Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6559 (Misses' Unlined Jackets and Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 704 times 82 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 180 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2012
Posted on:7/14/13 6:32 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $14.36 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $14.36  List Price: $17.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
madbadger said...
Love the star effect - great dress & great review!
7/14/13 6:35 PM
SewWil said...
Love your dress! Funny you should post it now. Cindy was just telling me how great your dress turned out. Thanks for the detailed review.
7/14/13 7:09 PM
Aixoise said...
Fabulous!
7/14/13 7:22 PM
Jrhee said...
Awesome! I'd wear this everywhere!
7/14/13 7:47 PM
liliv said...
You look stunning!! I hadn't seen this view of the pattern, it's a great design and your execution is gorgeous!
7/14/13 8:11 PM
ArtAttack said...
What a fabulous maxi! All the times I've looked at this pattern I never noticed the star! Great job! Love the stripes.
7/14/13 8:18 PM
lamstu said...
Really awesome dress. I'm not normally a fan of stripes or maxis, but your combination is a real winner! I'm sure it would be fabulous at the grocery store too :)
7/14/13 8:32 PM
Elke said...
Fabulous dress and looks very pretty on you!
7/14/13 9:00 PM
Christas said...
I've made this pattern 3 times...... love the pattern! Your version is wonderful! Excellent review and sewing..... as usual!
7/14/13 9:24 PM
carolynw said...
So beautiful and I guess heads turned at Lowe's - a star in our store!! Am sure hubby was pleased to be escorting you. As usual just love what you have done with this pattern
7/14/13 9:42 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Great dress! You look great in it!
7/14/13 9:51 PM
sfshaza said...
FABULOUS, Barbara!! I just love the star in a smaller stripe - it really pops! I may have to pick this pattern up. :)
7/14/13 9:53 PM
TJSEWS said...
Simply stunning!
7/14/13 10:18 PM
meadowclark said...
Thank you for the mini tutorial. Looks fabulous.
7/14/13 10:41 PM
Lori V said...
This is amazing dress, I love how it looks and thanks for all the construction information. Heading to Marcy Tilton's site to look at some of those knits.
7/15/13 0:20 AM
ggf2005 said...
Awesome!
7/15/13 2:17 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very helpful review and love your maxi!!!
7/15/13 5:26 AM
CissieW said...
Such a cute dress! Love the stripes. And thanks for the great tips and pics on the neckline.
7/15/13 7:26 AM
cocosloft said...
Beautiful!
7/15/13 7:33 AM
Jane S said...
So much fun to read your review and see your lovely dress. Great date outfit, whether dinner or Lowe's (where my DH and I have frequent "dates.")
7/15/13 9:04 AM
DorothyK said...
Fabulous! Love the stripes and star. I'm amazed how the binding matches the fabric. Great job. You and your maxi look terrific.
7/15/13 10:37 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Two fabulous maxis in one weekend! I'm sure you were the chicest lady at Lowe's!
7/15/13 11:01 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Two fabulous maxis in one weekend! I'm sure you were the chicest lady at Lowe's!
7/15/13 11:02 AM
KarlaB said...
What a fab maxi! Great review!
7/15/13 11:53 AM
grey ann said...
Very clever, looks nice with or without the jacket. Very fashion-forward, Barbara!
7/15/13 1:49 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
What a great maxi! Love that star and appreciate the fast binding tips!
7/15/13 3:48 PM
Heatherrique said...
Absolutely stellar, Barbara! Your maxi dress has style to the max! I adore the placement of the stripes and you look sensational as always. Also thank you for your very helpful tutorial for "fast binding" to finish the armholes and neckline.
7/16/13 1:33 AM
JanisC said...
Cutest maxi ever!
7/16/13 10:33 AM
janet said...
Wowsa!
7/16/13 10:45 AM
MNBarb said...
Oh yes, I NEED a dress to wear to Lowe's. Ha, love it! The maxi craze has not tapped on my shoulder but I love your star dress, especially nice with the cardi.
7/16/13 2:02 PM
CypGrl said...
Thanks for the clear binding directions. I love your dress.
7/16/13 10:34 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Barbara V - Fabulous! I'm so happy to see this view made. I planning to make the same one using a green and out stripe. Great looking outfit.
7/17/13 12:53 PM
trinicity said...
So pretty well done
7/17/13 6:04 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Love it! So glad to have learned about the FOE. I hope you got to wear it somewhere fun!
7/20/13 11:39 PM
JillyBe said...
Wow, wow, wow! I never even noticed the striped version of this pattern! Once again, you've opened my eyes to the possibilities - absolutely fabulous on you! Another must have for me!
7/22/13 6:07 PM
mhoutz said...
What a fabulous dress! This could easily passed by my notice, but it won't now
7/26/13 10:59 PM
mhoutz said...
What a fabulous dress! This could easily passed by my notice, but it won't now
7/26/13 11:00 PM
cocosloft said...
So pretty! I'm with you on the fast binding - after a while it,s pretty easy to know how to lay it down, sort of feed thru the left hand.
8/8/13 6:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

StyleArc Grace Trans-seasonal Coat Grace
photo
Review by Pollycotto... on 7/22/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8923
photo
Review by Kendrasews... on 9/30/13
Read Review

Simplicity 2194 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 2194 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8883 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8883 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us