callmeRuth said...
Christa, the shorts look fantastic, and you look fantastic. I have missed you!
7/5/13 1:10 PM
grays08 said...
Fabulous shorts and great/helpful review! I'm a bit of a shorts junkie here lately so I appreciate the details in these. They look great on you, and I would love the length of these for myself too, great pattern.
7/5/13 1:11 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sleek looking pair of shorts, Christa! Classy, yet still looks fun to wear. Very nice work on these.
7/5/13 2:09 PM
Maree P said...
Your shorts look great Christa....beautifully made. You have achieved a great fit.
7/6/13 0:56 AM
blue mooney said...
They look darlin' on you - great fit.
7/6/13 8:29 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
What a perfectly perfect pair of shorts, especially styled with your great scarf. I've seen so much of this pattern around the Internet but none has made me want to try it until seeing yours. Thanks for a great (and very convincing) review.
7/6/13 2:55 PM
HRigg said...
Thanks for this review. Haven't made any shorts, you have given me lots to think about.
7/6/13 4:45 PM
ArtAttack said...
What adorable shorts! Love both versions!
7/7/13 6:33 PM
MrsCharisma said...
AMAZING! These look so good!
7/7/13 9:08 PM
ak21 said...
crazy cute!
7/8/13 6:40 AM
FreyaStark said...
A stylish garment, and beautifully made, too.
7/8/13 8:13 AM
cleverkitty said...
fantastic second version, you sold me on this pattern :) perfect welt!!!!
7/8/13 8:24 AM
MNBarb said...
You are having such great results with this pattern. Both versions are youthful, yet classic. You will never need another shorts pattern! Nice work.
7/8/13 1:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2008-112 B
photo
Review by Birgitte on 1/10/08
Read Review

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5858
photo
Review by optimistic on 1/16/10
Read Review

Butterick 5613 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5613 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse City Dress
Loes Hinse City Dress

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us