Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: HP1153 (Riviera Acqualina Shirt) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 478 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 180 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/22/13 12:51 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
Very pretty! Thanks for the link to jello flimsy fabrics. Whole new way to use the term "jello salad!"
7/22/13 1:05 PM
sewin said...
You make the loveliest clothes. This top is no exception.
7/22/13 1:30 PM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, my! Beautiful and original in every way! I love it on you and VH review, as well.
7/22/13 1:35 PM
carolynw said...
Oh Barbara - you just keep on making clothes that I love. This looks lovely on you and the fabric is just beautiful. I may try this pattern as have a load of flimsy fabric that would look good made this way
7/22/13 3:57 PM
Shona said...
Oooooh, gorgeous fabric and it turns out much nicer than I think the pattern would suggest. Thanks for the tips.
7/22/13 5:45 PM
JillyBe said...
SO gorgeous! The fabric, your work, the top on you - everything! I made a similar shirt last year & thought I'd never do anything like it again - yours is 1000 times nicer, and makes me rethink it. (in the Hot Patterns version though, not whatever it was I used lol). Great tips, too, thanks :)
7/22/13 5:59 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Beautiful. I learn so much from your reviews.
7/22/13 8:28 PM
TJSEWS said...
Lovely. And what a beautiful lively color - you look gorgeous (as always)!
7/22/13 9:10 PM
Christas said...
So lovely, Barbara! It appears you never make a "wadder", as ALL your garments are simply beautiful.
7/22/13 9:45 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful top! Perfect fabric choice for this pattern.
7/22/13 9:47 PM
Pollycotton said...
Beautiful
7/22/13 9:50 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
This is so pretty! Thanks for the jello reminder too.
7/22/13 10:49 PM
pdiddly said...
really lovely and just that little bit different
7/23/13 3:40 AM
Danvillegirl said...
You definitely make this pattern look great! Your fabric choice was perfect. My concern was about that front drape and being bulky; again the right fabric would not give it bulk. Great job and thanks for sharing the info about the gelatin!
7/23/13 5:33 AM
Woolygal said...
You're on a roll Barbara, all your creation r lovely.
7/23/13 7:23 AM
Rebecca D said...
What a gorgeous creation. You look stunning, stellar execution as always and such a helpful review.
7/23/13 7:23 AM
Diane333 said...
I just love reading your reviews and seeing the lovely clothing you sew. You can make just any pattern work. I find HotPatterns to be difficult, but your rendition is absolutely stunning.
7/23/13 7:29 AM
VivianZ said...
It is a very pretty top made up, but one I would never have thought pretty just looking at the pattern. I also avoid sheer fabrics for the slipperiness of them, but your technique is encouraging. Thanks for a good review, and the top is lovely.
7/23/13 9:28 AM
redside said...
You look fabulous!
7/23/13 10:23 AM
wendyrb said...
Great everything- fabric hand, color, print, workmanship and so it's totally great looking on you. Love all the finesse you put in and shared. Thanks.
7/24/13 0:01 AM
marec said...
Wonderful work and what a beautiful shirt. I really like this style on you.
7/24/13 9:52 AM
Ann Smith said...
A different style for you. I like it. Beautiful finishing technique.
7/27/13 1:53 AM
CissieW said...
Lovely top! So glad to have the gelatin tip!
7/28/13 1:50 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful Barbara. Thank you so much for the helpful review.
8/9/13 8:56 PM
Twinset said...
This is such a great top! I was wondering... did you find it true to size?
8/15/13 1:21 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you for the many comments! Twinset, I did find it true to size and appreciated the more complex points of measurements that are offered in determining what size to cut. Also, your question is a great reminder to include this information under "Pattern Sizing". I used to do that and will remember to do it in the future!
8/15/13 6:52 PM
liliv said...
You always look so stylish fresh and pretty! I love the shirt! Very much!
8/18/13 12:33 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 4099
photo
Review by Cation Des... on 5/1/13
Read Review

Vogue 2810 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 2810 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1486 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1486 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5386 Fitted Top
photo
Review by Elizabeth ... on 11/16/09
Read Review

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons
Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us