SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6406 (Misses tops and skirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1328 times 
Reviewed by:minieme
photo

 
 
About miniemestar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/29/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 62
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/9/05 5:04 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Dresses    Tops    Formalwear    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Allisonsews said...
I don't agree with DH, the top is darling! Men just don't deal with the empire waist ;) Your tie sounds like a good idea.
4/9/05 7:35 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
You definitely don't look fat! And I bet that Views D and B won't make you look pregnant. I think that illusion is due in great part to the handkerchief hem cut. I tried on some RTW tops like this and the ones with the straight hems were more flattering (on me) than the asymmetric hems. Your top is adorable. -Ann
4/9/05 7:48 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very cute floaty top.
4/9/05 10:28 AM
Mini said...
I think the neckline is flattering, and that is what most people will see first. One thing about synthetic fabrics for this type of garment is that they don't drape as well as rayon, so the fabric sometimes stands away from the body more than you would want. If you try it again in rayon, it might look less maternity. But now that you know this pattern fits well, the other views will be easy to make and probably more slimming too.
4/9/05 11:56 AM
tigger said...
I love your top and the choice of fabric - I think it looks great. And you defintely don't look fat!
4/9/05 3:00 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Ithink that the top looks great on you. Your fabric choice is so gorgeous!!! Thank you for the review.
4/9/05 5:11 PM
AnneM said...
Try the back ties; it won't hurt. Mini has a good point on the way fabrics drape; a rayon might bring you more success.
4/10/05 9:01 AM
Katy Sews said...
I think this looks great on you! I can't wait to try it once I get past the Kwik Sew/Simplicity stage. *baby step* :)
6/25/06 10:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 2980

photo
by: moonshae

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2012-136

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Buy Now