SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3052 (Misses Unitards)

9 more reviews
Viewed 757 times 
Reviewed by:Dallandra
photo

 
 
About Dallandrastar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 2/3/12
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/9/13 6:51 AM
Last Updated:5/5/14 7:51 AM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:Kwik Sew 3052
Kwik Sew Pattern Info

More Info provided by Dallandra

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Activewear    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Nylon-Lycra  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
3 different unitards/catsuits in 1 pattern.

Pattern Sizing:
This pattern goes from XS to XL. I used S to make my catsuit.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, for sure! I changed the zipper to the back (which was easy to do) but it looks still the same.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes it was very easy. They call it Kwik Sew for a very obvious reason: anybody can make it and they provided clear instructions.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like that it's so easy! There are only 3 pattern pieces: front, back and the sleeves. Ok and the collar if you go for View A (like I did).
Also, on the envelope you can measure if your lycra has enough stretch for this pattern.

Fabric Used:
I used a dark blue lycra with a 4-way stretch. I can recommend a 4-way stretch so you won't get in trouble if you cut it wrong or gain a few pounds.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I made the sleeves a bit longer and if I remember correctly I also made the sleeves a bit less wide. Also the zipper went to the back so it wouldn't be visible in my total costume.
I also sewed gloves on in the same lycra.

I made a Kali (as in the Hindu goddess) costume:
Total costume

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
For sure! I am making a Rogue (X-Men) costume with this same pattern and also a catsuit of tricot with a snakeskin pattern. It's so easy and quick to make that I love to use it.

Conclusion:
Great for beginners as it is a quick and easy pattern. You don't need a lot of experience to make a lovely unitard for whatever occassion

Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
beanchor said...
what the what!? Your total costume is amazing!
7/9/13 8:52 AM
MrsCharisma said...
This is AWESOME! :) I can totally use this to make my son a Greenman costume from It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia.
7/9/13 9:09 AM
Cat n Bull said...
LOVE your costume! AWESOME!
7/9/13 9:10 AM
Cuffs said...
That is utterly fantastic! Great choice of, well everything. So creative, so well done, perfect fit.
7/9/13 9:14 AM
LM2HYD said...
Brilliant costume!
7/9/13 10:00 AM
Morisot said...
Your costume is amazing!
7/9/13 2:02 PM
Morisot said...
(Did you sew it on a serger?)
7/9/13 2:04 PM
sewme47 said...
Wow! Super weird and super cool....the perfect costume!
7/9/13 5:05 PM
Jessamaka said...
Thank-you for that! I'll remember this pattern next time I need a unitard or to become a Hindu goddess.
7/9/13 6:23 PM
madbadger said...
amazing costume - so creative!!!
7/9/13 8:19 PM
mary in FL said...
Oh, wow!
7/9/13 8:50 PM
Dallandra said...
Yeah I love this costume :-D :-D Yesterday evening I made another unitard, just to prove you can have a unitard ready in 1 evening. @Morisot: actually no, I have a lovely old Pfaff 360 where I sew stretch fabric on. But I suppose it is possible to use a serger.
7/10/13 5:02 AM
JOshiro said...
Hooooooly moley! Wow. I'm mildly freaked out by how amazing this is.
7/10/13 9:49 AM
NVK said...
This is the best costume ever! I showed the photo to my husband who also, loved the costume. You are soooo... Creative!
7/10/13 5:54 PM
detroy said...
This is awesome!!!!!
4/15/14 8:45 AM
CShelley said...
Wow how cool is that!?! Soooo creative!
4/15/14 9:46 AM
kajero said...
I don't think I've ever in my life seen a costume as awesome as yours!!! Wow, Wow, Wow!
4/15/14 10:10 AM
carolynw said...
Over the years I have seen creative costumes here on PR and other places- yours takes top honours!
4/15/14 11:48 AM
ISewedIt said...
Absolutely looooove your costume!
4/15/14 12:36 PM
jdk said...
All I can say is WOW!!!!!!!!!
4/15/14 12:55 PM
velosewer said...
Awesome costume.
4/15/14 3:42 PM
SavageCoco said...
Oh, OUTSTANDING. Goddess is right!
4/15/14 3:45 PM
Cant Decide said...
Wowwy zowwy! This costume is amazing.
4/15/14 3:59 PM
sacjeanie said...
Color me BLUE with envy! What a great costume.
4/15/14 4:30 PM
Baja Susana said...
Well, what a nice work outfit, if you are a Hindu Goddess? Incredible. And I love the way you trick us with the "sedate" blue unitard, the when we click to enlarge it...out pops you in full regalia. Just weird and wonderful
4/15/14 4:31 PM
motorharp said...
This is a fantastic costume! Great job!
4/15/14 5:26 PM
supizoo said...
I am speechless...but I have a look of total awe on my face!
4/15/14 6:32 PM
cabinbaby said...
That is SO cool!
4/15/14 6:44 PM
Eli cat said...
Wow!What a great costume!
4/15/14 11:20 PM
sfshaza said...
Soooo cool!
4/17/14 0:25 AM
FreyaStark said...
Amazing! Those extra arms must be helpful when you are sewing.
4/17/14 6:46 AM
valerie sews said...
Wow this is creativity to the max!
4/17/14 9:23 AM
AndreaSews said...
Amazing costume, just beautiful! I'd love to see how you have all those arms attached!
4/18/14 10:22 PM
Pj3g said...
WOW! Incredible!
4/26/14 1:19 PM
arielle.artist said...
That is the most fantastic costume I have ever seen! Awesome!!! I love it!
4/29/14 1:44 PM
Dallandra said...
Oh good lord that's a whole lot of comments I didn't see :-D Thank you all! It was like re-inventing the wheel completely as there aren't many of these costumes around. Or at least not in the quality I seek :) Will never ever make it again lol! @AndreaSews: Here is a photo of the whole structure: http://imageshack.com/a/img848/5457/img1557z.jpg
4/30/14 10:53 AM
fauxgetaboutit said...
I was waiting for a mention to The Blue Man group and instead I see your amazing costume! Wow! So much better!
5/5/14 9:12 AM
wendyrb said...
Holy schlamoley! You're a fabulous nut job with a great sense for transformation. Sooooo, what's next? ; )
5/5/14 9:46 AM
JanyceR said...
Absolutely Awesome!
5/6/14 3:14 PM
nadialou said...
Wow! So astonishing, thanks for sharing this!
5/6/14 7:58 PM
Dallandra said...
Haha thank you wendyrb! I am currently doing some steampunk costumes, waist-training corsets and in between I am making an Elven armor from Lord of the Rings.
5/13/14 6:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's 6109

photo
by: SueV

Review
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Buy Now