Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3672 (Top ) thumbsup - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 212 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Kathhhhhy
photo
About Kathhhhhystarstar
MD USA
Member since: 7/21/09
Reviews written: 105
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/20/13 10:00 AM
Last Updated:7/20/13 10:03 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squirrellypoo said...
I'm midway through making this and have pretty much IDENTICAL concerns to you regarding the finish and the shelf bra. I'm glad I'm not using expensive supplex for this first version as it appears I'll be doing many changes in future. Love the back view though!
7/20/13 2:03 PM
Kathhhhhy said...
I can't wait to see yours, Melissa! I'd like to make this again with alterations because the back is pretty cool looking. I'd like to see another person's take on it who is a runner and has similar concerns with the construction of it.
7/20/13 2:44 PM
o3b said...
Thanks for your review. Your blog is really helpful for me to see what you are talking about (I'm visual). I couldn't wear this running, and I see what you mean about it not looking the same with another sports bra underneat. I have some Prana tops that work well with my racer back bra. I wonder if if you searched images of Prana Tank, if you could find a design you like to just change the back strap part a bit and otherwise use the fit you've worked out.
7/20/13 6:32 PM
o3b said...
ETA - the Prana tanks still show my racer back, but I wear a black one, and it all layers together very nicely.
7/20/13 6:35 PM
SewLibra said...
Wow, lots of adjustments on this pattern but it looks great! Sometimes using your head and making it work is actually the fun part. I love the back, and that it frames your cute sun tat. Thanks for a good detailed review.
7/20/13 11:38 PM
sewingcanary said...
I saw the finished top on your blog. If you took the extra few minutes and basted the neckline making sure it's flat, you'd get a much smoother, more professional finished edge. Depending on how much stretch is involved, glue stick might work too however things with elastic often need to be held stretched out while the glue stick dries. Either way, I think you'd be glad you put in the extra little bit of time. Cheers.
7/21/13 4:04 PM
Kathhhhhy said...
Sewingcanary- The wrinkled neckline is a product of using a length of elastic sized too small for the actual neck opening. This created ripples as I stretched the length of the elastic to match the length of the material... the elastic draws in the fabric and the top isn't a perfect overall fit. This top was an experiment this first go round and many alterations were made resulting in a much less then perfect garment that I'm not perfectly happy with! Perhaps your good idea would work with an truer sized elastic length... I've used this technique for wovens and this works well with them. If I choose to make this top again I would use several different better quality finishes then was offered in the pattern directions resulting in a flat, smooth neckline. I wouldn't use elastic or a shelf bra-- this top as is from the envelope isn't appropriate for running and I attempted to make it for running :) Ha!! And that yellow top on my blog was a bit of a problem, too for other reasons causing rippled necklines! I always post all my sewing adventures --my great successes along with these fun experiments :)
7/22/13 10:09 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

No Pattern Used No pattern number
photo
Review by XandraReyn... on 6/7/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3718 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3718 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5916 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5916 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1801 Misses Dress
photo
Review by ThreadsofF... on 1/21/13
Read Review

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )
Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us