SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6746 (Misses' Dresses)

Viewed 306 times 
Reviewed by:ssssdeb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ssssdebstar
UT United States
Member since: 11/3/08
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 78
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/24/13 9:58 PM
Last Updated:7/24/13 10:07 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
I only meant I won't make it right now because I don't have two fabrics that work together. I still like the dress and feel confident now that I have figured it out.
4/21/14 11:19 AM
ssssdeb said...
Ann - reconsider. I like my dress. It took some fiddling but it was worth it. I get compliments when I wear it.
4/21/14 9:40 AM
Ann Smith said...
I've been studying this pattern thinking I would make it. It took a while but I think I finally understand. At first I thought the contrast was an option but they only show the instructions using the contrast. In the yardage amounts they say X amount for fabric and X amount for contrast. They don't quite say it that simply but that is what is meant. So you cut the 2 pieces out of each fabric. The entire garment is made with the double fabric. The only option is how you put the two together so that the contrast shows on half the garment or just at the knot and functions as a lining. I agree the instructions are really bad. The worst mistake is to say it is cut on the cross grain. No way. No fabric is that wide. You could only do it if you seam the bottom instead of cutting it on the fold as instructed. They do mention layering with a bandeau bra for modesty. Otherwise that neckline and armholes are way too low! So now that I realize you must have 2 fabrics to make it I guess I won't be making it.
4/20/14 7:19 PM
MrsCharisma said...
McCall's should be paying you. This is fabulous and there's is NOTHING about the pattern envelope that would make me want to purchase it. Nice work!
8/6/13 9:03 AM
nicegirl said...
The twist is a cool little detail, and your two fabrics really highlight it. Nice job!
7/25/13 10:41 AM
Danmar said...
This looks better on you than on the pattern envelope. The 2 colors are a nice surprise. Good review, very easy to understand! Thank you
7/25/13 7:02 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Simplicity 2212

photo
by: Dale C

Review
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

More Info
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

More Info