Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: m5590 - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 343 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:CissieW
photo
Friend of PR
About CissieWstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 1/21/07
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 150
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/19/13 8:52 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
grays08 said...
Great use of the colors with the ribbon...perfect in my mind!
7/19/13 9:19 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful, beautiful skirt! You say the pattern is your TNT, did you size up as suggested in the instructions? And if so by how much? I'm dying to make this skirt but I'm a bit unsure when using my TNT skirt pattern how much to size up.
7/19/13 9:19 PM
ArtAttack said...
Cissie, your ribbon skirt is fabu! I love the neutral palette...very striking... tres chic!
7/19/13 9:23 PM
velosewer said...
Love your colour choices.
7/19/13 9:41 PM
CissieW said...
I did grade up to but really didn't need to. As it turned out, I had to take in the side seams quite a bit. I would recommend sizing up just a tad and then double checking with your pattern before cutting out the pieces.
7/19/13 9:54 PM
Rhoda K said...
I, too, love your color choices - beautiful skirt.
7/19/13 10:39 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Cissie it's wonderful!! What a great punch your color scheme packs! Sarah notes that sizing up was not necessary on her skirt either so perhaps I need to amend the instructions. My test version seemed to be a bit snug in my regular size. Thanks for sewing along!
7/19/13 10:52 PM
SewLibra said...
Ooohhh, love this! For me, the color scheme would be perfect to maximize smaller hips and minimize a large top. Thank you so much for this review!
7/20/13 0:53 AM
CypGrl said...
Pretty skirt!
7/20/13 1:05 AM
CypGrl said...
Oops! Posted twice.
7/20/13 1:06 AM
SewWil said...
GORGEOUS!!! I love your color combination.
7/20/13 1:29 AM
sewpelican said...
Good to see another version, looks lovely in this colour combination too. Encouraging for all of us, well done!
7/20/13 5:47 AM
Deepika said...
Gorgeous skirt. I love the colors you chose. Very pretty.
7/20/13 7:48 AM
cleverkitty said...
Skirt looks high end, love your color choice, whole outfit is beautiful :)
7/20/13 8:16 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Stunning!
7/20/13 8:38 AM
marec said...
Oh, this is wonderful! I really like the neutrals you used.
7/20/13 10:01 AM
HRigg said...
Stunning! I am very tempted if I can get the ribbon. Thanks for sharing and thanks to Jstarr250/Good-bye Valentino too.
7/20/13 11:29 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty skirt, love your colors.
7/20/13 4:50 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Fabulous, Cissie! One of the beauties of making this skirt is designing one's own color wave. Yours is elegant!
7/20/13 5:04 PM
TinaLea said...
What a classy color combination! I saw the sew-along on GoodbyeValentino's blog, but am trying to finish my other projects first. But this will definitely be in the que for the holidays this year!
7/20/13 6:59 PM
CissieW said...
I can see this as a great holiday skirt!
7/20/13 7:02 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Love this skirt. Love your choice of ribbons for it.
7/20/13 7:38 PM
liliv said...
Oh, I love it! Very smart and unique!
7/20/13 7:44 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Cissie, thanks so much for the reply. Exactly what I needed to know. I can't wait to give this skirt a try.
7/20/13 7:50 PM
Sharonspils said...
Love your skirt the colour are wonderful!
7/21/13 0:04 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Vogue Patterns 1878
photo
Review by ggf2005 on 2/25/14
Read Review

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Details
Price: $39.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sporty Girl Skort Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sporty Girl Skort Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Kimono Top Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5720
photo
Review by lizziwhizz on 11/12/08
Read Review

McCalls 6557 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6557 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1357 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1357 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us