SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Design Magazine> 03-2011-18 (Tropical Blend)

2 more reviews
Review submitted in 2013 Sewing for Children Contest Contest
Viewed 101 times 
Reviewed by:sunnysewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sunnysewingstarstar
WI United States
Member since: 5/4/12
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 119
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/1/13 12:01 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fattyboomboom said...
Gingham piping! Yes, yes, yes!
8/31/13 9:18 AM
SheBear0320 said...
The alterations you made to the dress make the fit so much better -- your daughter looks adorable in this dress.
8/27/13 1:21 AM
Sewncooknmom said...
It's a very sweet dress.
8/11/13 2:08 AM
Levone said...
Cute dress!
8/3/13 12:14 PM
HRigg said...
What a beautifully made dress. Looks gorgeous.
8/2/13 5:02 PM
liliv said...
I love the dropped-waist too and I love this print! Very cute dress, I wish you good luck!!
8/2/13 6:11 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Cute. I have some Ottobre magazines for children but haven't tried them yet. This is cute on your daughter!
8/1/13 10:37 PM
sunnysewing said...
Thanks Renren, I'll have to try out your method. I sometimes wonder if they think about things like armholes when they make the pattern. Children's pattern sewing is so much easier for me than to sew for myself! plus, I was up at 4am today... had to do something to keep busy! ;-)
8/1/13 1:39 PM
Renren said...
Oh, I just noticed it has been entered in the Sewing for Children contest. Congratulations on having the first entry! First day, first entry! That's fast.
8/1/13 12:27 PM
Renren said...
I think that dropped-waist look is very good even if it is not what the pattern intended. Really, we do spend effort modifying patterns to get various looks, so just consider this a style change! Loving the combo of fabrics--print and gingham check. On every Kwik Sew pattern I have sewn I have to fold out about 1 inch from armhole to armhole on the shorten/lengthen line (front and back). It's an easy modification if there are no sleeves. I learned that from treefrog and Margaret who I believe also make the same alteration. Interestingly, I also have to make an adjustment for a long waist. So I'm shortening at the armhole (about an inch) and adding overall length at the waist (about 2 inches). Even with no alterations, I think this is a cute and adorable summer dress.
8/1/13 12:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Buy Now
PR Member's Pattern Savage Coco

photo
by: meggipeg

Review