SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6559 (Misses' Unlined Jackets and Dresses)

91 more reviews
Viewed 312 times 
Reviewed by:Jenerationx
photo

 
 
About Jenerationx
CT
Member since: 2/20/07
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2012
Posted on:7/9/13 11:08 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
So cute!!!
7/9/13 11:35 AM
Renren said...
Thanks for posting this. I had pulled pattern and fabric yesterday to sew the dress but put them back when I realized the fabric was too thin and didn't know how to go about lining the dress. This review is a big help. Is your lining shorter than the dress? I'm wondering about sewing a maxi dress with a knee-length lining. Thanks for the link to the youtube video. I've seen other videos by that producer and have found them immensely helpful.
7/9/13 11:42 AM
Jenerationx said...
Thanks ladies! Renren, Yes, my lining is shorter. It's about 4" above my knee; you can sort-of see it if you click on the picture. The reason I did that is because Joann's didn't have any good options for linings, so I went with a men's XXL t-shirt.
7/9/13 1:09 PM
Renren said...
Ah, yes, I think I may see the hemline of the lining (or lower edge, anyway). I wasn't sure if you had managed to piece together the men's t-shirt to make a full lining. I think the shortened lining might be more comfortable for summer. I have some swimsuit lining I bought from JAF a couple years ago I plan to use. Also, for that swayback adj, let me share with you a video I just watched this morning. It's at itsseweasytv.com in a 30-minute video. I believe it was either 8 or 12 minutes into the video (Peggy Sagers' segment) where she talks about this very issue. The video is free to watch online until 7/12/13 so it is very timely for you. I think it is labeled as ISE302, but you'll see it if you scroll down just a bit. The whole 30-min video is worth watching but the issue you are dealing with is at the 'front end' of the vid. Good luck and thanks for responding to my query. I believe this maxi dress is next up in my sewing queue.
7/9/13 3:45 PM
atymonw said...
Love your version! And glad you figured out a way to make those too thin knits work:)
7/9/13 4:05 PM
Jenerationx said...
Wow, such great info in that It's Sew Easy TV video! My husband is excited about getting his shirts fitted now! :)
7/9/13 7:24 PM
norie creates said...
Beautiful! This is still one of my favorite patterns!
7/9/13 8:03 PM
wildberrymom said...
Very nice--I'm going to have to try this one. I wore maxi's all the time back in the 70's (does that tell my age?!) and loved them but haven't had one for a while. Maybe it's time.
7/11/13 10:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2011-110

photo
by: flyawayhai...

Review
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Buy Now