SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5917 (Misses Dress)

20 more reviews
Viewed 1443 times 
Reviewed by:Jstarr4250
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Jstarr4250starstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/12
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 158 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/5/13 5:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
madbadger said...
so pretty and feminine!!!
8/10/13 3:31 PM
pdiddly said...
this is the 2nd time I have seen this pattern made up and love it - you have done a beautiful job on this and it might just make me buy the pattern lol
8/8/13 3:40 PM
21wale said...
Beautifully done!
8/7/13 5:19 PM
Sharonspils said...
Beautiful dress!
8/6/13 7:59 PM
SewLibra said...
I second the ditto to MNBarb! :-) Thank you for the referral to Fashion Fabrics Club. I've been looking for alternatives to JA and Fabric.com.
8/6/13 7:35 PM
margy.64 said...
What more can I add. Perfect pattern and fabric combination and you look stunning. This one is definitely on my wish list.
8/6/13 7:22 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Wow, it looks so good on you!
8/6/13 6:51 PM
aaltje said...
What a great dress! I wasn't attracted to it but I think I must change my mind on this one. You look wonderful, well done!
8/6/13 6:44 PM
kiawah said...
so, so cute and perfect for the weather, but still looking fresh! I'm envious of you all being "ruffle girls" I would just have my last meal tucked away in there :-) ML
8/6/13 5:53 PM
liliv said...
Wow this is outstanding! It has really a perfect balance, I love it so much!!
8/6/13 4:12 PM
beanchor said...
This is fantastic! I saw the pattern photo and thought it was too sweet with the capped sleeves. I passed on it; big mistake! I love your version of it! The fabric and sleeveless option is so classy. Love it!
8/6/13 3:22 PM
mnitts said...
Very cute. Love the fabric and you look lovely.
8/6/13 3:21 PM
Sheseams said...
ooh nice neckline, excellent job
8/6/13 2:39 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Super cute! I am working on a seersucker dress right now and love working with it as well. Thanks so much for the link. I'll be buying that with the lycra in it! Your dress looks fabulous as everone has said I totally agree. Butterick has a hit!
8/6/13 2:36 PM
MNBarb said...
Funny, as I started to type I realized I was going to say the same things as ArtAttack so will just say "ditto" and that you are stunning in this dress.
8/6/13 1:38 PM
Renren said...
I also am not a ruffle type, but this ruffle I would love to wear. Lovely dress and what a great use for cotton/lycra blend seersucker.
8/6/13 12:28 PM
grays08 said...
Beautiful and perfect pairing of fabric and pattern! This one is in my stash, but I'm thinking I need to dig it out yet this summer as it's so flattering. Thanks for the sizing info - that's the kind of thing that helps SO much to know up front!
8/6/13 10:46 AM
STARG said...
Ok, this dress confirms it. I really need to get this pattern! Very nice!
8/6/13 9:49 AM
sewin said...
OK, This is the second adorable dress I've seen with this pattern in the last couple of weeks. I am definitely going to get this pattern. Too cute on you.
8/6/13 9:40 AM
CissieW said...
Perfect summer dress! I adore seersucker. You look great in ruffles so you should add more to your wardrobe!! I thought I was through with summer sewing but having seen your and Sarah's, I might have to reconsider!
8/6/13 7:23 AM
HRigg said...
This is great and what lovely fabric. It's a "must have" pattern, perhaps for me next summer now. Thanks for the review. The analysis of the design and why it works is really helpful.
8/6/13 6:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love this dress. As a matter of fact, it is on my sewing table now with pattern adjustments made and now ready to cut out the fabric. Love your version, very flattering. Hope I have the same success. Love your fabric.
8/6/13 5:32 AM
BeaJay said...
Now that is gorgeous. Love it.
8/6/13 3:24 AM
martinalici said...
This is beautiful!! I love a distinctive neckline and I love sear sucker.. Double swoon!
8/6/13 1:36 AM
Dellia45 said...
Beautiful!!!!
8/6/13 0:55 AM
CypGrl said...
Super cute on you! Always like to see fabric details included. Thanks!
8/5/13 11:30 PM
Barbara V said...
What a cute dress and how lovely it looks on you!
8/5/13 10:53 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow! Love everything about this dress!
8/5/13 10:18 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
It's beautiful, Julie! So smart of you to line the entire dress!
8/5/13 10:16 PM
cleverkitty said...
fabric is so wonderful!!! this is something I would defiantly buy, the pattern is calling me. Everything about it is so appealing, color, style and easy to sew :)
8/5/13 9:41 PM
MissCelie said...
Loves it! I adore seersucker.
8/5/13 9:34 PM
annie11 said...
Gorgeous! You did a beautiful job and it looks great on you.
8/5/13 9:25 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Too cute!!
8/5/13 8:35 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress! Great fabric choice for this pattern.
8/5/13 8:34 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Yes, yes Dorcas- a structured ruffle is the perfect description! I am the last person you'd ever see in a ruffle but this one has grabbed me.
8/5/13 8:24 PM
ArtAttack said...
Ooh, Julie, this is SO cute and cute on you. You are right on with the right marriage of fabric and pattern. I can see you wearing this for years to come. Sarah just made this cute dress and now you. I don't consider myself a "ruffle girl" but this is sort of a structured ruffle and might be my style. Not that I'm structured, by any means...okay, I'm rambling. Too cute!
8/5/13 8:05 PM
angeleyes88 said...
i love this dress! although you could also turn it into a top as well
8/5/13 7:38 PM
butterflyfly said...
Gorgeous dress and fits you perfectly! Great job!
8/5/13 7:17 PM
atymonw said...
Really pretty!
8/5/13 6:39 PM
LlanoGirl said...
Second great dress from this pattern in a week! Can't wait to sew it, beautiful job.
8/5/13 6:36 PM
Adaire said...
Lovely on you! Looks so cool and fresh. I love cool and fresh because we are having 93 degrees every day.
8/5/13 6:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Wiksten Wiksten Tova Top

photo
by: Haruka

Review
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Buy Now