SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2805 (Women's t-shirts)

73 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 102 times 
Reviewed by:sunnysewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sunnysewingstarstar
WI United States
Member since: 5/4/12
Reviews written: 114
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 114
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:7/24/13 2:41 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Whatever said...
Interesting how they suddenly grow. She does look like this is a happy result!
7/24/13 2:46 PM
sunnysewing said...
lol I'm sure she will grow now that I've got it down too ;-) Thanks!
7/24/13 2:48 PM
NEMDF said...
Very nice shirt! It looks great on her. Please advise, what did you use for the neck binding, and where did you buy it? Thanks.
7/24/13 2:52 PM
Renren said...
Thanks for that detailed explanation of the order in which you sewed the tee. I have been intrigued about the method of sewing one shoulder, then binding the neck, then sewing the other shoulder ever since I read about it at a blog a review linked to. Apparently that is the way it is done in the industry. Your instructions were clear and I could visualize each step. I do believe these Jalie patterns typically are drafted to fit tight and I attribute this to--what should I call it--their sportswear aesthetic? Skating and gymnastics wear are specifically what I am thinking about. Cute tee! Glad you got the fit all worked out, and yes, they do rather tend to grow and grow and grow!
7/24/13 3:03 PM
sunnysewing said...
@ NEMDF - I used a Cotton Blend Rib Knit in Fuchsia from Fabric.com (50% cotton and 50% poly). I love this stuff because it is soft but yet structured enough for the neckline. The pattern gives you the measurement for it - which is nice - You then fold it in half and sew right sides together with shirt neck. Then flip it up and sew down the seam allowance onto the shirt. (hope that helps!)
7/24/13 4:21 PM
sunnysewing said...
Thanks Renren :) I'll never go back to binding in the round... ugh!
7/24/13 4:22 PM
liliv said...
Thanks for the helpful review. The top is cute and the finishes look rtw (the good ones, not the cheapy!)
7/25/13 9:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8409

photo
by: mkruszewsk...

Review
Dixie DIY One shoulder knit Dress

photo
by: thegreenvi...

Review
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now