SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1247 (Misses' Top and Skirt)

100 more reviews
Viewed 690 times 
Reviewed by:TJSEWS
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About TJSEWSstar
NJ United States
Member since: 1/7/06
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:7/7/13 5:25 PM
Last Updated:8/5/14 10:11 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 1247 by TJSEWS

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 1247
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Silk Crepe  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Very loose-fitting top

Pattern Sizing: AA (6 through 12) DD (12 through 18). I followed the advice of previous posters and chose one size smaller for the top and it worked out quite well.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Certainly this pattern does not need yet another review! However, since I went through the effort of making it, I will add my two cents.

I really like how comfortable it is.

Fabric Used: Silk crepe de chine purchased from NY Elegant Fabrics, NYC.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I traced the mirror image of the pattern so that I could cut single layer. I find that when working with a fabric as slippery as crepe de chine, this is the best way to obtain accuracy in cutting.

I used 100% cotton thread to avoid / reduce any puckering.

It is important to stabilize the neckline.

I did use all French seams as suggested by the pattern. If you decide to use all French seams, the best way to match the front bottom pieces is to NOT sew the center front first as suggested by the pattern. I initially did follow the instructions of the pattern, and found that by the time I got to attach the fourth piece, there was too much bulk that was skewed to one side. I was unhappy with the result which was super bulky and lopsided.

I then decided to sew the side bottom pieces together first. Once both sets of side pieces are sewn, THEN I sewed the center front. In other words, I sewed pieces 4 and 5 first and then attached at center front. What this did was evenly distribute the bulk so that it was easier to create and join all of the French Seams at that one point. See photos (the first photo is my first attempt using the pattern instructions. The remaining photos are my adaptation): http:/click here

I also found that the best way to gain some control over this slippery fabric was to hand baste all of the seams prior to machine stitching. That way, the fabric would not slip and slide with the motion of the feed dogs.

I added 1 inch to the neckline. I added 5/8 inch to the hem.

To keep the shoulder pleats from getting too poofy, I topstitched them down for 4 inches.

Following the advice of previous posters, I cut the cuffs on the straight grain. The pattern suggests tacking it in a few places but with such a slippery fabric, the cuffs would just flop over so I handstitched them all around with a running stitch.

Would you sew it again? I just may. Next time, I will use a less fussy fabric and avoid the French seams. But for now, I am going to work on the skirt.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes!

Conclusion: This is a great top! However, this is not a top that you should do in a rush due to all of the matching involved and the French seams (if you decide to use French seams). Take your time with it and enjoy the process!
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhoda K said...
Great job handling the fabric!
7/7/13 5:29 PM
Elona said...
It's a beautiful top, and thank you so much for the tips about matching the seams and controlling fullness at the shoulders.
7/7/13 7:11 PM
vaness said...
Yours is a fantastic make of this simple looking, but difficult make well, pattern. The fussy fabric was definitely worth it. The drape of the top is right on. Congratulations!
7/7/13 7:39 PM
evelynhughes said...
What a stunning result - you can tell the time you spend doing it by the beautiful seammatching. Your tip regarding changing the order is gold and I will use it next time I make this top. Again.
7/7/13 8:53 PM
KEcupcakemaker said...
Thank you TJSews for the wonderful instructions. The top looks lovely!
7/7/13 10:50 PM
Elke said...
Very pretty top and it looks great on you. Thanks for the terrific review!
7/8/13 6:12 AM
liliv said...
Perfect style! Simple design and luxurious fabric in this strong color, I like it. I like your necklace as well:)
7/8/13 6:24 AM
MNBarb said...
This is such a hit-or-miss pattern depending on fabric choice. Your periwinkle silk is just perfect and very beautiful!
7/8/13 7:39 AM
jenleeC said...
Your silk top is beautiful! I totally agree with you on the hand-basting for fussy fabrics. It seems to make all the difference to the quality of the finish and I find it ends up being quicker in the long run.
7/8/13 9:41 AM
NewRibena said...
Great fabric choice!
7/8/13 5:08 PM
norie creates said...
Love this top in this fabric! Thanks for the great review too!
7/9/13 8:09 PM
Jrhee said...
Beautiful silk top! Thanks for all the tips in working with it!
7/11/13 11:01 PM
Barbara V said...
What a very pretty top on you in that gorgeous silk crepe de chine. Your good control of the delicate fabric and many detailed steps gave beautiful results. It is obvious that you enjoyed the process!
7/15/13 1:17 PM
MRamos said...
Beautiful top and very informative review!
7/17/13 9:34 PM
marykpfist said...
Thanks for the great tip on order of sewing. Stunning color!
8/5/14 10:20 PM
miausiau said...
I am making another of these right now. You are so right about the major intersection in the front. You can't hide any errors with a solid CDC. Your careful work has produced an elegant and timeless top.
8/6/14 0:44 AM
Deepika said...
Beautiful top. I love the vibrant color of your fabric.
8/6/14 9:37 AM
SewWil said...
Cute top! Great color.
8/6/14 9:18 PM
cleverkitty said...
Love your version of this top, I wear the one I made a lot. I stitched down the shoulder pleats too. Can't have enough reviews on patterns always interesting to see other versions, thanks for posting :)
8/8/14 7:49 AM
Clareew said...
Great review, thank you for your tips.
8/10/14 12:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Vogue Patterns 8088

photo
by: goosegreen

Review
Newport Tote

Newport Tote

Buy Now
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now