SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2013-115 (Twisted Maxi Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 363 times 
Reviewed by:Ms. McCall
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ms. McCallstar
CA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 56
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/13 4:45 AM
Last Updated:7/14/13 5:28 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
caper81 said...
Very eye-catching "twist" of the ever-popular maxi dress ;) Looks great on you!
7/14/13 8:37 AM
dbsewer said...
Despite the struggles with Burda's typically wonky instructions, you managed to do a terrific job and make a pretty dress that's elegant on you. Love the pics on the beach.
7/14/13 8:50 AM
sunnysewing said...
Very pretty dress. I love your fabric. I didn't even think of pattern placement - your print is busy enough that it works great. I appreciate your tips regarding the construction. great job!
7/14/13 9:34 AM
Kathhhhhy said...
I really like your fabric! I was considering this pattern for myself but wasn't sure, this was super helpful to see a good review with it! Thanks, I really like this!!
7/14/13 10:29 AM
madbadger said...
What a wonderful dress!!! Your struggles were worth it!
7/14/13 11:23 AM
Jrhee said...
Striking dress! A "twist" on the maxi...
7/14/13 11:24 AM
halleyscomet said...
I love the style of this maxi. Looks great on you too.
7/14/13 3:48 PM
grays08 said...
Oh I love this one....on my list to make up soon out of a border print, but I hear you on pattern matching. I studied it for awhile trying to figure out the best way to lay out my border print and then sat it aside for awhile. It is a great dress though, worth the effort!
7/15/13 9:07 AM
JuliN said...
The twist front is my favorite part of the dress. Looks comfy, thanks for sharing.
7/15/13 12:05 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Beautiful. Congratulations on your awesome success with this difficult pattern!
7/25/13 9:50 PM
Barbara V said...
So pretty! The twist style, fabric and flattering fit on you.....all really great.
7/25/13 11:02 PM
liliv said...
Your dress is gorgeous, the print is so lovely with these deep colors! I don't see any problem with the chevrons at the back because the print is interrupted anyway by the long ties ( you see they are helpful!). I hadn't thought using this pattern for a casual dress and now I see that I was wrong. I made the same dress (in solid) these days and I had exactly the same confussion with the center front and the center fold:) As far as I know there was only one dress on burdastyle (in solid green) made with this pattern, the lady had posted a link under the pattern page if you want to see it. But there are tons of twisted maxi dresses on the Russian burdastyle.
7/26/13 1:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now