SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2013-115 (Twisted Maxi Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 371 times 
Reviewed by:Ms. McCall
photo

 
 
About Ms. McCallstar
CA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/13 4:45 AM
Last Updated:7/14/13 5:28 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
liliv said... (7/26/13 1:49 AM) Reply
Your dress is gorgeous, the print is so lovely with these deep colors! I don't see any problem with the chevrons at the back because the print is interrupted anyway by the long ties ( you see they are helpful!). I hadn't thought using this pattern for a casual dress and now I see that I was wrong. I made the same dress (in solid) these days and I had exactly the same confussion with the center front and the center fold:) As far as I know there was only one dress on burdastyle (in solid green) made with this pattern, the lady had posted a link under the pattern page if you want to see it. But there are tons of twisted maxi dresses on the Russian burdastyle.
Barbara V said... (7/25/13 11:02 PM) Reply
So pretty! The twist style, fabric and flattering fit on you.....all really great.
CynthiaSue said... (7/25/13 9:50 PM) Reply
Beautiful. Congratulations on your awesome success with this difficult pattern!
JuliN said... (7/15/13 12:05 PM) Reply
The twist front is my favorite part of the dress. Looks comfy, thanks for sharing.
grays08 said... (7/15/13 9:07 AM) Reply
Oh I love this one....on my list to make up soon out of a border print, but I hear you on pattern matching. I studied it for awhile trying to figure out the best way to lay out my border print and then sat it aside for awhile. It is a great dress though, worth the effort!
halleyscomet said... (7/14/13 3:48 PM) Reply
I love the style of this maxi. Looks great on you too.
Jrhee said... (7/14/13 11:24 AM) Reply
Striking dress! A "twist" on the maxi...
madbadger said... (7/14/13 11:23 AM) Reply
What a wonderful dress!!! Your struggles were worth it!
Kathhhhhy said... (7/14/13 10:29 AM) Reply
I really like your fabric! I was considering this pattern for myself but wasn't sure, this was super helpful to see a good review with it! Thanks, I really like this!!
sunnysewing said... (7/14/13 9:34 AM) Reply
Very pretty dress. I love your fabric. I didn't even think of pattern placement - your print is busy enough that it works great. I appreciate your tips regarding the construction. great job!
dbsewer said... (7/14/13 8:50 AM) Reply
Despite the struggles with Burda's typically wonky instructions, you managed to do a terrific job and make a pretty dress that's elegant on you. Love the pics on the beach.
caper81 said... (7/14/13 8:37 AM) Reply
Very eye-catching "twist" of the ever-popular maxi dress ;) Looks great on you!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-113

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
Butterick 5546

photo
by: acbrown28

Review
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Pattern Details