SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Fashion Sewing Group> 1945 (Jacket)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1826 times 
Reviewed by:KarmenG
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KarmenGstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 1/3/03
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/16/05 4:55 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Julia in NC said...
your jacket is gorgeous. wow.
4/16/05 5:01 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Stunning jacket!! Thanks for the tips about the button placement. Would you say that this would be better for an intermediate sewist?
4/16/05 5:04 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful job! I love bound buttonholes and yours look fantastic. Sounds like the two of you had a great time with this jacket. They are both stunning.
4/16/05 5:15 PM
Patti B said...
Gorgeous jacket, Lois!
4/16/05 5:44 PM
els said...
Another stunning jacket.
4/16/05 5:45 PM
KarmenG said...
Jennifer - I think an intermediate sewist would be fine. I opted for some speed tailoring touches which still produced a nice result. Peggy Sagers and Mary Rohr have both published videos/books on that stuff if you need input. Go for it!
4/16/05 5:56 PM
jlg said...
Lovely. The workmanship is impressive.
4/16/05 6:36 PM
Kay Y said...
Great recovery on the sleeves!! I really like that look with the button above the opening. I may have to borrow the idea sometime....
4/16/05 8:15 PM
Lori V said...
very beautiful
4/16/05 10:06 PM
Liana said...
Beautiful jacket. Looks like you two had a great time doing a wonderful project.
4/16/05 10:13 PM
MarilynB said...
Your jacket is wonderful. I have made this jacket twice and love the look of it. Even with all the flaws in the pattern and instructions, it is a flattering jacket.
4/16/05 10:41 PM
PVA said...
Beautiful jacket -- I love your design touches, as in the open sleeve vent topped with a button. (I like the buttons, too.) The great part about deciding to use this pattern in spite of its shortcomings is that now we all can refer back to the reviews that give us advance warnings about the trouble spots. (8^D)
4/17/05 0:08 AM
kathi s said...
Beautiful job! I love your fabric. You and Karmeng have really got this pattern mastered. After reading both your comments, I think that I will have to leave this one for a time when I have better skills. Congratulations!
4/17/05 0:10 AM
PixieCat said...
Wow! This is what I aspire to be able to make some day. Gorgeous!
4/17/05 5:37 AM
blue mooney said...
another lovely jacket. Thanks for doing these side-by-side reviews. Very helpful, and it sounds like it was fun, too!
4/17/05 7:17 AM
JoleneF said...
What a beautiful jacket and a great review!
4/17/05 8:20 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What a beautiful jacket! I love the change you made to the sleeve.
4/17/05 8:52 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Lois, I'm so impressed. Your jacket is fabulous. You got the fit perfect and have done such a professional job on those bound buttonholes and welt pockets.
4/17/05 10:35 AM
MickeyFan said...
Another excellent review and a lovely jacket. I'm certain you will get many compliments!
4/17/05 10:38 AM
MaryBeth said...
Your jacket looks great! I love the slits at the sleeves. Good save and I like the length of the slit: it's eyecatching and interesting.
4/17/05 10:47 AM
KarmenG said...
Thanks for all the kind comments. Mary Beth the slit is 3" long. The photo makes the sides look uneven but they are the same length.
4/17/05 11:51 AM
Tricia Plummer said...
Karmeng, This review was very helpful to me. I subscribe to Nancy's newsletter and have all her patterns (not to mention her beautiful fabrics!) I tried this pattern once but the fabric from her newsletter raveled an awful lot and I probably lost a size and a half (before I decided to serge the edges!) Anyway, I've been afraid of the pattern ever since (although the raveling had nothing to do with the pattern) but after reading your review, I'm going to make a muslin and give it another shot. Thanks for the great info.
4/17/05 2:46 PM
KarmenG said...
Tricia - I'm glad you'll give it another try. Feel free to write if you have questions. I took the less traditional route of Speed Tailoring and fused the entire jacket which minimized raveling. Good luck and we'll be looking for your review! ; )
4/17/05 3:36 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Your jacket looks great. You and Kay Y did a great job with a trying pattern.
4/17/05 7:24 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a fun idea -- to collaborate with someone on a pattern! Your buttonholes and slash pockets look absolutely perfect. Congratulations on such a beautiful garment and for having the patience to master what sounds like a very difficult pattern.
4/17/05 8:42 PM
natural blue said...
Oh Lois, What beautiful work! Congrats on a stunning addition to your wardrobe.
4/20/05 4:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 5685

photo
by: Manalto

Review
BurdaStyle Downloadable 3197

photo
by: MiniandMer...

Review
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now