Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5917 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 844 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:GoodbyeValntino
photo
Friend of PR
About GoodbyeValntinostarstarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/18/11
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 125 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/1/13 11:20 AM
Last Updated:8/1/13 11:22 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
slmstyle said...
Great dress! I like your madras patchwork fabric, very fun!
8/1/13 11:44 AM
SewWil said...
This dress screams SUMMER FUN! Love your dress and the fabric is perfect. I never noticed this pattern. Now I have to have it. Thanks for the review.
8/1/13 11:50 AM
Meredith P said...
Love it!
8/1/13 12:03 PM
ArtAttack said...
Ditto SewWil...must have!
8/1/13 12:07 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Madras never looked this good! I loved this pattern from the moment I saw it. What perfect colors on you- GORGEOUS!
8/1/13 12:30 PM
HRigg said...
Love this. I am so envious. I had some patchwork cotton and didn't think it would work for a dress so I made a shirt top. Oh! if only I had seen your review first.
8/1/13 12:40 PM
manybellsdown said...
This dress looks better than the ones on the pattern envelope. Love the Madras!
8/1/13 1:34 PM
sunnysewing said...
Wow! I love this dress! your fabric is amazing and the fit is very flattering.
8/1/13 1:41 PM
dinagideon said...
I have this one in my pattern collection so I could replicate a J. Crew dress I had but didn't quite suit my figure. I was all ready to make it from a wool and have it be perfection for winter, but now I am convinced I must do it up in a summer fabric, too! Thank you for the inspiration!
8/1/13 2:01 PM
LlanoGirl said...
I have this pattern and have to sew it right away after seeing yours! Super cute!
8/1/13 3:00 PM
cleverkitty said...
you always seem to come up with new twist on using those beloved fabrics and this one I want in my closet gorgeous summer colors!!!
8/1/13 3:12 PM
21wale said...
Lovely dress. What a fun use of madras!
8/1/13 6:33 PM
STARG said...
Very nice dress. I would never have thought of using a madras fabric for this style, but it looks great!
8/1/13 6:38 PM
BeckyC said...
The dress is beautiful on you and it screams summer fun! Thanks for letting us know you got such a great fit with minor alterations.
8/1/13 7:17 PM
NancyZL said...
Great looking, fabulous combination of fabric and pattern for a very unique look!
8/1/13 7:25 PM
margy.64 said...
Absolutely perfect. The design and the colours are so flattering on you.
8/1/13 9:31 PM
Renata said...
Another lovely creation. Keep them coming.
8/2/13 1:02 AM
liliv said...
What a gorgeous print! This dress is wow!
8/2/13 6:13 AM
VivianZ said...
What a fun dress!
8/2/13 8:23 AM
Bonnie O said...
WOuld never had thought to pair madras with this pattern but it ROCKS! You look fantastic. What a great summer dress.
8/2/13 8:24 AM
sing201 said...
Love this dress it is beautiful. I like the color of the madras you chose.
8/2/13 8:34 AM
grays08 said...
Terrific use of the madras, quite unexpected but completely sells it in a fabulous way! Gotta love an easier project too, so glad this is in my stash waiting for my attention. = ) This looks fabulous on you and makes me want to enjoy the remainder of our summer sewing window. = )
8/2/13 10:06 AM
Barbara V said...
Very cute pattern, dress and fit on you! So fresh and ideal for summer.
8/2/13 10:44 AM
Wianno Girl said...
I too see this as a great pattern to use for a dressier fall/winter fabric but is is also just super fun for summer - great style again!
8/2/13 11:04 AM
sewpelican said...
Fabric + Pattern make great summer dress, lovely.
8/2/13 5:35 PM
redrockcity said...
Fantastic use of the Madras patchwork fabric. The ruffle is the perfect finishing touch!
8/2/13 11:04 PM
yummymummy38 said...
I love this breezy look and I too am a fan of raised empire waists. The frill keeps it interesting, feminine without being too froufrou
8/4/13 9:07 AM
Melwyk said...
This looks fabulous! Great colours on you, and I love the pics -- very summery :)
8/23/13 10:14 PM
Sew Good said...
I think your fabric selection was one of the most successful choices for this pattern. This is the first time I have seen this pattern. Surprised I missed it. I love it
10/19/13 0:09 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Contest Wardrobe Contest Sep 2009
photo
Review by samiroquai on 9/21/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Fairy Tale Dress Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Fairy Tale Dress Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5860 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5860 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2011-34: Glow worm top
photo
Review by hme75 on 5/21/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us