Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 3595 (Jean Style Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1316 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Frogstitcher
photo
About Frogstitcherstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 2/26/05
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/05 7:54 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
Cool jacket. Nice job with the frayed seams.
4/15/05 8:29 PM
keric said...
Too cute! I love the frays on it! Good job!
4/15/05 9:21 PM
Enid E said...
Neat job! I made this jacket in a printed drapery fabric.. I agree the pattern picture IS quite deceiving..I shortened my jacket to just below the waist and took in the sleeve from mid arm to wrist..the sleeves were too wide for my liking...
4/15/05 10:42 PM
PixieCat said...
Great jacket that looks like it fits well. The frayed seams are a nice touch!
4/16/05 3:31 AM
blue mooney said...
Very nice! Love your seam treatments. I have also made this, and I too thought it would have a closer fit like on the envelope. Someone else here on PR I think made this in a brocade with less fabric in the sleeves. It's a nice pattern, a jean jacket but with a difference, but it's definately sized to be worn over layers.
4/16/05 6:47 AM
jacalhoun said...
I really like your jacket. I made the long version of this out of curdoroy lined with sherpa (or something wool-ish). It's a really great winter coat. I never thought of making it out of denim. Now I'm going to have to! Thanks for the review.
4/16/05 6:57 AM
JoleneF said...
Your jacket looks great. I think the frayed seams really look nice.
4/16/05 7:44 AM
SouthernStitch said...
I've got loads of denim I needed ideas for so thanks for the review. Yours came out looking really nice.
4/16/05 8:04 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Your jacket looks great. I've been wanting this pattern, but it's never in the drawer when I look.
4/16/05 8:10 AM
els said...
You transformed denin into a modern style jacket.
4/16/05 8:16 AM
Tini said...
Great jacket, really brings more "life" to an otherwise pretty basic pattern! I love the lining too!
4/16/05 9:11 AM
Frogstitcher said...
This is my first review and I'd hoped it would be a success. Mizzearl - I too was not fond of the width of the lower sleeves when I tried it on. However, after seeing the jacket through the lens of the camera, I have changed my mind, I kinda like them. Thanks everyone for your very kind comments.
4/16/05 10:35 AM
AnneM said...
Cute jacket - I love your lining.
4/17/05 8:47 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Kwik Sew 2849
photo
Review by JKimes on 12/14/10
Read Review

Simplicity 3878 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 3878 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6296 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8-10-12-14 )
New Look 6296 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6668
photo
Review by beanchor on 5/19/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us