SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2443 (Misses' Dresses)

81 more reviews
Viewed 327 times 
Reviewed by:froggiegirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About froggiegirlstar
Member since: 5/23/09
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 81
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:7/24/13 6:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Vests    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mobycat said...
I like the dress.
7/24/13 6:45 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
I think it's totally unique and the fabric is very special. Great job with it.
7/24/13 7:12 PM
velosewer said...
I'd wear this as a unique piece. You've used the fabric print really well.
7/24/13 7:32 PM
cleverkitty said...
I had this pattern, I made the jacket and DD took the jacket and the pattern, I saw it in her sewing room and though about reclaiming it for the dress version but.... maybe not. I love your fabric, Marcy Tilton is first on my list for fabric when I finish my stash. Your dress looks fantastic despite everything ;)
7/24/13 8:19 PM
kittykate said...
I like the finished outfit, great review good info about the straps. I can feel your frustration!
7/24/13 8:36 PM
Renren said...
I certainly don't want a trip to crazytown! Interesting to read about your experiences as my overall impression of this pattern from other reviews was positive. Hmm, it's in my queue to sew but maybe I'll hold off on it. I must tell you though, it really is lovely and absolutely doesn't send off maternity vibes from what I can see.
7/24/13 10:04 PM
ArtAttack said...
This is gorgeous! Love the fabric and the black insets...great job...hope you start to love it!
7/24/13 11:11 PM
Dilliander said...
Even if you don't tackle this pattern again, this dress is lovely and the gorgeous fabric with the contrast bands looks great.
7/25/13 0:10 AM
Danvillegirl said...
The fabric is so unique which adds to the special look of this dress. Great job
7/25/13 5:29 AM
betty bushwacker said...
Really like your version. At least now I know why my daughter dumped the cut out pieces on my sewing table and said "Mum, can you finish this????" Yay.
7/25/13 8:30 AM
froggiegirl said...
Thank you all for your lovely comments. I have a feeling that if you used a double knit as suggested than the sewing process would be a lot easier,
7/25/13 8:57 AM
MrsCharisma said...
I LOVE this dress and your review made me literally laugh out loud :) I agree that the strap instructions are silly and can only recommend people layer those seams! I wear my imperfect version and have been looking for the perfect fabric to showcase this dress. I think you've renewed my interest with your version!
7/25/13 12:29 PM
SewWil said...
I think your dress looks great. I'm not getting the maternity vibe from it at all. Your fabric is fabulous!
7/25/13 5:59 PM
bikegrrl said...
You look fabulous in this, and you did a great job of working with the fabrics. Well done!!
7/26/13 1:33 AM
arianamaniacs said...
The first thing i thought when i saw this was cool fabric! your dress looks great despite your reservations. i dont get the maternity vibe at all, id wear this everywhere!
7/26/13 2:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

McCall's 5974

photo
by: sarah121ha...

Review
Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Buy Now