SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5917 (Misses Dress)

20 more reviews
Viewed 899 times 
Reviewed by:GoodbyeValntino
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About GoodbyeValntinostarstarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/18/11
Reviews written: 112
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 136 people
patterns reviewed: 108
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/1/13 11:20 AM
Last Updated:8/1/13 11:22 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
slmstyle said...
Great dress! I like your madras patchwork fabric, very fun!
8/1/13 11:44 AM
SewWil said...
This dress screams SUMMER FUN! Love your dress and the fabric is perfect. I never noticed this pattern. Now I have to have it. Thanks for the review.
8/1/13 11:50 AM
Meredith P said...
Love it!
8/1/13 12:03 PM
ArtAttack said...
Ditto SewWil...must have!
8/1/13 12:07 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Madras never looked this good! I loved this pattern from the moment I saw it. What perfect colors on you- GORGEOUS!
8/1/13 12:30 PM
HRigg said...
Love this. I am so envious. I had some patchwork cotton and didn't think it would work for a dress so I made a shirt top. Oh! if only I had seen your review first.
8/1/13 12:40 PM
manybellsdown said...
This dress looks better than the ones on the pattern envelope. Love the Madras!
8/1/13 1:34 PM
sunnysewing said...
Wow! I love this dress! your fabric is amazing and the fit is very flattering.
8/1/13 1:41 PM
dinagideon said...
I have this one in my pattern collection so I could replicate a J. Crew dress I had but didn't quite suit my figure. I was all ready to make it from a wool and have it be perfection for winter, but now I am convinced I must do it up in a summer fabric, too! Thank you for the inspiration!
8/1/13 2:01 PM
LlanoGirl said...
I have this pattern and have to sew it right away after seeing yours! Super cute!
8/1/13 3:00 PM
cleverkitty said...
you always seem to come up with new twist on using those beloved fabrics and this one I want in my closet gorgeous summer colors!!!
8/1/13 3:12 PM
21wale said...
Lovely dress. What a fun use of madras!
8/1/13 6:33 PM
STARG said...
Very nice dress. I would never have thought of using a madras fabric for this style, but it looks great!
8/1/13 6:38 PM
BeckyC said...
The dress is beautiful on you and it screams summer fun! Thanks for letting us know you got such a great fit with minor alterations.
8/1/13 7:17 PM
NancyZL said...
Great looking, fabulous combination of fabric and pattern for a very unique look!
8/1/13 7:25 PM
margy.64 said...
Absolutely perfect. The design and the colours are so flattering on you.
8/1/13 9:31 PM
Renata said...
Another lovely creation. Keep them coming.
8/2/13 1:02 AM
liliv said...
What a gorgeous print! This dress is wow!
8/2/13 6:13 AM
VivianZ said...
What a fun dress!
8/2/13 8:23 AM
Bonnie O said...
WOuld never had thought to pair madras with this pattern but it ROCKS! You look fantastic. What a great summer dress.
8/2/13 8:24 AM
sing201 said...
Love this dress it is beautiful. I like the color of the madras you chose.
8/2/13 8:34 AM
grays08 said...
Terrific use of the madras, quite unexpected but completely sells it in a fabulous way! Gotta love an easier project too, so glad this is in my stash waiting for my attention. = ) This looks fabulous on you and makes me want to enjoy the remainder of our summer sewing window. = )
8/2/13 10:06 AM
Barbara V said...
Very cute pattern, dress and fit on you! So fresh and ideal for summer.
8/2/13 10:44 AM
Wianno Girl said...
I too see this as a great pattern to use for a dressier fall/winter fabric but is is also just super fun for summer - great style again!
8/2/13 11:04 AM
sewpelican said...
Fabric + Pattern make great summer dress, lovely.
8/2/13 5:35 PM
redrockcity said...
Fantastic use of the Madras patchwork fabric. The ruffle is the perfect finishing touch!
8/2/13 11:04 PM
yummymummy38 said...
I love this breezy look and I too am a fan of raised empire waists. The frill keeps it interesting, feminine without being too froufrou
8/4/13 9:07 AM
Melwyk said...
This looks fabulous! Great colours on you, and I love the pics -- very summery :)
8/23/13 10:14 PM
Sew Good said...
I think your fabric selection was one of the most successful choices for this pattern. This is the first time I have seen this pattern. Surprised I missed it. I love it
10/19/13 0:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

McCall's 6488

photo
by: Natasha Jo...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 259307-1000

photo
by: oldfashion...

Review
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Buy Now