SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Pin-up Girls> PB-3200  (Shelley Full Band Bra)

7 more reviews
Viewed 360 times 
Reviewed by:Ros B.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ros B.
CANADA
Member since: 9/20/12
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/13 2:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jeanbluecat said...
Amazing! You have inspired me to seriously think about making my own bra. I am a hard to fit size. Hmmmmm. Your bra looks great!
8/2/13 4:13 PM
Ros B. said...
Thanks! I am in the process of sewing a hot pink and black version for my mum. Definitely easier to fit oneself than to push, pull on another person ;) There are other interesting patterns made by the same designer, and the description will give you an idea of the style that might suit your shape well. I also spent time reading before ordering the pattern, and now realize that sewing a trial bra is a good idea - for this bra, best to sew the cups with the fashion fabric itself (you can omit the lace and use the same material as for the other portions of the cup), but the main band can be made with other material. I've also signed up for Bra Makers Supply newsletter - just received a useful tip today on fitting the pattern!
8/2/13 10:54 PM
jeanbluecat said...
Are you set up to receive private messages? I would like to pm you if it is okay? Thank you!
8/2/13 11:44 PM
ArtAttack said...
Welcome to bramaking and congrats on your first bra! Pin-Up Girls is a great place to start and that will give you the confidence to start branching out all over the place. Great job!
8/3/13 0:30 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful. It's so addictive making bra's that fit really well. Congratulations with the beautiful result.
8/3/13 5:58 AM
RobbieK said...
It looks great. I'm hard to fit and seeing your success...I might take the plunge.
8/3/13 9:06 AM
ASiverson said...
I have been thinking and thinking about making bras. Thank you so very much for posting your success story! I am hard to fit also!
8/3/13 10:06 AM
Ros B. said...
@jeanbluecat: I just set myself up for private messages! Thanks for the kind words - I've already started on a rocking hot pink bra for my mum, and used a solid material instead of lace for the upper cup - will post progress pics. Hard to fit someone else, esp someone who lives out of town...so the bra may need to wait until I have her [bust] in person again :)
8/3/13 11:42 AM
AndreaSews said...
Beautiful bra! Shelley is a great pattern, and perfect for your first, such great instructions.
8/4/13 0:57 AM
Ros B. said...
@ ArtAttack - thank you for the kind words, I've appreciated the details in your reviews and seeing your successes! @Sigrid: thanks so much! Much appreciated re. your advice and answers to my PMs @RobbieK - I really like that this pattern is multisized, albeit in certain ranges. Contacting Bra Makers Supply can also help re. choosing the pattern as well as the sizing :) @ASiverson: Fitting is the hardest thing! But some smart folks have blogged suggestions like sewing a trial bra (use a non stretchy fabric for the band). I've also read that if you have your rib measurements or band size (I have used upper bust as my band size - no adding any inches to it), and you are able to figure out your underwire size, then you can find out your bra size. Some online stores have printable underwire charts. I wonder if fitting a pipe cleaner (you know, kid's art stuff?) under the breast would be accurate? I'll have to try! @AndreaSews - thank you! Advice for improvement is also always welcomed! Would love to try an all lace version, but even stitching through this lace left a noticeable (read: ugly) row of stitches?
8/4/13 12:09 PM
sewintheforest said...
I fall in between the 2 sizing packages. I need some of the D package and a smidge of the E cups but don't want to buy the pattern again in the larger size just for a few fractions of inches. What did you do to get the E cup fit from your original D pattern? Thanks!
3/29/14 8:31 AM
sewintheforest said...
Oh, sorry! Just reread that you started with the E cup and adjusted band size! Happy to hear you like this bra :)
3/29/14 8:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8781

photo
by: SewLuva

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Buy Now