SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-119 (Puff Sleeve dress)

5 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 242 times 
Reviewed by:butterflyfly
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About butterflyflystar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 7/31/11
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/6/13 8:11 PM
Last Updated:7/7/13 6:31 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewLibra said...
I think you look quite good in this fabric! The body of the dress fits you well. The sleeves could be modified so that the seamline is at your shoulder line....but sleeves are hard to alter, at least for me. Still, that is the pattern's fault and not yours. You did a great job.
7/6/13 9:01 PM
madbadger said...
I think your dress looks quite lovely - nice esp for first time with a knit (my first knit was a hot mess!).
7/6/13 10:51 PM
PattyE said...
I think you did a super job on your first knit garment. Well done!
7/7/13 0:24 AM
susanbanks said...
Great dress, love the fabric! There's always something lost in translation with those Burda magazine instructions so well done for getting something nice out at the end.
7/7/13 1:59 AM
liliv said...
I like very much your dress, the print is fantastic! I like the sleeves, of course you are right about the hot/chilly day issue but they are pretty!!
7/7/13 5:31 AM
GermanKleinigkeit said...
I didn't really notice this in the Burda magazine. But I very much like your version. And especially on you, I think it suits you wonderful, the colours and the style. Maybe you can catch the right weather to wear it!
7/7/13 8:08 AM
Sew Whatever said...
You may not be a flowery person but the style suits you. Well done.
7/7/13 9:00 AM
butterflyfly said...
Thanks ladies for your kind comments!
7/7/13 9:51 AM
AuntieShel said...
I think your dress is just lovely and you look great in it!! It fits perfectly! Great job for your first knit--they are a different animal than wovens. I wonder if you could skip the underlayer of the sleeve and gather it into a band? It may hang differently but wouldn't be so hot :) !!
7/7/13 3:15 PM
butterflyfly said...
To: AuntieShel -thank you, that's exactly what I'm gonna do for the next dress :)
7/7/13 5:41 PM
caper81 said...
Your first knit dress? Wow, you did a great job! :)
7/8/13 1:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-120

photo
by: jennybaxt

Review
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 5754

photo
by: PattyE

Review