SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5644 (Misses Top)

8 more reviews
Viewed 719 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 180 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/13/13 1:56 PM
Last Updated:7/13/13 2:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
42 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
madbadger said...
Very elegant! love your dress!
7/13/13 2:02 PM
Adaire said...
So pretty! I'll bet you will get a lot of wear from this.
7/13/13 2:20 PM
Texahoma said...
I love the way you placed the pattern to use the border.you look gorgeous in this!
7/13/13 2:30 PM
meadowclark said...
Looks gorgeous. I like seeing the versatility in patterns.
7/13/13 2:40 PM
vaness said...
Lovely! Great fabric choice. I like how the paisleys mirror each other on the bodice back, and, of coarsen the border at the bottom.
7/13/13 2:48 PM
carolynw said...
Absolutely gorgeous - I don't think you have ever reviewed anything that I haven't just loved - and this is sure one of them. So elegant and just right for summer
7/13/13 3:04 PM
Mollymax said...
Great dress! I love the fabric and the longer length.
7/13/13 3:43 PM
marec said...
This is so pretty and I love the pattern placement. I sent on this pattern, and now see its possibilities. Very wonderful!
7/13/13 3:55 PM
Nan Kay said...
Great match of pattern to fabric, very classic but on trend! I really like this, you look fantastic.
7/13/13 4:10 PM
TJSEWS said...
I absolutely love it! The fabric is fun and beautiful. I like the idea of adding a self-fabric sash - it looks more polished that way. You look gorgeous!
7/13/13 4:10 PM
Ann Smith said...
It looks beautiful on you. Such a great fabric for a maxi dress. You did such a great job with the border print.
7/13/13 4:20 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
A great decision to turn this into a maxi! The print is perfect and I love the exposed neck facing.
7/13/13 4:40 PM
lmb09 said...
Beautiful! Great fabric choice!
7/13/13 5:18 PM
DorothyK said...
I love the dress as a maxi. The print is very interesting. Looks like just the perfect dress for summer.
7/13/13 6:01 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Just beautiful and so inspired to lengthen to a maxi. Love your necklace with it, too!
7/13/13 6:32 PM
Jrhee said...
Beautiful dress!
7/13/13 6:32 PM
liliv said...
Very elegant and outstanding dress, it suits you perfectly! I love love this kind of print (I don't know how it is named in English, please somebody tell me). I like very much the way you placed the prints! You look absolutely gorgeous!!
7/13/13 7:20 PM
SewWil said...
Great idea to turn this in to a maxi. Beautiful dress!
7/13/13 8:02 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you for the wonderful comments!!! liliv, the print is called paisley design which I am also fond of. Certainly no lack of it on this fabric!
7/13/13 8:33 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Wow, very pretty!
7/13/13 8:53 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I love this! You used your fabric to the best advantage! Love, love , love!
7/13/13 9:47 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! Turning the top into a dress is a great idea, and it works well in that fabric. I love paisley, too.
7/13/13 9:49 PM
cmcarr said...
Always classy.
7/13/13 9:50 PM
ArtAttack said...
OMG! You look like a commercial...For anything!! This is beautiful.
7/13/13 10:47 PM
sfshaza said...
Really nice, Barbara. A wonderful use for that beautiful border print!
7/13/13 11:11 PM
SewLibra said...
You look fabulous and great job on matching the print. I have never thought of border prints for myself, but after seeing this creation I need to go shopping! :-)
7/13/13 11:41 PM
CynthiaSue said...
What a great color on you!! I wish I hadn't given this pattern away!
7/13/13 11:45 PM
sew2little said...
Perfect summer dress with great style!
7/14/13 0:21 AM
Terri A said...
Verrry beautiful!!!
7/14/13 0:53 AM
Vonnevo said...
Very elegant and gorgeous !!!
7/14/13 2:46 AM
velosewer said...
Very elegant dress. You're so stylish.
7/14/13 4:09 AM
HRigg said...
Lovely! wouldn't have occurred to me to lengthen the pattern. That's what is so good about PR, new ideas all the time.
7/14/13 5:19 AM
arianamaniacs said...
you look lovely! the fabric is great for this cut, nice!!!
7/14/13 12:16 PM
Pj3g said...
You look positively beautiful in that dress!
7/14/13 1:45 PM
CissieW said...
How clever to make this top into a maxi. Looks great!
7/14/13 2:07 PM
halleyscomet said...
Love it! So flattering on you!
7/14/13 3:54 PM
grey ann said...
Your garments always look better than the ones on the pattern envelope. Bravo again, and the color is great on you, too.
7/14/13 8:05 PM
sewpelican said...
Very Impressed with the conversion to a dress, fabric suits the style so well.Congratulations on a beautiful result. Would it be possible to add sleeves do you think? I have 2 gorgeous border prints but sleeveless is not so good on me these days.
7/16/13 1:57 AM
Barbara V said...
Thank you, thank you everyone for the lovely comments! sewpelican, I think absolutely, one could add sleeves. Just look for a pattern with a sleeve style that you like; then incorporate the sleeve opening onto this pattern and you're all set to add sleeves.
7/16/13 10:49 AM
MNBarb said...
OK, now I want a maxi dress. Your use of the paisley border print makes this dress.
7/16/13 2:24 PM
JillyBe said...
Very lovely....as always!
7/22/13 6:08 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Wow! This is such a great dress! I love your use of a large border print. The exposed bias binding is such a nice touch, and the fit looks great (good call removing the extra gathers). Stunning dress
9/12/13 9:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Butterick 4377

photo
by: Salymander...

Review

Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8670

photo
by: nosila

Review