SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6512 (Misses' Blouses)

16 more reviews
Viewed 532 times 
Reviewed by:Danmar
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danmar
Member since: 11/3/11
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/20/13 3:33 PM
Last Updated:7/24/13 1:07 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewsue1 said...
The shirt does look great - I'm sorry you weren't happy with the look on you. I have definitely been there with oddities that I didn't notice on the envelope until I finished the project and it was too late!
7/20/13 3:59 PM
MrsCharisma said...
I had very bad luck with this pattern too :( I considered it a wadder and tossed it.
7/20/13 4:47 PM
TinaLea said...
Bummer - the fabric is really pretty for that pattern, but we all know that feeling of getting done with a project and it just doesn't feel right on us! Chalk this one up to experience, and put it in the donate pile when you are done; someone will be thrilled with it I'm sure! But - before you do that - layer it over a white short-sleeved scoop-necked tee......that would make the white of the interfaced areas blend in with the white in the tee underneath, you may still be able to salvage it!
7/20/13 6:55 PM
PattyE said...
I'm sorry you don't like it...I think it looks nice on you.
7/20/13 7:47 PM
sewingcanary said...
I can see your concerns. This might have been better in a soft, draping rayon. With the pockets, try using glue stick for pocket corners. I love the stuff. It dries in a few minutes, has a bit of workability time and totally washes out. You do need to let it dry or it gunks up the needle. It�s especially nice in places where things MUST be held down before sewing but pins make them sit crooked. It can eliminate a lot of basting. From the looks of the yoke, I�d be curious to see how using a narrow or cord elastic would work. With such a fine fabric, I�d be concerned with the seam pulling. Glue stick is also great for hold seams before serging. You never run the risk of hitting vertical pins and the fabric always lays flat. Any glue stick will work, however I get acid-free ones, but not the purple ones. You don�t need to pay the often inflated price of the ones from the sewing shops.
7/21/13 2:38 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Thanks for this review and pointing out a few things about this blouse, like the shoulder tabs.
7/21/13 6:05 PM
Danmar said...
Sewingcanary and everybody. Thank you so much for taking the time for the tips. I appreciate it!
7/21/13 8:07 PM
Lisabeans said...
I also had a wadder with this pattern, in the other view with the bow. I blamed my fabric selection, but maybe the pattern isn't so great either. Sorry you had bad luck with it too. :(
7/22/13 7:50 PM
threaddy said...
I have this pattern ...and now i will be cautious although i think it looks nice the way you finished it.
7/26/13 0:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Kwik Sew 3127

photo
by: vchan38

Review
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Buy Now
Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 235056-1002

photo
by: Quickie

Review