Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2588 (Misses and Miss Petite Dresses Project Runway Collection) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 166 times 47 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:petitesewist
photo
About petitesewiststar
Member since: 9/20/11
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/22/13 9:34 PM
Last Updated:2/15/14 9:15 AM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2588
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Satin  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
The full review is on my blog post here

This dress pattern from Project Runway allows you to choose different skirt and sleeve options. I chose the flared skirt with the flat sleeves.

***Because the pattern instructions aren't very straight forward, I would not recommend this pattern to someone who has limited experience sewing clothing. ***

Problems with the pattern:
ZIPPER --- The envelope tells you to buy a 22" zipper, but not what kind. Use an invisible zipper.
HEM DEPTH --- The pattern didn't say how much to hem the skirt.

HEM TAPE --- Not mentioned under one of the notions, but I feel like hem tape is invaluable when hemming a flared skirt. The end result is much smoother and looks nicer from the right side of fabric. Satin can be a nightmare to sew with. Let's not make it any more difficult, please!

POCKETS --- I also did not think that the instructions for constructing the pockets were very intuitive, but I hate reading instructions...so yeah. But I love pockets!

FRONT PLEATS ---The front pleats were harder to construct than I expected. I think sometimes it's difficult to wrap your head around how to fold a pleat when it's just a flat piece of nothingness. I figured it out after a few tries. The instructions tell you to actually sew the pleat together, fold and press it to one side, and then remove the stitching.

I made a ton of alterations to make this pattern fit my body. I go over them on my blog post here.

Overall look:
I think the front view looks great! The dress fits perfectly in the bust and pretty good at the shoulders and waist. I will be using this pattern again soon, maybe in a cotton or linen fabric.




thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
1 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
agirlnamedkatie said...
I find with being petite as well the project runway pattern's torsos are just too long! And I came across some of the same problems in my last pattern with them about not being very straightforward about what is needed and steps to take. I often don't pay attention to the instructions at all and just put it together on my own. I enjoy the puzzle. Here is a link to my dress that used two project runway patterns: http://loveiswhyiwake.blogspot.com/2014/02/project-little-white-dress_13.html
2/15/14 10:17 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

New Look 6347
photo
Review by whirrclunk on 11/29/08
Read Review

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)
Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6631
photo
Review by Seweemama on 7/9/13
Read Review

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2065 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 2065 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6553 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6553 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us