Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Pin-up Girls: PB-3200 (Shelley Full Band Bra) thumbsup - Type:Lingerie    printable version
Viewed 243 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Ros B.
photo
Friend of PR
About Ros B.
CANADA
Member since: 9/20/12
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/13 2:49 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jeanbluecat said...
Amazing! You have inspired me to seriously think about making my own bra. I am a hard to fit size. Hmmmmm. Your bra looks great!
8/2/13 4:13 PM
Ros B. said...
Thanks! I am in the process of sewing a hot pink and black version for my mum. Definitely easier to fit oneself than to push, pull on another person ;) There are other interesting patterns made by the same designer, and the description will give you an idea of the style that might suit your shape well. I also spent time reading before ordering the pattern, and now realize that sewing a trial bra is a good idea - for this bra, best to sew the cups with the fashion fabric itself (you can omit the lace and use the same material as for the other portions of the cup), but the main band can be made with other material. I've also signed up for Bra Makers Supply newsletter - just received a useful tip today on fitting the pattern!
8/2/13 10:54 PM
jeanbluecat said...
Are you set up to receive private messages? I would like to pm you if it is okay? Thank you!
8/2/13 11:44 PM
ArtAttack said...
Welcome to bramaking and congrats on your first bra! Pin-Up Girls is a great place to start and that will give you the confidence to start branching out all over the place. Great job!
8/3/13 0:30 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful. It's so addictive making bra's that fit really well. Congratulations with the beautiful result.
8/3/13 5:58 AM
RobbieK said...
It looks great. I'm hard to fit and seeing your success...I might take the plunge.
8/3/13 9:06 AM
ASiverson said...
I have been thinking and thinking about making bras. Thank you so very much for posting your success story! I am hard to fit also!
8/3/13 10:06 AM
Ros B. said...
@jeanbluecat: I just set myself up for private messages! Thanks for the kind words - I've already started on a rocking hot pink bra for my mum, and used a solid material instead of lace for the upper cup - will post progress pics. Hard to fit someone else, esp someone who lives out of town...so the bra may need to wait until I have her [bust] in person again :)
8/3/13 11:42 AM
AndreaSews said...
Beautiful bra! Shelley is a great pattern, and perfect for your first, such great instructions.
8/4/13 0:57 AM
Ros B. said...
@ ArtAttack - thank you for the kind words, I've appreciated the details in your reviews and seeing your successes! @Sigrid: thanks so much! Much appreciated re. your advice and answers to my PMs @RobbieK - I really like that this pattern is multisized, albeit in certain ranges. Contacting Bra Makers Supply can also help re. choosing the pattern as well as the sizing :) @ASiverson: Fitting is the hardest thing! But some smart folks have blogged suggestions like sewing a trial bra (use a non stretchy fabric for the band). I've also read that if you have your rib measurements or band size (I have used upper bust as my band size - no adding any inches to it), and you are able to figure out your underwire size, then you can find out your bra size. Some online stores have printable underwire charts. I wonder if fitting a pipe cleaner (you know, kid's art stuff?) under the breast would be accurate? I'll have to try! @AndreaSews - thank you! Advice for improvement is also always welcomed! Would love to try an all lace version, but even stitching through this lace left a noticeable (read: ugly) row of stitches?
8/4/13 12:09 PM
sewintheforest said...
I fall in between the 2 sizing packages. I need some of the D package and a smidge of the E cups but don't want to buy the pattern again in the larger size just for a few fractions of inches. What did you do to get the E cup fit from your original D pattern? Thanks!
3/29/14 8:31 AM
sewintheforest said...
Oh, sorry! Just reread that you started with the E cup and adjusted band size! Happy to hear you like this bra :)
3/29/14 8:32 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

McCall's 5624
photo
Review by Creative L... on 10/13/10
Read Review

McCalls 6843 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6843 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1418 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1418 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3529 Jackets
photo
Review by CynthiaSue on 4/30/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sabrina Shirttail Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us