SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5644 (Misses Top)

8 more reviews
Viewed 723 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 180 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/13/13 1:56 PM
Last Updated:7/13/13 2:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
42 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
madbadger said...
Very elegant! love your dress!
7/13/13 2:02 PM
Adaire said...
So pretty! I'll bet you will get a lot of wear from this.
7/13/13 2:20 PM
Texahoma said...
I love the way you placed the pattern to use the border.you look gorgeous in this!
7/13/13 2:30 PM
meadowclark said...
Looks gorgeous. I like seeing the versatility in patterns.
7/13/13 2:40 PM
vaness said...
Lovely! Great fabric choice. I like how the paisleys mirror each other on the bodice back, and, of coarsen the border at the bottom.
7/13/13 2:48 PM
carolynw said...
Absolutely gorgeous - I don't think you have ever reviewed anything that I haven't just loved - and this is sure one of them. So elegant and just right for summer
7/13/13 3:04 PM
Mollymax said...
Great dress! I love the fabric and the longer length.
7/13/13 3:43 PM
marec said...
This is so pretty and I love the pattern placement. I sent on this pattern, and now see its possibilities. Very wonderful!
7/13/13 3:55 PM
Nan Kay said...
Great match of pattern to fabric, very classic but on trend! I really like this, you look fantastic.
7/13/13 4:10 PM
TJSEWS said...
I absolutely love it! The fabric is fun and beautiful. I like the idea of adding a self-fabric sash - it looks more polished that way. You look gorgeous!
7/13/13 4:10 PM
Ann Smith said...
It looks beautiful on you. Such a great fabric for a maxi dress. You did such a great job with the border print.
7/13/13 4:20 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
A great decision to turn this into a maxi! The print is perfect and I love the exposed neck facing.
7/13/13 4:40 PM
lmb09 said...
Beautiful! Great fabric choice!
7/13/13 5:18 PM
DorothyK said...
I love the dress as a maxi. The print is very interesting. Looks like just the perfect dress for summer.
7/13/13 6:01 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Just beautiful and so inspired to lengthen to a maxi. Love your necklace with it, too!
7/13/13 6:32 PM
Jrhee said...
Beautiful dress!
7/13/13 6:32 PM
liliv said...
Very elegant and outstanding dress, it suits you perfectly! I love love this kind of print (I don't know how it is named in English, please somebody tell me). I like very much the way you placed the prints! You look absolutely gorgeous!!
7/13/13 7:20 PM
SewWil said...
Great idea to turn this in to a maxi. Beautiful dress!
7/13/13 8:02 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you for the wonderful comments!!! liliv, the print is called paisley design which I am also fond of. Certainly no lack of it on this fabric!
7/13/13 8:33 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Wow, very pretty!
7/13/13 8:53 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I love this! You used your fabric to the best advantage! Love, love , love!
7/13/13 9:47 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! Turning the top into a dress is a great idea, and it works well in that fabric. I love paisley, too.
7/13/13 9:49 PM
cmcarr said...
Always classy.
7/13/13 9:50 PM
ArtAttack said...
OMG! You look like a commercial...For anything!! This is beautiful.
7/13/13 10:47 PM
sfshaza said...
Really nice, Barbara. A wonderful use for that beautiful border print!
7/13/13 11:11 PM
SewLibra said...
You look fabulous and great job on matching the print. I have never thought of border prints for myself, but after seeing this creation I need to go shopping! :-)
7/13/13 11:41 PM
CynthiaSue said...
What a great color on you!! I wish I hadn't given this pattern away!
7/13/13 11:45 PM
sew2little said...
Perfect summer dress with great style!
7/14/13 0:21 AM
Terri A said...
Verrry beautiful!!!
7/14/13 0:53 AM
Vonnevo said...
Very elegant and gorgeous !!!
7/14/13 2:46 AM
velosewer said...
Very elegant dress. You're so stylish.
7/14/13 4:09 AM
HRigg said...
Lovely! wouldn't have occurred to me to lengthen the pattern. That's what is so good about PR, new ideas all the time.
7/14/13 5:19 AM
arianamaniacs said...
you look lovely! the fabric is great for this cut, nice!!!
7/14/13 12:16 PM
Pj3g said...
You look positively beautiful in that dress!
7/14/13 1:45 PM
CissieW said...
How clever to make this top into a maxi. Looks great!
7/14/13 2:07 PM
halleyscomet said...
Love it! So flattering on you!
7/14/13 3:54 PM
grey ann said...
Your garments always look better than the ones on the pattern envelope. Bravo again, and the color is great on you, too.
7/14/13 8:05 PM
sewpelican said...
Very Impressed with the conversion to a dress, fabric suits the style so well.Congratulations on a beautiful result. Would it be possible to add sleeves do you think? I have 2 gorgeous border prints but sleeveless is not so good on me these days.
7/16/13 1:57 AM
Barbara V said...
Thank you, thank you everyone for the lovely comments! sewpelican, I think absolutely, one could add sleeves. Just look for a pattern with a sleeve style that you like; then incorporate the sleeve opening onto this pattern and you're all set to add sleeves.
7/16/13 10:49 AM
MNBarb said...
OK, now I want a maxi dress. Your use of the paisley border print makes this dress.
7/16/13 2:24 PM
JillyBe said...
Very lovely....as always!
7/22/13 6:08 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Wow! This is such a great dress! I love your use of a large border print. The exposed bias binding is such a nice touch, and the fit looks great (good call removing the extra gathers). Stunning dress
9/12/13 9:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Advance Pattern Company 4916

photo
by: The Dreams...

Review
McCall's 6024

photo
by: RebeccaMar...

Review
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Buy Now