SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1875 (Special Occasion Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 893 times 
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 139
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 186 people
patterns reviewed: 128
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/7/13 7:25 PM
Last Updated:8/11/13 7:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mandyneko said...
WOW. Incredible work, very well constructed. One of the nicest Ursula costumes I've ever seen! I love that you did the tentacle skirt as a separate piece from the dress - I bet that makes it much easier to wash, too!
1/9/14 11:29 AM
SheriF said...
Brilliant job!
8/19/13 10:31 AM
Kellie R. said...
I still love this. It just steals the show!
8/18/13 6:34 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Amazing! I am so impressed by your vision and creativity. What a spectacular costume!
8/13/13 5:21 PM
Laurie Lou said...
OMG! This review must have taken a while! Nice to see a review on this project and great review to boot! You're a winner all the way around! I'm in awe!
8/13/13 4:40 PM
valerie sews said...
Sherrill this is a work of art. Ingenious!
8/13/13 4:35 PM
LM2HYD said...
Brilliant costume! The dress alone is wonderful and I love the idea of using the leaf fabric upside down. It almost gives a seaweed/kelp feel. But the tentacles really steal the show! Incredible, incredible job!
8/13/13 10:05 AM
BeaJay said...
Fabulous to see some "in action" shots. Thanks for including.
8/13/13 0:10 AM
Janie Viers said...
absolute perfection. The belt idea for the tentacles was genious... Do you think maybe I like it? I like that you did the sheer sleeves for the dress so her arms weren't hanging out all over the place with her tentacles! Genius and ingenius and now you are to bat you eyes and say, ingenuisly, "that little old thing, why I just whipped it up with some crepe paper and a few million staples."
8/12/13 8:59 PM
j Renee Design said...
This is all sorts of awesome. Fantastic job!
8/12/13 5:48 PM
chenille said...
Holy Cow - that is so awesome!
8/12/13 4:41 PM
marec said...
I have followed this process elsewhere but wanted to lend my congratualtions to this chorus here. Well done!!
8/12/13 3:32 PM
carnelian said...
Most powerful and gorgeous tentacles! Awesomely cool son!
8/12/13 2:52 PM
Cuffs said...
So incredibly clever! I love everything you did to that pattern to turn it into a perfect sea witch costume.
8/12/13 2:13 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Lllloove the dress Sherril! I'll bet you are reeling from all the praise for all the costumes in the show! But I do need to know- you say you would love to make it for yourself- would that be with or without the tentacles? AND I double dare you to pull a Tina in a corn costume and wear it to the next PR Weekend!
8/12/13 1:49 PM
SewRaeMe said...
Amazing job! I also had a laugh this was under the heading of "special occasion dress". Indeed!
8/12/13 10:19 AM
lakaribane said...
I LOVE IT!!! Seeing it worn just takes it to the stratosphere. Fantastic work, Sherril!!!
8/12/13 8:50 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Those tentacles are the bomb! Fabulous costume!
8/11/13 8:40 PM
TJSEWS said...
Wow! Amazing!
8/11/13 8:16 PM
manybellsdown said...
So. Much. Awesome.
8/10/13 1:23 AM
bconky said...
That is awesome.
8/9/13 8:59 AM
piffle said...
A thousand times fabulous! Could you please post the pattern (or rough diagram of the pattern) for the tentacles? As a fellow costumer, I feel this might come in useful at some point. Again, that I really clever design that looks like it would read very well on stage!
8/9/13 8:32 AM
michellep74 said...
Amazing dress/costume!
8/9/13 1:32 AM
Adventurer said...
Inspiring fabulosity!
8/8/13 10:16 PM
Dale C said...
It looks great on your son! LOL I love it!
8/8/13 7:42 PM
ReneeSews said...
Great Job!
8/8/13 5:58 PM
JOshiro said...
Holy moley! That's... simply amazing.
8/8/13 4:27 PM
1betsy1 said...
What a Great costume! Beautiful Work
8/8/13 2:42 PM
prttynpnk said...
Um, I'm embarassed to admit to quite a bit of jealousy. I am totally wanting tentacle formalwear!
8/8/13 9:29 AM
Pj3g said...
It is fantastic!!!
8/8/13 9:17 AM
KathySews said...
Sherril, that is outstanding. Kudos on all the hard work that went into this dress
8/8/13 7:38 AM
VivianZ said...
What fun this must have been to design! Really got the creative juices running. You did a great job.
8/8/13 7:31 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Very beautiful work. You have brilliant creative vision.
8/8/13 6:40 AM
Margaret said...
Awesome! What a great idea putting the tentacles on a belt. That way it looks like they're not pulling down on the dress at all. Love the skirt fabric! (LOL about the "mullet skirt" too!)
8/8/13 5:09 AM
velosewer said...
Oh wow. What a great costume. After all those changes and aspects to consider - it worked!!
8/8/13 3:09 AM
paulakiss said...
Amazing, just amazing! I knew right off that it was Ursula! Thank you for being so detailed. Awesome job!
8/8/13 1:36 AM
sfshaza said...
A *very* clever and well executed costume!
8/8/13 0:15 AM
atymonw said...
Very cool!
8/7/13 9:44 PM
Jrhee said...
Perfect Ursula costume! Love it!
8/7/13 9:29 PM
clcruick said...
Fabulous dress/costume! This shows that something amazing starts out quite ordinary.
8/7/13 8:48 PM
BeckyC said...
As soon as I saw the photo I knew it was Ursula! The costume and your review are fabulous! Thank you for sharing it with us.
8/7/13 8:14 PM
BeaJay said...
How fantastic is that. Would love to see a picture of it on stage in the play - maybe on your blog???
8/7/13 7:56 PM
lmg said...
Wow is that fabulous. Those tentacles are awe-inspiring.
8/7/13 7:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Kwik Sew 2101

photo
by: myraminx

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

Buy Now