SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8150 (MISSES' DRESS)

7 more reviews
Viewed 468 times 
Reviewed by:KatC83
photo

 
 
About KatC83star
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 9/26/09
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/11/13 6:13 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KatC83 said...
Thanks again, everyone! From reading previous reviews I went in with eyes wide open, but I'm glad the dress turned out well. It felt really good to wear it!
7/13/13 4:52 AM
MaryDB said...
So beautiful - the dress and the bride! Best wishes. Lovely work - that's a tough dress to make, and you did a wonderful job.
7/13/13 3:19 AM
wildberrymom said...
Beautiful dress and beautiful bride!
7/12/13 7:35 PM
nothy lane said...
Oh what a beautiful dress! Bravo! ANd great review...
7/12/13 8:48 AM
velosewer said...
You did such a gorgeous piece of work on your wedding dress.
7/11/13 11:20 PM
KatC83 said...
Thank you all so much for your lovely comments! There will be more photos popping up at my blog this weekend. cathal - I do have fairly narrow and sloping shoulders, which accentuates the problem. Because of the low back, I couldn't wear a bra with straps and I didn't want to use tape on the delicate silk... so I just stood carefully to ensure the straps didn't fall down too much!
7/11/13 9:20 PM
Jrhee said...
What a lovely bride you are! Great job on your dress, and congratulations!
7/11/13 8:23 PM
cathal said...
Beautiful dress. I love that it didn't require boning.That is a plus for sure. But I can see the "wide shoulders" problem. This has shown up in quite a few Vogue dresses this season. It happens when the inside line of the shoulder strap is determined by the patten piece that is part of the bodice - makes for a very wide shoulder-you would need to be very tall, and also use body tape or some way of attaching the straps to your bra straps, in order to pull this off easily. A funny sort of design feature going on this summer with Vogue. But looks smashing on you.
7/11/13 9:02 AM
MrsCharisma said...
BEAUTIFUL!!!! Congrats!
7/11/13 8:58 AM
Christas said...
Gorgeous wedding dress! What an amazing accomplishment!
7/11/13 8:36 AM
txcwgrlmom said...
Beautiful!
7/11/13 8:28 AM
caper81 said...
Beautiful!! I look forward to seeing more photos :) What a great undertaking, sewing your own wedding gown! You look fantastic :)
7/11/13 8:26 AM
LynneH said...
A great dress for a beach bride. You look beautiful and happy. Well done. Great job.
7/11/13 7:52 AM
KatC83 said...
Thanks, KensingtonCrab! Danmar, I'm glad you enjoyed the review, and thank you for your kind comment :-)
7/11/13 7:11 AM
Danmar said...
I enjoyed your review. Well written and easy to understand. I think your dress is beautiful
7/11/13 6:58 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Beautiful bride!
7/11/13 6:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Simplicity 2675

photo
by: alimmay

Review
Vogue Patterns 1038

photo
by: Graca

Review
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Buy Now