Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3052 (Misses Unitards) thumbsup - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 584 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Dallandra
photo
About Dallandrastar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 2/3/12
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/9/13 6:51 AM
Last Updated:4/15/14 8:42 AM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:Kwik Sew 3052
Kwik Sew Pattern Info

More Info provided by Dallandra

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Activewear    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Nylon-Lycra  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
3 different unitards/catsuits in 1 pattern.

Pattern Sizing:
This pattern goes from XS to XL. I used S to make my catsuit.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, for sure! I changed the zipper to the back (which was easy to do) but it looks still the same.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes it was very easy. They call it Kwik Sew for a very obvious reason: anybody can make it and they provided clear instructions.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like that it's so easy! There are only 3 pattern pieces: front, back and the sleeves. Ok and the collar if you go for View A (like I did).
Also, on the envelope you can measure if your lycra has enough stretch for this pattern.

Fabric Used:
I used a dark blue lycra with a 4-way stretch. I can recommend a 4-way stretch so you won't get in trouble if you cut it wrong or gain a few pounds.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I made the sleeves a bit longer and if I remember correctly I also made the sleeves a bit less wide. Also the zipper went to the back so it wouldn't be visible in my total costume.
I also sewed gloves on in the same lycra.

I made a Kali (as in the Hindu goddess) costume:
Total costume

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
For sure! I am making a Rogue (X-Men) costume with this same pattern and also a catsuit of tricot with a snakeskin pattern. It's so easy and quick to make that I love to use it.

Conclusion:
Great for beginners as it is a quick and easy pattern. You don't need a lot of experience to make a lovely unitard for whatever occassion

Buy this pattern for $11.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
beanchor said...
what the what!? Your total costume is amazing!
7/9/13 8:52 AM
MrsCharisma said...
This is AWESOME! :) I can totally use this to make my son a Greenman costume from It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia.
7/9/13 9:09 AM
Cat n Bull said...
LOVE your costume! AWESOME!
7/9/13 9:10 AM
Cuffs said...
That is utterly fantastic! Great choice of, well everything. So creative, so well done, perfect fit.
7/9/13 9:14 AM
LM2HYD said...
Brilliant costume!
7/9/13 10:00 AM
Morisot said...
Your costume is amazing!
7/9/13 2:02 PM
Morisot said...
(Did you sew it on a serger?)
7/9/13 2:04 PM
sewme47 said...
Wow! Super weird and super cool....the perfect costume!
7/9/13 5:05 PM
Jessamaka said...
Thank-you for that! I'll remember this pattern next time I need a unitard or to become a Hindu goddess.
7/9/13 6:23 PM
madbadger said...
amazing costume - so creative!!!
7/9/13 8:19 PM
mary in FL said...
Oh, wow!
7/9/13 8:50 PM
Dallandra said...
Yeah I love this costume :-D :-D Yesterday evening I made another unitard, just to prove you can have a unitard ready in 1 evening. @Morisot: actually no, I have a lovely old Pfaff 360 where I sew stretch fabric on. But I suppose it is possible to use a serger.
7/10/13 5:02 AM
JOshiro said...
Hooooooly moley! Wow. I'm mildly freaked out by how amazing this is.
7/10/13 9:49 AM
NVK said...
This is the best costume ever! I showed the photo to my husband who also, loved the costume. You are soooo... Creative!
7/10/13 5:54 PM
detroy said...
This is awesome!!!!!
4/15/14 8:45 AM
CShelley said...
Wow how cool is that!?! Soooo creative!
4/15/14 9:46 AM
kajero said...
I don't think I've ever in my life seen a costume as awesome as yours!!! Wow, Wow, Wow!
4/15/14 10:10 AM
carolynw said...
Over the years I have seen creative costumes here on PR and other places- yours takes top honours!
4/15/14 11:48 AM
ISewedIt said...
Absolutely looooove your costume!
4/15/14 12:36 PM
jdk said...
All I can say is WOW!!!!!!!!!
4/15/14 12:55 PM
velosewer said...
Awesome costume.
4/15/14 3:42 PM
SavageCoco said...
Oh, OUTSTANDING. Goddess is right!
4/15/14 3:45 PM
Cant Decide said...
Wowwy zowwy! This costume is amazing.
4/15/14 3:59 PM
sacjeanie said...
Color me BLUE with envy! What a great costume.
4/15/14 4:30 PM
Baja Susana said...
Well, what a nice work outfit, if you are a Hindu Goddess? Incredible. And I love the way you trick us with the "sedate" blue unitard, the when we click to enlarge it...out pops you in full regalia. Just weird and wonderful
4/15/14 4:31 PM
motorharp said...
This is a fantastic costume! Great job!
4/15/14 5:26 PM
supizoo said...
I am speechless...but I have a look of total awe on my face!
4/15/14 6:32 PM
cabinbaby said...
That is SO cool!
4/15/14 6:44 PM
Eli cat said...
Wow!What a great costume!
4/15/14 11:20 PM
sfshaza said...
Soooo cool!
4/17/14 0:25 AM
FreyaStark said...
Amazing! Those extra arms must be helpful when you are sewing.
4/17/14 6:46 AM
valerie sews said...
Wow this is creativity to the max!
4/17/14 9:23 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2008-108:Blouse Blouse
photo
Review by CatMukai on 3/20/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3922 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3922 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8687 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8687 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4760
photo
Review by smarttart on 9/26/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern
Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $22.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us