SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> HP1153 (Riviera Acqualina Shirt)

Viewed 535 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 195 people
patterns reviewed: 92
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/22/13 12:51 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 23 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
liliv said...
You always look so stylish fresh and pretty! I love the shirt! Very much!
8/18/13 12:33 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you for the many comments! Twinset, I did find it true to size and appreciated the more complex points of measurements that are offered in determining what size to cut. Also, your question is a great reminder to include this information under "Pattern Sizing". I used to do that and will remember to do it in the future!
8/15/13 6:52 PM
Twinset said...
This is such a great top! I was wondering... did you find it true to size?
8/15/13 1:21 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful Barbara. Thank you so much for the helpful review.
8/9/13 8:56 PM
CissieW said...
Lovely top! So glad to have the gelatin tip!
7/28/13 1:50 PM
Ann Smith said...
A different style for you. I like it. Beautiful finishing technique.
7/27/13 1:53 AM
marec said...
Wonderful work and what a beautiful shirt. I really like this style on you.
7/24/13 9:52 AM
wendyrb said...
Great everything- fabric hand, color, print, workmanship and so it's totally great looking on you. Love all the finesse you put in and shared. Thanks.
7/24/13 0:01 AM
redside said...
You look fabulous!
7/23/13 10:23 AM
VivianZ said...
It is a very pretty top made up, but one I would never have thought pretty just looking at the pattern. I also avoid sheer fabrics for the slipperiness of them, but your technique is encouraging. Thanks for a good review, and the top is lovely.
7/23/13 9:28 AM
Diane333 said...
I just love reading your reviews and seeing the lovely clothing you sew. You can make just any pattern work. I find HotPatterns to be difficult, but your rendition is absolutely stunning.
7/23/13 7:29 AM
Rebecca D said...
What a gorgeous creation. You look stunning, stellar execution as always and such a helpful review.
7/23/13 7:23 AM
Woolygal said...
You're on a roll Barbara, all your creation r lovely.
7/23/13 7:23 AM
Danvillegirl said...
You definitely make this pattern look great! Your fabric choice was perfect. My concern was about that front drape and being bulky; again the right fabric would not give it bulk. Great job and thanks for sharing the info about the gelatin!
7/23/13 5:33 AM
pdiddly said...
really lovely and just that little bit different
7/23/13 3:40 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
This is so pretty! Thanks for the jello reminder too.
7/22/13 10:49 PM
Pollycotton said...
Beautiful
7/22/13 9:50 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful top! Perfect fabric choice for this pattern.
7/22/13 9:47 PM
Christas said...
So lovely, Barbara! It appears you never make a "wadder", as ALL your garments are simply beautiful.
7/22/13 9:45 PM
TJSEWS said...
Lovely. And what a beautiful lively color - you look gorgeous (as always)!
7/22/13 9:10 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Beautiful. I learn so much from your reviews.
7/22/13 8:28 PM
JillyBe said...
SO gorgeous! The fabric, your work, the top on you - everything! I made a similar shirt last year & thought I'd never do anything like it again - yours is 1000 times nicer, and makes me rethink it. (in the Hot Patterns version though, not whatever it was I used lol). Great tips, too, thanks :)
7/22/13 5:59 PM
Shona said...
Oooooh, gorgeous fabric and it turns out much nicer than I think the pattern would suggest. Thanks for the tips.
7/22/13 5:45 PM
carolynw said...
Oh Barbara - you just keep on making clothes that I love. This looks lovely on you and the fabric is just beautiful. I may try this pattern as have a load of flimsy fabric that would look good made this way
7/22/13 3:57 PM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, my! Beautiful and original in every way! I love it on you and VH review, as well.
7/22/13 1:35 PM
sewin said...
You make the loveliest clothes. This top is no exception.
7/22/13 1:30 PM
crazygrad said...
Very pretty! Thanks for the link to jello flimsy fabrics. Whole new way to use the term "jello salad!"
7/22/13 1:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Butterick 4607

photo
by: SewEccentr...

Review
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

More Info