Online Sewing Class: Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6559 (Misses' Unlined Jackets and Dresses)

122 more reviews
Viewed 361 times 
Reviewed by:Jenerationx
photo

 
 
About Jenerationx
Member since: 2/20/07
Reviews: 18 (patterns: 18)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2012
Posted on:7/9/13 11:08 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
wildberrymom said... (7/11/13 10:44 AM) Reply
Very nice--I'm going to have to try this one. I wore maxi's all the time back in the 70's (does that tell my age?!) and loved them but haven't had one for a while. Maybe it's time.
norie creates said... (7/9/13 8:03 PM) Reply
Beautiful! This is still one of my favorite patterns!
Jenerationx said... (7/9/13 7:24 PM) Reply
Wow, such great info in that It's Sew Easy TV video! My husband is excited about getting his shirts fitted now! :)
atymonw said... (7/9/13 4:05 PM) Reply
Love your version! And glad you figured out a way to make those too thin knits work:)
renren said... (7/9/13 3:45 PM) Reply
Ah, yes, I think I may see the hemline of the lining (or lower edge, anyway). I wasn't sure if you had managed to piece together the men's t-shirt to make a full lining. I think the shortened lining might be more comfortable for summer. I have some swimsuit lining I bought from JAF a couple years ago I plan to use. Also, for that swayback adj, let me share with you a video I just watched this morning. It's at itsseweasytv.com in a 30-minute video. I believe it was either 8 or 12 minutes into the video (Peggy Sagers' segment) where she talks about this very issue. The video is free to watch online until 7/12/13 so it is very timely for you. I think it is labeled as ISE302, but you'll see it if you scroll down just a bit. The whole 30-min video is worth watching but the issue you are dealing with is at the 'front end' of the vid. Good luck and thanks for responding to my query. I believe this maxi dress is next up in my sewing queue.
Jenerationx said... (7/9/13 1:09 PM) Reply
Thanks ladies! Renren, Yes, my lining is shorter. It's about 4" above my knee; you can sort-of see it if you click on the picture. The reason I did that is because Joann's didn't have any good options for linings, so I went with a men's XXL t-shirt.
renren said... (7/9/13 11:42 AM) Reply
Thanks for posting this. I had pulled pattern and fabric yesterday to sew the dress but put them back when I realized the fabric was too thin and didn't know how to go about lining the dress. This review is a big help. Is your lining shorter than the dress? I'm wondering about sewing a maxi dress with a knee-length lining. Thanks for the link to the youtube video. I've seen other videos by that producer and have found them immensely helpful.
MrsCharisma said... (7/9/13 11:35 AM) Reply
So cute!!!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Other B101

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2014-11

photo
by: Rairscat

Review
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Pattern Details
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Pattern Details