SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2443 (Misses' Dresses)

81 more reviews
Viewed 332 times 
Reviewed by:froggiegirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About froggiegirlstar
Member since: 5/23/09
Reviews written: 86
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 84
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:7/24/13 6:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Vests    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
arianamaniacs said...
The first thing i thought when i saw this was cool fabric! your dress looks great despite your reservations. i dont get the maternity vibe at all, id wear this everywhere!
7/26/13 2:48 PM
bikegrrl said...
You look fabulous in this, and you did a great job of working with the fabrics. Well done!!
7/26/13 1:33 AM
SewWil said...
I think your dress looks great. I'm not getting the maternity vibe from it at all. Your fabric is fabulous!
7/25/13 5:59 PM
MrsCharisma said...
I LOVE this dress and your review made me literally laugh out loud :) I agree that the strap instructions are silly and can only recommend people layer those seams! I wear my imperfect version and have been looking for the perfect fabric to showcase this dress. I think you've renewed my interest with your version!
7/25/13 12:29 PM
froggiegirl said...
Thank you all for your lovely comments. I have a feeling that if you used a double knit as suggested than the sewing process would be a lot easier,
7/25/13 8:57 AM
betty bushwacker said...
Really like your version. At least now I know why my daughter dumped the cut out pieces on my sewing table and said "Mum, can you finish this????" Yay.
7/25/13 8:30 AM
Danvillegirl said...
The fabric is so unique which adds to the special look of this dress. Great job
7/25/13 5:29 AM
Dilliander said...
Even if you don't tackle this pattern again, this dress is lovely and the gorgeous fabric with the contrast bands looks great.
7/25/13 0:10 AM
ArtAttack said...
This is gorgeous! Love the fabric and the black insets...great job...hope you start to love it!
7/24/13 11:11 PM
Renren said...
I certainly don't want a trip to crazytown! Interesting to read about your experiences as my overall impression of this pattern from other reviews was positive. Hmm, it's in my queue to sew but maybe I'll hold off on it. I must tell you though, it really is lovely and absolutely doesn't send off maternity vibes from what I can see.
7/24/13 10:04 PM
kittykate said...
I like the finished outfit, great review good info about the straps. I can feel your frustration!
7/24/13 8:36 PM
cleverkitty said...
I had this pattern, I made the jacket and DD took the jacket and the pattern, I saw it in her sewing room and though about reclaiming it for the dress version but.... maybe not. I love your fabric, Marcy Tilton is first on my list for fabric when I finish my stash. Your dress looks fantastic despite everything ;)
7/24/13 8:19 PM
velosewer said...
I'd wear this as a unique piece. You've used the fabric print really well.
7/24/13 7:32 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
I think it's totally unique and the fabric is very special. Great job with it.
7/24/13 7:12 PM
Mobycat said...
I like the dress.
7/24/13 6:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 304975-1000

photo
by: Milenushka

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Buy Now