SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> HP1153 (Riviera Acqualina Shirt)

Viewed 509 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 180 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/22/13 12:51 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 22 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
Very pretty! Thanks for the link to jello flimsy fabrics. Whole new way to use the term "jello salad!"
7/22/13 1:05 PM
sewin said...
You make the loveliest clothes. This top is no exception.
7/22/13 1:30 PM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, my! Beautiful and original in every way! I love it on you and VH review, as well.
7/22/13 1:35 PM
carolynw said...
Oh Barbara - you just keep on making clothes that I love. This looks lovely on you and the fabric is just beautiful. I may try this pattern as have a load of flimsy fabric that would look good made this way
7/22/13 3:57 PM
Shona said...
Oooooh, gorgeous fabric and it turns out much nicer than I think the pattern would suggest. Thanks for the tips.
7/22/13 5:45 PM
JillyBe said...
SO gorgeous! The fabric, your work, the top on you - everything! I made a similar shirt last year & thought I'd never do anything like it again - yours is 1000 times nicer, and makes me rethink it. (in the Hot Patterns version though, not whatever it was I used lol). Great tips, too, thanks :)
7/22/13 5:59 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Beautiful. I learn so much from your reviews.
7/22/13 8:28 PM
TJSEWS said...
Lovely. And what a beautiful lively color - you look gorgeous (as always)!
7/22/13 9:10 PM
Christas said...
So lovely, Barbara! It appears you never make a "wadder", as ALL your garments are simply beautiful.
7/22/13 9:45 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful top! Perfect fabric choice for this pattern.
7/22/13 9:47 PM
Pollycotton said...
Beautiful
7/22/13 9:50 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
This is so pretty! Thanks for the jello reminder too.
7/22/13 10:49 PM
pdiddly said...
really lovely and just that little bit different
7/23/13 3:40 AM
Danvillegirl said...
You definitely make this pattern look great! Your fabric choice was perfect. My concern was about that front drape and being bulky; again the right fabric would not give it bulk. Great job and thanks for sharing the info about the gelatin!
7/23/13 5:33 AM
Woolygal said...
You're on a roll Barbara, all your creation r lovely.
7/23/13 7:23 AM
Rebecca D said...
What a gorgeous creation. You look stunning, stellar execution as always and such a helpful review.
7/23/13 7:23 AM
Diane333 said...
I just love reading your reviews and seeing the lovely clothing you sew. You can make just any pattern work. I find HotPatterns to be difficult, but your rendition is absolutely stunning.
7/23/13 7:29 AM
VivianZ said...
It is a very pretty top made up, but one I would never have thought pretty just looking at the pattern. I also avoid sheer fabrics for the slipperiness of them, but your technique is encouraging. Thanks for a good review, and the top is lovely.
7/23/13 9:28 AM
redside said...
You look fabulous!
7/23/13 10:23 AM
wendyrb said...
Great everything- fabric hand, color, print, workmanship and so it's totally great looking on you. Love all the finesse you put in and shared. Thanks.
7/24/13 0:01 AM
marec said...
Wonderful work and what a beautiful shirt. I really like this style on you.
7/24/13 9:52 AM
Ann Smith said...
A different style for you. I like it. Beautiful finishing technique.
7/27/13 1:53 AM
CissieW said...
Lovely top! So glad to have the gelatin tip!
7/28/13 1:50 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful Barbara. Thank you so much for the helpful review.
8/9/13 8:56 PM
Twinset said...
This is such a great top! I was wondering... did you find it true to size?
8/15/13 1:21 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you for the many comments! Twinset, I did find it true to size and appreciated the more complex points of measurements that are offered in determining what size to cut. Also, your question is a great reminder to include this information under "Pattern Sizing". I used to do that and will remember to do it in the future!
8/15/13 6:52 PM
liliv said...
You always look so stylish fresh and pretty! I love the shirt! Very much!
8/18/13 12:33 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Burda 7866

photo
by: slmstyle

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Summer Tote

Summer Tote

Buy Now
Simplicity 4877

photo
by: lovenicky

Review