SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5559 (Misses' Dress)

51 more reviews
Viewed 292 times 
Reviewed by:Ghainskom
photo

 
 
About Ghainskomstarstar
Member since: 12/15/08
Reviews written: 120
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 120
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/2/14 9:33 AM
Last Updated:9/3/14 6:14 AM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5559 by Ghainskom

Pattern Photo:Butterick 5559
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
Fabric:Ponte Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Close-fitting, above mid-knee, pullover dress has front and back darts, outside stitched tucks and above elbow length sleeves.

Pattern Sizing:
6-12, 14-20

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the main feature of this dress: the sunburst pin tucks.

Fabric Used:
Ponte knit

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I did a cheater FBA i.e. a 14 at neck and shoulders, grading to a 18 at the full bust height than grading back and forth at waist and hips based on the finished measurements. This is probably the reason why my pin tucks don't all match at the side seams but I was on a tight schedule and settled for it. However, I think it would be possible to match the pin tucks at the side even if they dress needs some taking in.
The most difficult and time-consuming step with this pattern is the marking of the pin tucks AND the sewing, as the sewing there needs to be uniform e.g. you don't want backstitches in the middle of a pin tuck so I recommend a full bobbin, slow stitching and a stitch length of 3, similar to a topstitching.
I found I had to go back and understitch everywhere there's a dart and a tuck keeps the tucks from flipping up when the dress is worn.
I would recommend using bra straps holders for this dress, as bra straps do show when moving around.
Someone wrote that it's not easy to tell the front from the back and I agree.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes and yes.

Conclusion:
This is a keeper.
Blogged here
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debbie Dabbles said...
Thanks for the tips. This has looked so nice on everyone I might have to give it a go.
9/4/14 2:34 PM
Sheseams said...
Nice dress and tips
9/4/14 12:19 PM
Sheseams said...
Nice dress and tips
9/4/14 12:18 PM
Riversmocker said...
Great fit and color! Beautiful!
9/3/14 11:26 PM
Levone said...
Lovely dress!
9/3/14 11:44 AM
gmagina said...
Beautiful dress. I love the pin tuck detailing
9/3/14 11:23 AM
Ghainskom said...
@sosat: the fabric is a solid. The "print" is the watermark I used on pics posted on the internet. @Jupiter: try again. The link works.
9/3/14 10:25 AM
hopflower said...
What a stunning dress. The tucks look perfect on it, and the colour is great.
9/3/14 10:03 AM
sosat said...
I just bought this pattern, I can't wait to sew it! I like that you used a fabric that had a bit of a print on it, I would only have thought to use a solid but it looks great.
9/3/14 9:59 AM
Jupiter, FL said...
I couldn't get to the blog, but it looks like a really cute dress!
9/3/14 9:54 AM
Penny Carlson said...
Looks good (from what I can see).
9/3/14 9:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Simplicity 4987

photo
by: MissParayi...

Review
MariaDenmark 101

photo
by: MNBarb

Review
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Buy Now