SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2805 (Women's t-shirts)

83 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 108 times 
Reviewed by:sunnysewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sunnysewingstarstarstar
WI United States
Member since: 5/4/12
Reviews: 150 (patterns: 150)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:7/24/13 2:41 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details

Other Projects by sunnysewing using this Pattern

photophotophoto

Merchants on PR

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns


vestapatterns.com
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
liliv said... (7/25/13 9:55 AM) Reply
Thanks for the helpful review. The top is cute and the finishes look rtw (the good ones, not the cheapy!)
sunnysewing said... (7/24/13 4:22 PM) Reply
Thanks Renren :) I'll never go back to binding in the round... ugh!
sunnysewing said... (7/24/13 4:21 PM) Reply
@ NEMDF - I used a Cotton Blend Rib Knit in Fuchsia from Fabric.com (50% cotton and 50% poly). I love this stuff because it is soft but yet structured enough for the neckline. The pattern gives you the measurement for it - which is nice - You then fold it in half and sew right sides together with shirt neck. Then flip it up and sew down the seam allowance onto the shirt. (hope that helps!)
renren said... (7/24/13 3:03 PM) Reply
Thanks for that detailed explanation of the order in which you sewed the tee. I have been intrigued about the method of sewing one shoulder, then binding the neck, then sewing the other shoulder ever since I read about it at a blog a review linked to. Apparently that is the way it is done in the industry. Your instructions were clear and I could visualize each step. I do believe these Jalie patterns typically are drafted to fit tight and I attribute this to--what should I call it--their sportswear aesthetic? Skating and gymnastics wear are specifically what I am thinking about. Cute tee! Glad you got the fit all worked out, and yes, they do rather tend to grow and grow and grow!
NEMDF said... (7/24/13 2:52 PM) Reply
Very nice shirt! It looks great on her. Please advise, what did you use for the neck binding, and where did you buy it? Thanks.
sunnysewing said... (7/24/13 2:48 PM) Reply
lol I'm sure she will grow now that I've got it down too ;-) Thanks!
Sew Whatever said... (7/24/13 2:46 PM) Reply
Interesting how they suddenly grow. She does look like this is a happy result!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

My Image Magazine M1357

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review
Lazy Girl Designs Slicker Tote Paper Pattern

Lazy Girl Designs Slicker Tote Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Pattern Details