SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2005-112 (Twist Top)

41 more reviews
Viewed 1679 times 
Reviewed by:Mbarkle
photo

 
 
About Mbarklestarstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 9/26/02
Reviews written: 105
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 102
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/8/05 2:28 PM
Last Updated:4/8/05 2:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deady said...
Mary, I think this top on you would be very flattering with perhaps a little more room in the bust and some length on front and back, maybe? I love the color, though, and think it is a very flattering style on you.
4/11/05 2:02 PM
MaryBeth said...
Mary, I'd call this a muslin, not a full blown wadder. The next try should nail it! Thanks for a great review.
4/10/05 10:57 PM
Sherril Miller said...
If I get my hands on this issue, I'm going to try to grade up also. The twist top has me intrigued enough to do the work. Thanks for such an informative review.
4/10/05 4:18 PM
AnneM said...
The top front looks reasonable. The top needs to be longer on you, although perhaps the shortness is just because it isn't falling correctly.
4/9/05 10:50 AM
Joyfullife said...
Thanks, Mary. You have the same fitting issues that I do, and I'm glad you tackled this first. I also noticed how well you coordinate with your bathroom!
4/8/05 6:39 PM
Melody said...
Bummer, I can totally relate. I appreciate the work that you've already done. At least I know some of the challenges when I get ready to make this one sized up even further.
4/8/05 6:17 PM
Vonnevo said...
Mary, overall, it looks rather good for a first try with adjustments. The twist section looks great, specially on a full bust. Perhaps a little extra width to the back and less to the front lower section, will make this a winner for you. Don't give up with this one. Would love to see the results of your next try too. I received my magazine here in OZ yesterday and will be making this real soon too :)))
4/8/05 5:56 PM
Dale C said...
After seeing several positive reviewsfor this one I was surprised to see yours Mary... Thanks for the great review. When I get my 05 issue, this is one I want to try.
4/8/05 5:32 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Thanks for the review - I don't think we can have too many reviews of this top. I think we will all end up with at least one!
4/8/05 5:05 PM
cindyann said...
I agree that you are close. Nice color fabric so I'm glad that you have some more. Thanks for the great review.
4/8/05 4:52 PM
tigger said...
Thanks for the review - with this top being as popular as it seems to be, I need all the info I can get before I try it! I think it looks good in the front and am sure you'd get it right next time. thanks for the great review!
4/8/05 4:19 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I would try again - you are very close. I would reduce the length you added to the gathered underbust band to reduce some of the bulk. You clearly need the length over the bust itself but then you could curve up once you reach the gathered section. Then, when you add to the width of the underbust band that will reduce the pulling at the sides and allow the lower front to fall into place. So glad you've done so much of the work here - thanks to you mine will be a piece of cake! :-)
4/8/05 3:53 PM
mudcat said...
I thought the twist portion of the top looked fine. With adjustments for the rest of the top it might work for you. I can't resist commenting on how well you coordinate with your bathroom accessories. :)
4/8/05 3:17 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Mary after all that work you ought to give it another try. Sorry this one didn't work out, but I think it would look very nice with more room.
4/8/05 3:09 PM
Jazzirie said...
Mary great review, I love the color of the fabric. Thanks for sharing
4/8/05 3:06 PM
Jackie M said...
Great review! I noticed that I get a tiny bit of pulling at the side seam, too, so that will have to be a change I make on my next top -- adding a smidgen more to the side seams of both the twist top and the underbust band/extension. Welcome to the Twist Top Club!
4/8/05 2:58 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Bummer, Mary, especially after so much work. Your comments on the scooped out armscye triggered a light bulb moment for me. I'm not experienced enough to have thought about needing to adjust that scoop (or the corresponding sleeve area). Glad I didn't b/c for my forward shoulders, the extra scooped out armsceye makes for a *much* better fit for me than the typical armsceye shape. Think I may make an extra tracing of that for use on other tops.
4/8/05 2:54 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Mary, thank you for a great review. It's interesting to see how the top looks on a full-busted figure. Great comments. I'm sorry it hasn't worked out for you so far, but I really appreciate your candid comments. -Ann
4/8/05 2:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Kwik Sew 3199

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Vogue Patterns 1549

photo
by: becca a

Review
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now