Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2443 (Misses' Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 295 times 79 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:froggiegirl
photo
Friend of PR
About froggiegirlstar
PA USA
Member since: 5/23/09
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:7/24/13 6:21 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Vests    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mobycat said...
I like the dress.
7/24/13 6:45 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
I think it's totally unique and the fabric is very special. Great job with it.
7/24/13 7:12 PM
velosewer said...
I'd wear this as a unique piece. You've used the fabric print really well.
7/24/13 7:32 PM
cleverkitty said...
I had this pattern, I made the jacket and DD took the jacket and the pattern, I saw it in her sewing room and though about reclaiming it for the dress version but.... maybe not. I love your fabric, Marcy Tilton is first on my list for fabric when I finish my stash. Your dress looks fantastic despite everything ;)
7/24/13 8:19 PM
kittykate said...
I like the finished outfit, great review good info about the straps. I can feel your frustration!
7/24/13 8:36 PM
Renren said...
I certainly don't want a trip to crazytown! Interesting to read about your experiences as my overall impression of this pattern from other reviews was positive. Hmm, it's in my queue to sew but maybe I'll hold off on it. I must tell you though, it really is lovely and absolutely doesn't send off maternity vibes from what I can see.
7/24/13 10:04 PM
ArtAttack said...
This is gorgeous! Love the fabric and the black insets...great job...hope you start to love it!
7/24/13 11:11 PM
Dilliander said...
Even if you don't tackle this pattern again, this dress is lovely and the gorgeous fabric with the contrast bands looks great.
7/25/13 0:10 AM
Danvillegirl said...
The fabric is so unique which adds to the special look of this dress. Great job
7/25/13 5:29 AM
betty bushwacker said...
Really like your version. At least now I know why my daughter dumped the cut out pieces on my sewing table and said "Mum, can you finish this????" Yay.
7/25/13 8:30 AM
froggiegirl said...
Thank you all for your lovely comments. I have a feeling that if you used a double knit as suggested than the sewing process would be a lot easier,
7/25/13 8:57 AM
MrsCharisma said...
I LOVE this dress and your review made me literally laugh out loud :) I agree that the strap instructions are silly and can only recommend people layer those seams! I wear my imperfect version and have been looking for the perfect fabric to showcase this dress. I think you've renewed my interest with your version!
7/25/13 12:29 PM
SewWil said...
I think your dress looks great. I'm not getting the maternity vibe from it at all. Your fabric is fabulous!
7/25/13 5:59 PM
bikegrrl said...
You look fabulous in this, and you did a great job of working with the fabrics. Well done!!
7/26/13 1:33 AM
arianamaniacs said...
The first thing i thought when i saw this was cool fabric! your dress looks great despite your reservations. i dont get the maternity vibe at all, id wear this everywhere!
7/26/13 2:48 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Vogue Patterns 8488 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by FruGirl on 11/12/10
Read Review

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2823
photo
Review by Lorri on 12/31/08
Read Review

Victory Ava Paper Pattern
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6931 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6931 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8924 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8924 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us