SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8860 (Shirt/blouse)

2 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 360 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/12/13 2:09 AM
Last Updated:7/12/13 5:29 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Burda: 8860 by FreyaStark  Burda: 8860 by FreyaStark  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Quickie said...
I think this is a beautifully made classic shirt
7/14/13 12:39 PM
Margaret said...
Very nice shirt! I'm glad the fit changes worked well. This certainly looks like a pattern worth making again.
7/14/13 11:35 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, your work is just impeccable! I love your fit, fabric, everything! Enjoy wearing this!
7/13/13 10:10 PM
wildberrymom said...
Well, it looks perfect from here--bravo on the fitting.
7/13/13 8:40 PM
marec said...
A gorgeous shirt, especially with the Liberty of London fabric. As always, I learn something new when reading your reviews.
7/13/13 4:08 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
So glad you finally made this fabric. It's a beautiful blouse!
7/13/13 8:49 AM
Heatherrique said...
Impressive work on your Liberty of London shirt. I appreciate your review, and especially the details on your alterations. Nicely tailored and very flattering.
7/13/13 8:06 AM
Dilliander said...
Your adjustments have made this the perfect TnT, its lovely!
7/13/13 0:21 AM
carolynw said...
Looks so nice - where will you be off to with this shirt. Canada maybe - then I could steal it and many other of your shirts
7/12/13 7:51 PM
Zoomitron said...
I look forward to your reviews, they are always helpful, and entertaining. I too have the "gravity" issue, my dress form is pretty close to my size except for the perkiness, and I can't change that part of her. I'm quite sure I was perky 40 years ago. I've always been curious of your name, are you related to the very famous Freya Stark? Thanks again for the sewing inspirations.
7/12/13 6:05 PM
Renren said...
Long live Liberty of London! Long live FreyaStark and her mad shirtmaking skilz!!!
7/12/13 1:29 PM
MNBarb said...
I always wonder why classic patterns like this go OOP. I love your description of the fabric and the gravity comment, it just happens, doesn't it? You are the top shirt maker. This one is perfect.
7/12/13 1:26 PM
carolynw said...
Lovely shirt - Liberty fabric is such a joy to work with.
7/12/13 10:39 AM
Mufffet said...
Really nice - great fit!
7/12/13 10:25 AM
Christas said...
It looks like you definitely have a TNT blouse pattern with your adjustments to this one. The Liberty print is very pretty and your blouse fits you wonderfully!
7/12/13 8:26 AM
Maree P said...
Lovely sewing Freya. I like the colours in the fabric.
7/12/13 6:39 AM
JanieBee said...
Beautiful work! Perfect fit!
7/12/13 6:23 AM
Sew Whatever said...
Love the comment 'photographed very cunningly to avoid looking dreadful.' How many of us have done that! Glad you were able to adjust this version to a fit you like.
7/12/13 6:00 AM
FreyaStark said...
An interesting comment, mm. Liberty's lawn does seem thin these days but is still of acceptable quality. I don't have any really old pieces; mine have all been acquired in the past decade. An exception is the fabric of two Liberty blouses I made for my mother in the nineties (and still have). The fabric of those does seem sturdier, but it is difficult to be sure.
7/12/13 4:49 AM
mm said...
Another fine shirt. What is the hand like on your Liberty fabric? I bought some recently, having not bought any for many years, and was disappointed by the quality. If yours is old Liberty, treasure it.
7/12/13 4:23 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now