SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3672 (Top )

6 more reviews
Viewed 223 times 
Reviewed by:Kathhhhhy
photo

 
 
About Kathhhhhystarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 7/21/09
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/20/13 10:00 AM
Last Updated:7/20/13 10:03 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kathhhhhy said...
Sewingcanary- The wrinkled neckline is a product of using a length of elastic sized too small for the actual neck opening. This created ripples as I stretched the length of the elastic to match the length of the material... the elastic draws in the fabric and the top isn't a perfect overall fit. This top was an experiment this first go round and many alterations were made resulting in a much less then perfect garment that I'm not perfectly happy with! Perhaps your good idea would work with an truer sized elastic length... I've used this technique for wovens and this works well with them. If I choose to make this top again I would use several different better quality finishes then was offered in the pattern directions resulting in a flat, smooth neckline. I wouldn't use elastic or a shelf bra-- this top as is from the envelope isn't appropriate for running and I attempted to make it for running :) Ha!! And that yellow top on my blog was a bit of a problem, too for other reasons causing rippled necklines! I always post all my sewing adventures --my great successes along with these fun experiments :)
7/22/13 10:09 AM
sewingcanary said...
I saw the finished top on your blog. If you took the extra few minutes and basted the neckline making sure it's flat, you'd get a much smoother, more professional finished edge. Depending on how much stretch is involved, glue stick might work too however things with elastic often need to be held stretched out while the glue stick dries. Either way, I think you'd be glad you put in the extra little bit of time. Cheers.
7/21/13 4:04 PM
SewLibra said...
Wow, lots of adjustments on this pattern but it looks great! Sometimes using your head and making it work is actually the fun part. I love the back, and that it frames your cute sun tat. Thanks for a good detailed review.
7/20/13 11:38 PM
o3b said...
ETA - the Prana tanks still show my racer back, but I wear a black one, and it all layers together very nicely.
7/20/13 6:35 PM
o3b said...
Thanks for your review. Your blog is really helpful for me to see what you are talking about (I'm visual). I couldn't wear this running, and I see what you mean about it not looking the same with another sports bra underneat. I have some Prana tops that work well with my racer back bra. I wonder if if you searched images of Prana Tank, if you could find a design you like to just change the back strap part a bit and otherwise use the fit you've worked out.
7/20/13 6:32 PM
Kathhhhhy said...
I can't wait to see yours, Melissa! I'd like to make this again with alterations because the back is pretty cool looking. I'd like to see another person's take on it who is a runner and has similar concerns with the construction of it.
7/20/13 2:44 PM
squirrellypoo said...
I'm midway through making this and have pretty much IDENTICAL concerns to you regarding the finish and the shelf bra. I'm glad I'm not using expensive supplex for this first version as it appears I'll be doing many changes in future. Love the back view though!
7/20/13 2:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

StyleArc Jenny Shirt

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Vogue Patterns 8837

photo
by: KathB

Review
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Buy Now