SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8860 (Shirt/blouse)

2 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 357 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 163
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 117
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/12/13 2:09 AM
Last Updated:7/12/13 5:29 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Burda: 8860 by FreyaStark  Burda: 8860 by FreyaStark  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mm said...
Another fine shirt. What is the hand like on your Liberty fabric? I bought some recently, having not bought any for many years, and was disappointed by the quality. If yours is old Liberty, treasure it.
7/12/13 4:23 AM
FreyaStark said...
An interesting comment, mm. Liberty's lawn does seem thin these days but is still of acceptable quality. I don't have any really old pieces; mine have all been acquired in the past decade. An exception is the fabric of two Liberty blouses I made for my mother in the nineties (and still have). The fabric of those does seem sturdier, but it is difficult to be sure.
7/12/13 4:49 AM
Sew Whatever said...
Love the comment 'photographed very cunningly to avoid looking dreadful.' How many of us have done that! Glad you were able to adjust this version to a fit you like.
7/12/13 6:00 AM
JanieBee said...
Beautiful work! Perfect fit!
7/12/13 6:23 AM
Maree P said...
Lovely sewing Freya. I like the colours in the fabric.
7/12/13 6:39 AM
Christas said...
It looks like you definitely have a TNT blouse pattern with your adjustments to this one. The Liberty print is very pretty and your blouse fits you wonderfully!
7/12/13 8:26 AM
Mufffet said...
Really nice - great fit!
7/12/13 10:25 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely shirt - Liberty fabric is such a joy to work with.
7/12/13 10:39 AM
MNBarb said...
I always wonder why classic patterns like this go OOP. I love your description of the fabric and the gravity comment, it just happens, doesn't it? You are the top shirt maker. This one is perfect.
7/12/13 1:26 PM
Renren said...
Long live Liberty of London! Long live FreyaStark and her mad shirtmaking skilz!!!
7/12/13 1:29 PM
Zoomitron said...
I look forward to your reviews, they are always helpful, and entertaining. I too have the "gravity" issue, my dress form is pretty close to my size except for the perkiness, and I can't change that part of her. I'm quite sure I was perky 40 years ago. I've always been curious of your name, are you related to the very famous Freya Stark? Thanks again for the sewing inspirations.
7/12/13 6:05 PM
carolynw said...
Looks so nice - where will you be off to with this shirt. Canada maybe - then I could steal it and many other of your shirts
7/12/13 7:51 PM
Dilliander said...
Your adjustments have made this the perfect TnT, its lovely!
7/13/13 0:21 AM
Heatherrique said...
Impressive work on your Liberty of London shirt. I appreciate your review, and especially the details on your alterations. Nicely tailored and very flattering.
7/13/13 8:06 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
So glad you finally made this fabric. It's a beautiful blouse!
7/13/13 8:49 AM
marec said...
A gorgeous shirt, especially with the Liberty of London fabric. As always, I learn something new when reading your reviews.
7/13/13 4:08 PM
wildberrymom said...
Well, it looks perfect from here--bravo on the fitting.
7/13/13 8:40 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, your work is just impeccable! I love your fit, fabric, everything! Enjoy wearing this!
7/13/13 10:10 PM
Margaret said...
Very nice shirt! I'm glad the fit changes worked well. This certainly looks like a pattern worth making again.
7/14/13 11:35 AM
Quickie said...
I think this is a beautifully made classic shirt
7/14/13 12:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Dixie DIY Hot Cocoa Sweater

photo
by: Lisa Gaska...

Review
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now