SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1875 (Special Occasion Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 872 times 
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 186 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/7/13 7:25 PM
Last Updated:8/11/13 7:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lmg said...
Wow is that fabulous. Those tentacles are awe-inspiring.
8/7/13 7:53 PM
BeaJay said...
How fantastic is that. Would love to see a picture of it on stage in the play - maybe on your blog???
8/7/13 7:56 PM
BeckyC said...
As soon as I saw the photo I knew it was Ursula! The costume and your review are fabulous! Thank you for sharing it with us.
8/7/13 8:14 PM
clcruick said...
Fabulous dress/costume! This shows that something amazing starts out quite ordinary.
8/7/13 8:48 PM
Jrhee said...
Perfect Ursula costume! Love it!
8/7/13 9:29 PM
atymonw said...
Very cool!
8/7/13 9:44 PM
sfshaza said...
A *very* clever and well executed costume!
8/8/13 0:15 AM
paulakiss said...
Amazing, just amazing! I knew right off that it was Ursula! Thank you for being so detailed. Awesome job!
8/8/13 1:36 AM
velosewer said...
Oh wow. What a great costume. After all those changes and aspects to consider - it worked!!
8/8/13 3:09 AM
Margaret said...
Awesome! What a great idea putting the tentacles on a belt. That way it looks like they're not pulling down on the dress at all. Love the skirt fabric! (LOL about the "mullet skirt" too!)
8/8/13 5:09 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Very beautiful work. You have brilliant creative vision.
8/8/13 6:40 AM
VivianZ said...
What fun this must have been to design! Really got the creative juices running. You did a great job.
8/8/13 7:31 AM
KathySews said...
Sherril, that is outstanding. Kudos on all the hard work that went into this dress
8/8/13 7:38 AM
Pj3g said...
It is fantastic!!!
8/8/13 9:17 AM
prttynpnk said...
Um, I'm embarassed to admit to quite a bit of jealousy. I am totally wanting tentacle formalwear!
8/8/13 9:29 AM
1betsy1 said...
What a Great costume! Beautiful Work
8/8/13 2:42 PM
JOshiro said...
Holy moley! That's... simply amazing.
8/8/13 4:27 PM
ReneeSews said...
Great Job!
8/8/13 5:58 PM
Dale C said...
It looks great on your son! LOL I love it!
8/8/13 7:42 PM
Adventurer said...
Inspiring fabulosity!
8/8/13 10:16 PM
michellep74 said...
Amazing dress/costume!
8/9/13 1:32 AM
piffle said...
A thousand times fabulous! Could you please post the pattern (or rough diagram of the pattern) for the tentacles? As a fellow costumer, I feel this might come in useful at some point. Again, that I really clever design that looks like it would read very well on stage!
8/9/13 8:32 AM
bconky said...
That is awesome.
8/9/13 8:59 AM
manybellsdown said...
So. Much. Awesome.
8/10/13 1:23 AM
TJSEWS said...
Wow! Amazing!
8/11/13 8:16 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Those tentacles are the bomb! Fabulous costume!
8/11/13 8:40 PM
lakaribane said...
I LOVE IT!!! Seeing it worn just takes it to the stratosphere. Fantastic work, Sherril!!!
8/12/13 8:50 AM
SewRaeMe said...
Amazing job! I also had a laugh this was under the heading of "special occasion dress". Indeed!
8/12/13 10:19 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Lllloove the dress Sherril! I'll bet you are reeling from all the praise for all the costumes in the show! But I do need to know- you say you would love to make it for yourself- would that be with or without the tentacles? AND I double dare you to pull a Tina in a corn costume and wear it to the next PR Weekend!
8/12/13 1:49 PM
Cuffs said...
So incredibly clever! I love everything you did to that pattern to turn it into a perfect sea witch costume.
8/12/13 2:13 PM
carnelian said...
Most powerful and gorgeous tentacles! Awesomely cool son!
8/12/13 2:52 PM
marec said...
I have followed this process elsewhere but wanted to lend my congratualtions to this chorus here. Well done!!
8/12/13 3:32 PM
chenille said...
Holy Cow - that is so awesome!
8/12/13 4:41 PM
j Renee Design said...
This is all sorts of awesome. Fantastic job!
8/12/13 5:48 PM
Janie Viers said...
absolute perfection. The belt idea for the tentacles was genious... Do you think maybe I like it? I like that you did the sheer sleeves for the dress so her arms weren't hanging out all over the place with her tentacles! Genius and ingenius and now you are to bat you eyes and say, ingenuisly, "that little old thing, why I just whipped it up with some crepe paper and a few million staples."
8/12/13 8:59 PM
BeaJay said...
Fabulous to see some "in action" shots. Thanks for including.
8/13/13 0:10 AM
LM2HYD said...
Brilliant costume! The dress alone is wonderful and I love the idea of using the leaf fabric upside down. It almost gives a seaweed/kelp feel. But the tentacles really steal the show! Incredible, incredible job!
8/13/13 10:05 AM
valerie sews said...
Sherrill this is a work of art. Ingenious!
8/13/13 4:35 PM
Laurie Lou said...
OMG! This review must have taken a while! Nice to see a review on this project and great review to boot! You're a winner all the way around! I'm in awe!
8/13/13 4:40 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Amazing! I am so impressed by your vision and creativity. What a spectacular costume!
8/13/13 5:21 PM
Kellie R. said...
I still love this. It just steals the show!
8/18/13 6:34 PM
SheriF said...
Brilliant job!
8/19/13 10:31 AM
mandyneko said...
WOW. Incredible work, very well constructed. One of the nicest Ursula costumes I've ever seen! I love that you did the tentacle skirt as a separate piece from the dress - I bet that makes it much easier to wash, too!
1/9/14 11:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

New Look 6150

photo
by: MissParayi...

Review
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

Buy Now